We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Suite Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Lossiemouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Suite Accomodation”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Whitehall Suites, we usually stay at Rosemount.
Excellent value for money. We got a complimentary upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite as we had booked the studio apartment.
We phoned before checking in to see if we could park our car early and this was not a problem.
The suite was spotlessly clean. The staff and service was excellent.
Breakfast had a vast selection to choose from and a cooked breakfast was available at an additional cost.
Lovely garden area at the back of the apartments.
Would stay here again on our next visit to Aberdeen

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachie556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
It is always lovely to receive such positive feedback from our guests. We value this highly and make sure that your comments are passed to the relevant members of staff.

We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast selection; we aim to provide a healthy and satisfying breakfast menu. The garden area and residential environment of our Whitehall property offers that ‘home from home’ feel that our regular and long-term guests love.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House HotelSuites very soon – in the meantime, you can follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

With Kind Regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    128
    34
    5
    1
See reviews for
172
292
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The experience was great, we had everything we needed for a short break and more. Spotlessly clean, warm and cosy. Breakfast was splendid with a vast choice. The service is first class all the staff are polite and friendly from house keeping to management.The grounds are well maintained with outside seating areas.Josh gave us a tour of the hotel when we arrived,he was friendly and polite. We will be back.

Room Tip: The delux suite was well worth the extra few ponuds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on our property. We will pass your kind words on to our team; they take great pride in their jobs and love to hear feedback from our guests.

To keep up-to-date with news, events and promotions join us on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest!

We look forward to seeing you again at Skene House Whitehall,

Kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Was recommended to use Skene apartments by a friend, and it turns out that I will always check to see if they have an apartment before even thinking of a hotel or motel in future. We had a two bedroom apartment, which was more than spacious enough for the four of us, and having your own lounge is so much better than having to sit on the bed and watch the telly. Rooms are clean and staff are excellent. Don't want to say much more, otherwise will be full the next time I try and book. All the best, and great job to Skene !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We aim to give you more for your money than the average hotel room: more space, more comfort and more attention to your accommodation needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House HotelSuites very soon, in the meantime to keep up-to-date with our latest news join us on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest!

With Kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Having previously stayed in Skene House Rosemount (FAB) I was expecting the exactitudes experienced there. House keeping was fab, as usual;studio apartment was lovely,excellent use of the space.Only problem, it was 3 floors up and no lift-on the plus side-a free welcome drink and honesty bar!Wonderful! Nice exterior seating areas.Breakfast at Rosemount wins hands down!Love Skene ideaology!

Room Tip: Studio room great but 3 floors up and no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindahazlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your feedback, as you can imagine, it helps us to improve our service to you every time.

We get many comments about the lift, however unfortunately our traditional granite buildings do not support well to installing one. To get around this small defect, we have a strong and willing concierge team to do all the lifting and carrying for you! Moreover, if you book directly with our reservations team you can request a ground or first floor suite.

To find out more about the ‘Skene Ideology’, check out our Facebook and Pinterest pages – these will keep you up-to-date with our latest promotions and travel tips in and around Aberdeen.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House very soon,

With kind regards,
Karen Barbour
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

I knew Skene house was rated no 1 in Aberdeen so I road tested it one weekend. I wasn't disappointed. I thought the service and professionalism was exceptional.

I opted for a studio apartment which while very good was really the same as a large hotel room. If I was staying for a week I'd upgrade. The studio had no desk to work at as a side point.

The continental breakfast was excellent and impressive. Fresh strawberries etc. the pastries were outstanding. No good for dieters! Cooked offerings were good too but it's the bread and pastries which did it for me.

I'd definitely recommend this place especially as a serviced apartment.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will_HInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are always grateful to hear directly from our guests, about how much they've enjoyed their stay with us. The staff will be delighted to see your review.

We have an extensive selection of suites available ranging from small studio suites to large split level 3 bedroom suites. We also have a HomeOffice suite which has a dedicated office complete with desk, printer and stationary, ideal for guests who require work space.

I am glad you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet, which is plentiful, varied and freshly prepared, through the morning.

Hopefully for your next visit to Aberdeen you will be able to stay a little bit longer and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a two bedroom suite for a family of four. The rooms were spacious. The staff did a great job of showing us to our rooms. The breakfast was good. The honor system for the drinks was very nice (wow, what a huge room back there!). We actually had a quality internet connection (YEA!!!) The only reason I can't give it a "5" is because our living area and kitchen smelled of sour milk. If I were travelling to Aberdeen on business or for an extended period of time, I would absolutely make this a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you very much for posting a review of Skene House Whitehall after your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff looked after you in the way that Skene House is reputed for.

I was very sorry to read about the smell in the living area and kitchen. This obviously should not have happened and I can only apologise. I will certainly discuss this with our housekeeping department.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Skene House is a very welcoming alternative to an "ordinary" hotel.
The suites are furnished with style and good taste, have all modern comfort.
Very clean and well equiped.
Breakfast is something you do not have to worry about if you do not want to.
Excellent and friendly service.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dierik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall, following your recent stay. Serviced Accommodation is a much better option than Hotel Accommodation, you really have the best of both worlds. Space to relax with all the facilities of a hotel.

Hopefully for your next visit to Aberdeen you will be able to stay a little bit longer and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour, Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#5 of 65 in Aberdeen
750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#17 of 65 in Aberdeen
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing