We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skene House Whitehall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“perfect service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Skene House is a very welcoming alternative to an "ordinary" hotel.
The suites are furnished with style and good taste, have all modern comfort.
Very clean and well equiped.
Breakfast is something you do not have to worry about if you do not want to.
Excellent and friendly service.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dierik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall, following your recent stay. Serviced Accommodation is a much better option than Hotel Accommodation, you really have the best of both worlds. Space to relax with all the facilities of a hotel.

Hopefully for your next visit to Aberdeen you will be able to stay a little bit longer and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour, Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    107
    31
    4
    1
See reviews for
148
266
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had a few problems on my stay but can see why so many people give Whitehall top marks. For me I need my wifi morning and night. For three days I had to speak with reception and complain there was no wifi eventually downloading my own wifi testing tool to convince them to call someone in to fix it. On the last night they offered to change my room but that wasn't really convenient as we were leaving the next morning. The other disappointment was the pool at the gym was closed. We had planned to use the pool on a couple of days. It rained the whole time we stayed and the lack of wifi and pool plus the fact a lot of Aberdeen seems to close on a Sunday gave us limited entertainment options. I was disappointed that there was no bath and only a shower room. I missed this fact when booking.

On the plus side there were very many things and I would stay here again. We were treated to a free drink on arrival, there is an honour bar where guests are trusted to list the drinks they have from the bar (amazing), the rooms are spacious, the value amazing, the beds kingsize and comfy, the kitchen and cleaning spotless, the staff very attentive and my wife said the room had the best hairdryer in 20 years of staying in hotels. The continental breakfast is excellent and the Scottish one superb although I felt a bit pricey in addition to the price already paid for breakfast. (£7.50)

The Queen Vic pub 5 mins is turn left out reception and if going into town go straight ahead from reception to find the shortest, most interesting route.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy_scot_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Skene House Whitehall. I am extremely sorry that the wifi problems you experienced were not dealt with promptly. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service, so this is very disappointing to read. It is also very unfortunate that the swimming pool at our partner gym was closed, this was due to essential maintenance and therefore out with our control.

I have made a note on your profile, for any future stays to allocate a suite with a bath and shower, if possible. We have many suite types some with full bathrooms and some with shower rooms.

We have an excellent Housekeeping team and all the staff, take real pride in their work. I am delighted that that our staff looked after you in the way that Skene House is reputed for.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour - Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Skene House was a great find. We had a studio suite, which was clean and light with a small kitchenette area. The hotel had free wi-fi with proper milk in the fridge and plenty of tea bags. The staff were polite and helpful and the inclusive continental breakfast was fine.
We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillberte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are always grateful to hear directly from our guests, about how much they've enjoyed their stay with us. The team at Skene House Whitehall are very proud of our No 1 status on Trip Advisor and keen to maintain our position at the top, they will be delighted to read your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Aberdeen, don’t leave it too long….

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour - Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We booked at Skene House because of TA recommendations, and we certainly weren't disappointed. The staff were all courteous, professional and knowledgable about Abedeen; the hotel offered many amenities, including a welcoming "wee dram" from the bar. Our suite, which was upgraded gratis, was spacious and well-appointed (if a little bleak - try a few prints on the walls?). The bed was comfy and the bath was bright and clean, with lots of towels.
Reception helped us choose a fine restaurant (Howie's - not to be missed!) within walking distance. Ala in all, a fine experience

Room Tip: Be polite when arriving, and ask for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Whitehall and for taking the time to post a review. It is lovely to read that you had a great stay.

We have an exceptional team of staff who genuinely enjoy making our guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

I am sure you will agree a staying in a suite is much more comfortable than staying in a hotel room. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to upgrade your suite.

I hope you will choose to stay with again for your next trip to Scotland.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Really nice hotel, refreshing to meet staff that really seemed to like their job. Rooms were spotless, kitchen well appointed. Even found fresh milk in frig.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, following your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff looked after you in the way that Skene House is reputed for.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Aberdeen.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here few nights and loved this hotel. Lovely staff, beautiful rooms,great service and lovely atmosphere. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonclyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed a long weekend in one of the serviced apartments at Skene House Whitehall. Very helpful staff, good service allover (except for 1 day in the breakfast room, where breakfast took 30 minutes). Spacious apartment w. nice kitchen. One other little minus - boiler in shower ran out of hot water very quickly. But would definately come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you very much for making the effort and taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Skene House Whitehall.

I am sorry that you encountered a delay with your cooked breakfast. All our cooked breakfasts are freshly prepared to order, which can sometimes lead to delays on exceptionally busy mornings.

I am glad that this did not impact too much on the enjoyment of your long weekend with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour, Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#6 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#12 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing