We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, why choose a hotel when you can stay at Skene House Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic, why choose a hotel when you can stay at Skene House Apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

I always thought that Apartments were really expensive and more for business use, but I was definatly wrong. I stayed there with my friend whilst going to the theatre (only 5 mins walk) and the place for 1st class. The service I received by all staff were outstanding, including the manager herself (Karen, I think), sho was extremly helpful. The room for fantastic, the breakfast was amazing, overall just FANTASTIC.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall, following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were pleasant and helpful.

We are very fortunate to enjoy a quiet location with ample parking and gardens, in the heart of the city centre and only minutes away from the Theatre.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon…

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager ,Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    125
    32
    5
    1
See reviews for
169
288
30
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We visited Aberdeen on a whim & decided to stay here because of a combination of reviews, cost, on site parking and proximity to the city centre. What a brilliant decision it was! We were upgraded to one of the apartments whose condition was so good that I asked if it had been recently refurbished - it hadn't! Every member of staff was friendly, efficient and very helpful. When we go back to Aberdeen we will stay here again - if it's not fully booked!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wil-from-glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are always grateful to hear directly from our guests, about how much they've enjoyed their stay with us. The team at Skene House Whitehall are very proud of our No 1 status on Trip Advisor and keen to maintain our position at the top, they will be delighted to read your review.

I am sure you will agree a staying in a suite is much more comfortable than staying in a hotel room. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to upgrade your suite.

I hope it won’t be too long before you return to enjoy another stay with us.


Kind regards,
Karen Barbour
Manager ,Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights for my husband's birthday. We could not fault anything in the hotel, cleanliness, facitilies, and welcome were all first class.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moira2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
It’s always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would like to share their experience with others.

I am delighted that you chose to celebrate your husband's birthday at Skene House and that our staff looked after you in the way that Skene House is reputed for.


I hope it won’t be too long before you return to enjoy another stay with us.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

I chose this hotel out of the range which were available in Aberdeen for three reasons: excellent TripAdvisor reviews, the kitchenette facility, and the extremely competitive price, and we weren't disappointed at all.

Upon arrival, we were escorted to our room (one of the "studio" flats) by a very helpful concierge. The flat was extremely clean and well-presented (how do you keep a microwave that white!), and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room had a dedicated wi-fi hub and plug-in LAN internet (inclusive in the rate), which was an excellent feature, and the TV was a FreeSat box, and we were able to access Sky Sports 1 and 3 during the stay as well.

As two coeliacs (gluten free diet), we were slightly nervous about the continental breakfast: we needn't have been. We had informed the staff in advance, however, looking at the menu, we noticed that wheat-free bread was a standard offering (which is very unusual). The breakfast buffet also included cereal, tea / coffee, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, cold meats and juices alongside the normal pastries, so there was plenty of choice. I believe that porridge was also included in the continental buffet - fantastic value! The staff were extremely courteous and helpful at all times. We had brought our own cereal, as it is often difficult to find this- however they noticed this and showed us that they stock gluten free porridge, doves farm gluten free cereal flakes and nairn's gluten free museli. WOW!

The hotel has a well-stocked "honour bar", with the first drink of your stay complementary, and a lounge including unlimited Clipper fair trade teas (both normal and a variety of herbal), coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits (sadly no gluten free ones, but I suspect there isn't much demand for these), and newspapers to read - all of which made the hotel very homely and comfortable.

The kitchenette in the room (microwave, two hobs, fridge and sink, with tea towel and sponge), was small yet functional. Other members of our family visited us in the hotel, and we were able to cook a meal there for all five of us (after obtaining extra plates, cutlery and napkins from the very helpful reception staff).

The last thing I want to mention were the staff: every single one of them was polite, courteous and extremely helpful - they were clearly proud of the place, and deservedly so.

I have never stayed in such an exceptional hotel, and would not hesitate to visit again, nor to highly recommend it to anyone wishing to visit Aberdeen.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mildertduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would like to share their experience with others.

We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service and we pay great attention to our guest’s special requests and strive to accommodate them wherever possible.

We are indeed very fortunate to have a lovely spacious lounge, which is enjoyed by our guests, whether relaxing reading the papers or just enjoying your complimentary welcome drink. We have noted your comments regarding the lack of gluten free biscuits and this is something we will organise immediately for the coffee station and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Our staff are indeed, very proud of Skene House Whitehall and every single member of staff takes great pride in their work.

We hope it won’t be too long before you return to enjoy another stay with us.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alva
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

I was here for a 2 day break with my wife on the 24 feb what can i say first class appartments and top rate staff i will be returning thank you to all the great staff and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinceheugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
I am delighted that your wife and yourself enjoyed your stay with us at Skene House Whitehall and we look forward to welcoming you back. All our reviews are displayed on our staff notice boards and I will pass on your thanks to the staff.

Customer feedback on Trip Advisor is very valuable for both accommodation providers and travellers and I am grateful that you have taken the time to post this review.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was my first time in Scotland and I booked through Expedia for an unplanned business trip. I just needed a place to stay two nights and I had no expectations whatsoever. The place and service were so great that I feel all hotels in the world should be run like this. I think I booked a studio or a one bedroom but they upgraded me to a 2-bedroom suite - which was very large, with a living room, two bedrooms and a fully equipped kitchen. The staff were super friendly and eager to help. Overall experience of the stay was very pleasant - from check-in through evening drinks to honesty bar through wireless - it was flawless. Keep up the great service and fair prices.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sree V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Whitehall for your first visit to Scotland and for taking the time to post a review. It is lovely to read that you had a great stay and that all hotels should be run like Skene House Whitehall.

We have an exceptional team of staff who genuinely enjoy making our guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

I hope you will choose to stay with again for your next trip to Scotland.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Got studio room at great price. Good cooking facilities. Clean room with free wifi. Free coffee, tea and biscuits in reception room. Free complimentary drink on arrival. buffet breakfast included in price. Would definitely stay at again. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbrannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall, following your recent stay. Serviced Accommodation is a much better option than Hotel Accommodation, you really have the best of both worlds. Space to relax with all the facilities of a hotel.

Hopefully for your next visit to Aberdeen you will be able to stay a little bit longer and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour, Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing