We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp, Smelly and Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #41 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Damp, Smelly and Overpriced”
Reviewed May 13, 2007

I've stayed here a couple of times on business and continue to be surprised that this hotel is on a 'preferred' list within my company. The lifts seem to suffer constant problems, the rooms are damp, drab and smell of nicotine (non-smoking rooms). The breakfast however expansive is simply too expensive for anyone wanting just coffee, croissant and/or cereal and the place in general is soul less and very very tired considering the price and pitch of the place.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The room itself - drab and miserable experience considering price and was next to lift / door so little sleep!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Detken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    274
    213
    99
    61
See reviews for
91
280
47
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2007

We'd booked a room for seven nights at a reasonable price of 88 pounds per night for two well in advance with SuperBreak - before I read the mostly negative reviews of the Copthorne here. We weren't expecting the best, but we both were very wonderfully surprised. I wonder if the other reviewers had even been to the same hotel.
First of all the hotel is both very close to the center of town and very quiet - a wonderful combination. The building itself is so attractive that we wondered why Copthorne only shows the entrance door on their website.
Maybe since we arrived on a Sunday night and were staying for an entire week, our request for a large room was granted immediately and we were given a great Connoisseur room on the 3rd floor. Two huge beds, a big desk, lots of room to store our luggage and a nice view of attractive roofs and steeples around the hotel. The closet was a bit small and the coat hangers were of the aggravating "can't-take-them-out" kind, but the bathroom was large and spotless with great complimentary toiletries. The room doors are a bit noisy - and there seems to be no way to close them quietly unfortunately.
The best surprise came the next morning at breakfast - the best breakfast we'd ever had in the entire United Kingdom and we've both been there many times! Superb fresh fruits, a great cold buffet, as much delicious coffee and hot chocolate as we wished and the chance to order several varieties of a cooked breakfast from the very friendly and helpful waiters and waitresses. We enjoyed a different breakfast each morning!
The staff was without exception always very friendly and helpful. It was a joy for us to stay at Copthorne, and it made the international convention we attended in Aberdeen all the more pleasant.
If the pound continues to fall against the euro, then maybe in the future the value for money we can get in Germany will one day be possible in Britain too. But even at 130 euros a night, the Copthorne was worth it and in comparison to other hotels and b&bs in Aberdeen that other people attending the convention stayed at even reasonable.

  • Liked — The wonderful friendliness of all the staff - they made us feel at home!
  • Disliked — the expensive internet connection
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

I stayed here for 2 nights last week while attending a professional conference at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre. Generally the hotel was very comfortable, and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. It's in a convenient and quiet location, though has no gym, pool etc.

The breakfast was good - good buffet with lots of fruit, excellent cooked breakfast options, huge portions, and prompt and friendly service. A group of us were joined by a colleague staying at another hotel, and he was offered tea at no extra cost.

I've only given it an average rating because it was so expensive, £135 for a Thursday night and £88 for the Friday night single occupancy. The walk-in rate for a standard room is around £225. Apparently they can charge these rates because of the oil industry.

  • Liked — staff and breakfast
  • Disliked — cost, complicated and expensive web/broadband access
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Regular_site_user
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

Just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel. Our room cost us the grand total of £88 including full breakfast - no complaints there!! Bedroom and bathroom were clean and well decorated in the usual hotel style and there was a trouser press,iron and board, tea tray and kettle etc. Room fairly small and wardrobe sliding doors flimsy and cheap looking. Bathroom well lit - a change from lots of hotel bathrooms!My husband could actually see his face while shaving!
Public areas were smart,well carpeted and possibly recently refurbished. We had a bar meal ,a room service sandwich supper and breakfast. Food was well presented and portions extremely generous! The room service sandwiches were triple decker and accompanied by a mixed salad and potato crisps. They were served on a very large dinner plate and there was no room left on the plate!! The tray was covered with a starched cloth and there was a large starched napkin,pepper and salt and knife and fork provided. This cost £5.25. Hot food at breakfast was served to order and arrived at the table on piping hot plates.
We came in contact with quite a few staff members and they could not have been more attentive and pleasant.

  • Liked — Cheap clean good honest food well presented
  • Disliked — bedroom furniture ai bit tired looking
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heathertowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen,Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2007

We held our wedding blessing and reception here in february 2007. I must admit I was very pleasantly surprised by the level of service we received.

We had a meal for 30 people in Poachers restaurant and everyone commented on how fantastic the food was.The service was faultless too.

Our room was quite small but clean and functional.The hotel car park only has spaces for about 8 cars but there is an NCP across the road that's free after 6pm.

The main reason we chose the Copthorne was because of it's excellent location in the city centre,making it easily accessable for our guests.The large crystal suite is an excellent function room for wedding receptions or partys and the hotel staff did us proud in preparing the room with table decorations etc.

We could not fault the service at this hotel and would definately stay there again or book for another event.

  • Liked — Location & Service
  • Disliked — Room on the small side
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rooeyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2007

Very disappointed. Apparently this is a four star hotel but unfortunately the smell of damp and the water stain on the ceiling made this less than a comfortable stay. The room doors were less than secure too. Handy underground carpark and central location but £85 for the room only was expensive for this hotel. Would not book again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Smell of damp
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tartan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

Stayed for two nights September weekend, booked through discount given with bank account. Arrived and was given upgrade to Connoisseur Double, two double rather than single beds , which meant bigger room more space. Beds comfortable, room clean, but poor ventilation from really small window given room size, fairly low ceilings and no AC, which meant stuffy. Wouldn't like to have been there when the really hot weather was still on. Agree with other reviews about shower head, not high enough and inflexible. Strange behaviour from restaurant manager at breakfast, gave room number, then he darted off across restaurant we assumed to show us a table, but no, he was now talking to person at a table on other side. We stood like wallies not knowing what was happening, he sauntered back having dealt with whatever , and then continued to show us our table. Very strange: no excuse me or apology given! He was Scottish! We had no problems with table service, but another foursome in corner waited ages after us for their cooked breakfast, which wasn't too hot on the Saturday, appeared to have been kept warm rather than freshly cooked. Foreign waiting staff not entirely proficient in English, but one girl now knows what a Tattie Scone is!
Situation was excellent for shops in Union Street and a short walk from His Majesty's Theatre, which is impressive inside since it's refurbishment, which I think the Copthorne could do with soon , if it wants to justify 4*

Helpful?
3 Thank reffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Property: Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Address: 122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located in city center, 7 miles to airport & within walking distance of museums, galleries, shops & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing