We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Copthorne aberdeen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #41 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Copthorne aberdeen”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Nice friendly welcome and good clear directions to Rommel and hotel facilities. Room clean and comfortable if a bit dated. Unfortunately no bedside lights that worked so unable to read in bed. Breakfast would have been lovely but we were rushed into choosing cooked option before we could look at buffet or cereal. But overall a good hotel would return.

Room Tip: Try for second or third floor as top floor has noisy air vents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarwl-Jackes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on a recent visit, I will look back to see if your comment on the bedside light was reported and to make sure it was fixed. Listening to you the guest is the best way we can improve our service delivery and of course our product so thank you again.
Kind Regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    270
    209
    99
    61
See reviews for
90
276
47
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Booked this hotel for a work trip to Aberdeen and it was the most affordable we could find. The service of the staff was great, a lovely dinner and very hearty breakfast - cooked on request. Rooms were clean, and top marks for wifi that worked at once. Will stay again -

Room Tip: Get yourself upgraded to the Executive Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brafikoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarwl-Jackes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Delighted to hear you were pleasantly surprised with the hotel, the team are really focused on service delivery and keeping the hotel and brand standards at an exceptional level where possible. From your comments we got it right, breakfast is so important when you’re travelling, the breakfast Chef cooks all hot breakfast to order Monday to Friday with a wonderful array of cold meats, fruit, cheese, breads & pastries. Saturday & Sunday breakfast is an amazing hot & cold buffet selection. The housekeeper will also be pleased you have mentioned her team as they do a great job looking after all the rooms and public areas. Should you be travelling to Aberdeen regularly and wish to receive our weekly availability charts then please just contact me directly at the hotel.
Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

A friendly wee place away fro all the hustle and bustle, but not too far. Stayed for 2 nights, staff really friendly at reception and the bar. There was a large party of elderly Americans and Canadians who are apparently regular visitors, that said, I Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarwl-Jackes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Our location does make us a great choice when visiting the beautiful Granit City, it is always pleasing to hear you received a warm “welcome” and one you will come back to receive again,
Thank you
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Hotel used to be really good, staff use to be first class, Have stayed here on a regular basis in the last two years,( cant beleive they have a machine to add your comments on trip advisor,} staff are very rude at the reception desk, what happen to manners, and as for loyaly points i have not had any over the last two years stay, Why! because they say i have never stayed there, very disappointed especially with there reception staff very very rude, i will not be staying here again not because of the hotel it is very nice and clean cant fault it, Sack your reception staff or put them on a management course for manners. I will make sure non of my staff stay here when they are up to Aberdeen, you have just lost good customers, and all through manners

Room Tip: Top floors are better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank von60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarwl-Jackes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest
As a regular returning visitor to us I am keen we both work together to ensure you keep coming back. Trip Advisor I am sure you as others find a useful tool as to what travel plans you may make, embracing this channel as well as other similar social media sites it’s the way things are changing within our and other markets. Millennium & Copthorne Loyalty members are important to us it is vital that we locate your membership which we can find from the date you joined, we will then be able to merge all previous stay’s to collate your points. Your points are a valuable commodity and can be redeemed against some fantastic visits to some of the best locations across the globe. Please contact me directly so I may be able to help.
Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Not stayed here for a long time and this hotel feels like it has had no TLC in an equally long time. Corridors, walls, doors etc and some of the bedroom furnishings have not stood the test of time.

Although my room was decent sized, when you pulled back the curtain there was the massive air conditioning ducting going right past the window outside and along the bedroom wall. This created a constant loud rumble which reminded me of sleeping on a ship next to the engine room. No use for a good night's sleep.

On arrival the lift wasn't working which was not much good having to make several trips up and down between the car park and the 4th floor.

And the car park.......DO NOT use the car park. There are about ten underground spaces. They are so small and awkward that it is near impossible to put cars into them. Some other guest clearly found it completely impossible as my car was damaged in the morning by an adjacent car unsuccessfully vacating its space. "parking is at your own risk" of course.

I was staying there for a business event in the function suite. It was cold and sparse. And the food in the restaurant each day was regarded as awful by everyone attending. Front desk staff were foreign and generally disinterested in you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiftagenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarwl-Jackes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on Tripadvisor. Car parking is something we do not promote due to the small amount of spaces we have and encourage all our guests to use the multi-story car park opposite the hotel which is very reasonable and has 24 hour access. Please do contact me directly regarding your comments on the food offering at your meeting as I am afraid we have no record of any such allegation and listening to what our guests have to say is the best way we can learn to improve our service and guest expectation.
Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We booked and ran a charity event for 90 people at the Copthorne Hotel in March 2014. All staff were very helpful and the function room was a good size. Nothing was too much trouble for the events team and operational staff during planning, on the day and during the evening event. Brilliant venue and excellent city centre location. Raised a lot of money for our charity and were helped at every turn by all staff involved

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarwl-Jackes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest
It is great to hear that a good cause has raised money for charity and that your event was received well. Our events team are happy to help you make your special event or big day one to remember, you are always “welcome” to come to use with your ideas and we look forward in helping you make those ideas a reality.
“Well done”
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Booked a standard double room for one night, choice of other double rooms available. The room was very nice very homely everything and more you need, two hairdryers,iron board and iron trouser press.tea and coffee. We did not book for breakfast but could have had it in room or dining room, nice bar area meals are very well priced. The reception and staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is set back of main street 5 min walk to centre. Will certainly book here again.

Room Tip: You can book dearer rooms but the standard double is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKarwl-Jackes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Its thank you to our housekeeping department for looking after the bedrooms so well that made your stay with us a comfortable on. Our room types give you a variety of offerings yet they all are of a good size be it you are staying one night on business to enjoying a long weekend. Next time you must book breakfast and enjoy a late checkout so experience a no rush check out, follow us on Facebook & Twitter to find out what special offers are coming up in 2014 .
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Property: Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Address: 122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located in city center, 7 miles to airport & within walking distance of museums, galleries, shops & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing