We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good stay”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Booked this hotel for a last minute stay in Aberdeen. We had booked a club room which was a little more expensive than the standard room, but two drinks and snacks (packet of crisps) along with full breakfast and free wi-fi are included with the price.
The hotel from the outside doesn't really inspire however the rooms have everything you could want and the beds are comfortable. The lounge has a cosy feel however the decor in the restuarant is not great but the food more than makes up for it.
The staff are extremely helpful and I will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you dont know where this is get a cab from the station. It is only a 10 - 15 min walk but even so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quinn281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    273
    210
    99
    61
See reviews for
90
279
47
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Was really nice to come back and enjoy the hotel - great breakfast and superb staff!! Everyone was most helpful!!

John and his team are gradually making improvements and with the great location we will back. Prices are also very reasonable for a weekend stay .

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We booked 2 rooms away back in July 2013 for an overnight stay after a visit to see Ghost the musical in January 2014. The bad side is the car park is horrendous. We turned up about 3.00 p.m. on Fri. 31st Jan. There was 2 places left and two cars were behind us trying to park. Despite repeated tries we could not get parked in the spaces as two cars were taking up 1.1/2 spaces each. We asked reception if it was guest cars or staff cars but was told they did not know. We eventually went to the nearby multi storey car park which cost us £14 for overnight stay.
However the rooms and hotel made up for the bad start. The hotel was exceptionally clean, warm and was perfect for our trip. We ate in the Bistro before the Theatre and enjoyed a extremely good well cooked meal.. Despite the horrible weather we enjoyed our Theatre trip and came back to the hotel for a couple of drinks before retiring. We had a great breakfast in the morning and despite problems with our bill the receptionist, either Klara or Kara not sure, was extremely pleasant and helpful. We did bring up the matter of the car park and suggested keeping car reg nos. and she said whoever was on the night before should have asked for our registration number. All in all a very enjoyable stay which suited our needs.
Irene Gordon

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
The Copthorne is a popular choice for somewhere to stay when going to a show in the city. Being just a 5 min walk away from both his Majesty’s Theatre and of course the popular Music Hall that offers you a variety of choices. I am sorry for the car park this is a service we do not promote due to space being limited yet the NCP car park opposite is free from 22.00 to 08.00. I will pass on your kind and generous comments to the team at this week’s department meeting. Remember to keep an eye on our web site or why not join Millennium & Copthorne Loyalty programme to hear first hand some of the great special offers we have coming up in 2014.
Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This was a last minute booking for business and was a pleasant stay.
The staff were friendly on arrival and equally so during my stay.
The menu is limited but the food was excellent
Down side is the parking it's limited and don't take a 4 x 4 down there it will be a 50 point turn to get in or out

I would have no hesitation in returning ,but will be parking elsewhere

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rws1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
I will pass on your comments to the team especially to our Chef who is new to the hotel yet comes with a vast knowledge and experience. The team and I are currently working with our guests both business and leisure to listen to their wishes and wants. As with many city hotels Car Parking is at a premium or in most cases simply does not exist, we do have very limited space and encourage our guests to use the 24 hour NCP facing the hotel, I really look forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Aberdeen hotels are expensive. I usually stay out of the city but on this occasion needed to be centrally based. The biggest problem is if you need to park a car. The entrance to the basement parking is tight. There are numerous support pillars meaning the number of bays are very restricted. The problem is that at least 5 bays are sectioned off for private parking leaving a total of around 10 bays at best if people park properly, in small cars. But they don't, most of the time two bays were being occupied by one badly parked car. When I raised the matter with the reception desk staff, I was informed there was a public parking area up the street at £1 per hour until 10pm. So if you are flying in and staying at the hotel, take a taxi.
The hotel itself is older and needs a refurbishment, with aged fittings and scruffy looking items like the hair-driers and wall heaters which clash with the upmarket image that Millennium Copthorne like to portray with its 4-star rating. The lift bumped and creaked, the floor boards creaked and the shower was a disappointment being part of the bath tub and very small.
On checking out of the hotel I wasn't asked how my stay had been, and nor did the clerk utter the word thank you at any time. In fairness the breakfast and bar staff were friendly but the breakfast plate was excessively hot when served, the waitress even complained that it was still dangerously hot when she collected the empty plate.
Disappointing stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinMGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest
I am disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we did not get the opportunity to meet with you before departure so we may have had a chance to improve on your experience. Car parking is limited at the hotel as I have explained in previous reply’s, however we are more than happy to help you find alternative car parking opposite the main entrance to the hotel.
Please do come and stay with us again in the future.
Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was in room 403, pleasant surprised as to how big the room was, and well equipped. Room was clean and well decorated. The bathroom was clean and had a good shower. There were a few minor maintenance issues, bit of missing grouting and chipped bathroom door but nothing of concern. All of the staff that I encountered were pleasant and efficient. Excellent cooked breakfast.
The hotel is within 5 minutes walking to Union St. The only issue was the size of the car park. I had to street park on the first night with restricted free parking.

Room Tip: Try to get a fourth floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyk0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest
Many Thanks for your comments and for pointing out some minor areas in room 403 which have now been passed onto the maintenance team. I was pleased you found your stay comfortable and our location convenient for your trip, being so central really makes us the ideal choice for both the business and the leisure traveller.
I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with again in the future,
Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 224, have to say from start to end it was a great experience, check in was very efficient and the receptionist had great local knowledge, the room was huge!! We booked a twin and couldn't believe our luck when we discovered it had 2 double beds rather than singles, the room was spotless only slight niggle was the shower head is very low, really enjoyed our stay and thank you to all the staff we came in contact with they were all very pleasant and helpful we will be returning

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vikiandmikeyscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts on Trip Advisor and I will certainly pass them onto the team at our weekly meeting. It was nice to read you found the twin rooms comfortable as I feel they are amongst some of the best in the city as both beds are doubles giving you that home from home feeling.
Please remember to keep a close eye on the web site for our special offers for when your next visiting the wonderful Granite City.
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen again soon.

Kind Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Property: Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Address: 122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located in city center, 7 miles to airport & within walking distance of museums, galleries, shops & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing