We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hogmanay Gala Ball”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #44 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Brilliant way to bring in the New Year. Champagne reception served with piping hot chicken satay sticks and spring rolls. Lovely 4 course meal (although a little too much for me), great entertainment (mixture of ceilidh/disco), perfect way for me and my family to get together, have fun and celebrate Hogmanay in style. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 94Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 918 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed one night on business, the public areas are excellent and the food was very good. The restaurant staff were amongst the best I have come across especially waitress called Emma, friendly greeting, attentive without being intrusive. However, whilst my room was comfortable it was tired, scuff marks on the skirting boards and the walls, veneer chipped of the furniture. Would benefit from re-decoration but okay for one night on business..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I just wanted to say a huge thank you and ask if you would pass on my thanks for the quality of service and food that we received on the 22nd.

The food was excellent as you promised it would be and the service from the staff was second to none. Credit where credit is due so thank you very much.

I do hope you will have us again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed in this hotel as my daughter had her wedding reception here staff were nice and friendly food was good ,my grandson was in a wheelchair and we had a problem with the lift ,it was broken that took him down to the room where the wedding reception was held it was rather awkward as him and the chair had to be lifted up and down the stairs the staff were very sorry and came to my sons room with a big bottle of champagne to say sorry for any inconvenience caused" nice thought " over all enjoyed the rooms as they were adjoining rooms for our family, breakfast was excellent .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I booked into the Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen for the 2012 Hogmanay Gala Ball. From the first to the last staff member we were treated so well. The room spacious and immaculate. The Ball was well organised and the carvery was excellent. Very quiet room despite Hogmanay and the full cooked breakfast was superb! Great stay and great value too!
10 out of 10 to all concerned........we will return

Room Tip: Three minutes walk from the heart of Aberdeen City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanDMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Did not stay at the hotel but had christmas day lunch which was excellent especially the buffet style starter which was amazing because it allowed you to have little bits of everything which was different from your usual starter.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bill596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was a guest at the Copthorne for one night! It was actually a layover and I was along with my sister. We booked the room based on the web photos and the Millennium group reputation. We only managed to check-in at 9.30p.m (our flight was delayed) and It was smooth and the receptionist was quite nice (given that we had forgotten to book a room with two separate double beds, she gladly allocated us to one). Once we got to our room we were slightly disappointed (I was, my sister went bonkers) because the rooms were a bit dark and outdated (It was like travelling to the 80's: some of of the furniture and some parts of the bathroom were definitely hard to look at ), however, room service was prompted and at 10p.m you don't have that many options (kitchen closes and only a selected number of sandwiches or light meals are available), but then again staff was nice (we also ordered room service for breakfast the next day which was also really good; Food is definitely the highlight of the hotel).
We managed to check-out at 11a.m and again the process was smooth and the receptionist kindly offered us fruit (oranges, apples) .. well to my sister at least and when she politley refused she joked about the importance of vitamin C (she was nice in a non obnoxious way).
Overall thoughts? There are plenty other hotels with the same service in Aberdeen and that are good value for money, the Copthorne sure isn't due to its outdated style (one thing is being conservative and being classical but the decor is straight "old"), although the hotel has good service, staff and the food is good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 15theos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#48 of 65 in Aberdeen
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
902 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Address: 122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $48 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located in city center, 7 miles to airport & within walking distance of museums, galleries, shops & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing