We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff and comfy bed...the only positives!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business. Glad I was not paying for it! Staff are all very friendly and service was good, however the room was as hot as an oven, making sleeping during my 4 day stay very difficult. The decor in the rooms and bathrooms is extremely dated and the whole hotel is in dire need of an update except the bar which was modern enough. The whole hotel is dark and gloomy. Breakfast was distinctly average.
Definitely a lot better for the money...could almost have had a week all inclusive in the Maldives for the same cost!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 934 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights as a family member had their wedding reception and dance here.Check in was smooth,the girl on reception very pleasant and helpful.The room we had was on the second floor and was very dark and dingy,had to leave the lights on during the day while we were getting ready for wedding.The decor looks like its not been updated since the 70s or 80s.Cheap tired looking furniture.The bathroom was ok,a few toiletries supplied and the shower was really powerful.The toilet didn't flush very well though and the water in the sink/ bath took a while to drain away.The bed was comfy,sheets and towels clean.Small fridge which was handy as the water in tap,even though if it was run for a while,still came out warm,so had to get bottled water.
There were a lot of our family staying over for the wedding and one thing we all commented on was the heat in the rooms.It was warm outside anyway,but it was unbelievable! Just couldn't sleep at all. Wouldve needed a fan at least.Couldnt sleep also for the noise in the early hours of Sunday morning,people knocking on doors,speaking really loud and my husband went out to see what was going on at one point,the bloke in the next room was kicking at their door to be let in.Surely reception must've heard all the noise.
The public areas of the hotel were lovely,and the bar very nicely done too.
The breakfast had plenty choice.Our first morning the cooked breakfast was lovely,but the second morning it was just a plate of grease. The food at the reception meal was really lovely though and all staff very pleasant.
I wouldn't choose to stay here again,even though the staff are nice and it's so handy for shops,bars etc.The parking was a nightmare,it's just a handful of spaces under the hotel,I don't suppose it would've been meant to be a car park,long ago maybe it was for horses.There is a public multi storey right across the road,but its around £14 a day.I think for the price they charge,there are better hotels in Aberdeen.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank loopylynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Hi quick review. Stayed here on Saturday night 20th July. Booked a club room and breakfast. Arrived 5.30 pm. Room tiny obviously set up for single room as 1 glass 1 housecoat etc. called to try and sort and eventually got glasses but no more house coat. Woke up in the middle of the night with unbearable heat. Waited 30 mins at breakfast for someone to take our order. Still waiting. No milk on table or for the cereal. No orange juice. Even after asking. Won't be back. Disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottishbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many Thanks for taking the time to place your comments on trip advisor as this is a great media for me and the team to work with as listening to you the guest helps us deliver a ever improving guest experience.
Kind Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I've been here twice this year - once for a large event, and once as a guest with my family. Similar reviews for both times - the hotel's nice enough, although a little bit tired, but is good value for money in a nice [and safe!] part of Aberdeen. Fairly disappointed in the service - waitresses were friendly but the hotel seemed to be fairly badly organised. Not bad value for money though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in the winter, our window was broken so didn't close properly and the heater didn't work so it was cold, the steak in the restaurant were all fatty, not what I expected from a 4 star hotel but we did get it cheap

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosehearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking advantage of one of our many special offers, the Copthorne in Aberdeen is a very busy hotel and yet from time to time we have some great offers that are ideal if you are coming into the city for the theatre or just catching up with friends.
I would encourage guests that come across a challenge during their stay with us to notify the front desk. Here at the Copthorne Aberdeen we have a dedicated team working on the property to ensure you the guest are always comfortable I would like to thank you again for your comments which I can assure you we review in detail.
Kind Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Several things from the ventilation system to the toilets were in need of repair and hotel understaffed we had to carry our own bags. Excellent waitresses tried to make up for shortcomings and food was good. Double room was very small and noisy. Not recommended!

Room Tip: Off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am so pleased that the team here at the hotel tried to make your stay with us a pleasant one, however I was disappointed to hear you had a couple of challenges, as you can appreciate it is difficult after the event to make any comments and to date I am not aware of any comments being made concerning help with luggage and or size of a specific bedroom.
The Copthorne Aberdeen is a wonderful old granite building set in the centre of the city and offers a collect of room types and sizes meaning there is something for everyone; please do come back and stay with us again and make me aware of your reservation so that I may get the opportunity to meet with you and show you some other room types that may be more suitable to your needs.
Kind Regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Spent a night here. Lovely hotel, good location, friendly, helpful staff and lovely food. Room was very spacious, with large comfortable bed and well appointed. Definitely will stay again. Hotel is conveniently situated in the centre of Aberdeen, convenient for shops and theatre. Handy underground parking also.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneyule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for feeding back to trip advisor this is a great tool for us in the hospitality to work with as it helps us to listen to what our client’s wants and needs are, yet more importantly it helps us to improve our guest’s experience.
Being centrally located means we are the first hotel of choice for those attending a conference or visiting the theatre and being in the heart of the city also offers our guests some fantastic shops and restaurants to visit.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#50 of 65 in Aberdeen
679 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#42 of 65 in Aberdeen
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Address: 122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $55 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located in city center, 7 miles to airport & within walking distance of museums, galleries, shops & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing