We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“made me feel at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“made me feel at home”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

been staying at this hotel on and off for past couple of months on business and cant really say a bad word about it.

staff are freindly and very welcoming always remembering who you are and making you feel like you are coming home,especially reception staff, which is great for a female on her own.

corridors and some bedroom carpets are a bit worn but always clean and smelling fresh when you arrive, TV and some furniture bit dated and could do with an upgrade especially the telly..

food is great too wheather in the bar or restarant, althought it does get a bit cold in the bar at times, they need to turn the heating up a bit when it gets cold, at breakfast often the wee lady chef come's into the restaurant and goes around the tables asking if everything is ok, just what your mum would do. First class.

service is good and always friendly, when you do have a problem always sorted quickly.

great location too only couple minutes from city centre.

i'll certainly be back when ever i am in the city.

well done copthorne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    275
    214
    99
    61
See reviews for
91
281
47
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have never stayed overnight, but I can highly rate Copthorne Aberdeen firstly for their food. I eat here regularly at business meetings and I am never disappointed. Dishes are well thought out, presented and taste amazing! I have also been to a variety of functions including business lunches, a christmas party and a food and wine night... all of which I highly recommend. Location is perfect for the centre of town too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m3ugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ochiltree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here while on business in the city. Located on a side street with access across from a high rise car park and flats. Aberdeen can be cold in January, but the heating in the bedroom was turned up high, making it unpleasant. Nothing makes this hotel stand out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkkk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My first stay in Aberdeen was marked primarily by my shock at the price of hotels here. One of the few places that makes London hotels look cheap... But the Copthorne met my threshold price and looked ok, despite the mediocre reviews. And it is ok - the people are nice, the decor is dated but homey, room was reasonably equipped and had a nice overlook of a local church, and the hotel is close to town. One real negative for a business traveller is the terrible wireless internet service. I almost walked to Starbucks in the middle of the night after spending far too long trying to get a consistent connection that didn't kick me out every 2 minutes. It was very frustrating and the well-intentioned staff were unable to correct it. It's been the only hotel this year at which I've had an issue (and I'm writing this review from India).

Would I stay here again? Not likely unless I was convinced that this problem was solved. Unfortunately, in my business I can't put up with a lack of internet service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pk_yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked this last minute and it was cheap. It is located within walking distance of Union Street, so very central. We were there for only one night and never really used the hotel facilities at all. The room was fine but a little shabby in parts, things like the tv had seen better days. They charge £10-£12 for wi-fi which is free in many places these days and £14 for a breakfast, we didn't choose either of these services.
We probably would use this again assuming we got it at a similar budget price, definitely wouldn't pay the advertised prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiferblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel in good position 5 mins. from Union St., inoffensive decor, much bigger than average room, but broken tiles and lights that don't work, shower ran cold after a minute, and wi-fi cost far too much; instead of being free as you'd expect they wanted £12 per session, ridiculous. The mini bar was empty, though I expect it would have been expensive anyway, as breakfast would have been. If some money was spent on basic upkeep, and if they didn't overcharge for things that shouldn't even be extras, this might be o.k.,but mostly for business travellers.

Room Tip: try to be away from the lift, and as high as possible for least noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Mikedeath,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent stay here at Copthorne Aberdeen.

Firstly can I once again offer our sincere apologies we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Indeed I we are embarrassed our lack of customer care and standards that you experienced which spoilt what should have been an enjoyable visit.

Rest assured we have reviewed your comments in great detail, and have started to implement the corrective action and re-training to ensure this does not occur in the future.

Our Broadband is competitively priced within the city; however our wifi is considerably cheaper.

Once again, please accept our apologies and, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The room looked beautiful, the food was delicious and the staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful, both in the build up to the event and on the day. Several attendees at the event commented on the quality of food and service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Kim S,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent event here at Copthorne Aberdeen.

Firstly can I on behalf of everyone at the hotel say how delighted that we did meet your expectations on this occasion.

Once again, please accept our gratitude and, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
743 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Property: Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Address: 122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located in city center, 7 miles to airport & within walking distance of museums, galleries, shops & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing