We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK except for the internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My first stay in Aberdeen was marked primarily by my shock at the price of hotels here. One of the few places that makes London hotels look cheap... But the Copthorne met my threshold price and looked ok, despite the mediocre reviews. And it is ok - the people are nice, the decor is dated but homey, room was reasonably equipped and had a nice overlook of a local church, and the hotel is close to town. One real negative for a business traveller is the terrible wireless internet service. I almost walked to Starbucks in the middle of the night after spending far too long trying to get a consistent connection that didn't kick me out every 2 minutes. It was very frustrating and the well-intentioned staff were unable to correct it. It's been the only hotel this year at which I've had an issue (and I'm writing this review from India).

Would I stay here again? Not likely unless I was convinced that this problem was solved. Unfortunately, in my business I can't put up with a lack of internet service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pk_yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 889 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked this last minute and it was cheap. It is located within walking distance of Union Street, so very central. We were there for only one night and never really used the hotel facilities at all. The room was fine but a little shabby in parts, things like the tv had seen better days. They charge £10-£12 for wi-fi which is free in many places these days and £14 for a breakfast, we didn't choose either of these services.
We probably would use this again assuming we got it at a similar budget price, definitely wouldn't pay the advertised prices.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiferblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel in good position 5 mins. from Union St., inoffensive decor, much bigger than average room, but broken tiles and lights that don't work, shower ran cold after a minute, and wi-fi cost far too much; instead of being free as you'd expect they wanted £12 per session, ridiculous. The mini bar was empty, though I expect it would have been expensive anyway, as breakfast would have been. If some money was spent on basic upkeep, and if they didn't overcharge for things that shouldn't even be extras, this might be o.k.,but mostly for business travellers.

Room Tip: try to be away from the lift, and as high as possible for least noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikedeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Mikedeath,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent stay here at Copthorne Aberdeen.

Firstly can I once again offer our sincere apologies we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Indeed I we are embarrassed our lack of customer care and standards that you experienced which spoilt what should have been an enjoyable visit.

Rest assured we have reviewed your comments in great detail, and have started to implement the corrective action and re-training to ensure this does not occur in the future.

Our Broadband is competitively priced within the city; however our wifi is considerably cheaper.

Once again, please accept our apologies and, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The room looked beautiful, the food was delicious and the staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful, both in the build up to the event and on the day. Several attendees at the event commented on the quality of food and service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hi Kim S,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent event here at Copthorne Aberdeen.

Firstly can I on behalf of everyone at the hotel say how delighted that we did meet your expectations on this occasion.

Once again, please accept our gratitude and, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My second stay in this hotel and actually a better experience. Grim looking building near Union Street, over from a block of flats and a multi-story car park. Nice friendly reception staff - met no local staff at this hotel. Slightly run down feel, adequate food and drink. Bathroom in need of refurbishment. 1 small window in the room. Underground parking - unavailable on both visits. Aberdeen is a difficult place to find good reasonably priced accommodation. I don't think this one is worth the price paid £90 B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenter-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Frequenter-50,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent stay here at Copthorne Aberdeen.

Firstly can I say that we are glad we raised your expectations on your second stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The two-day conference we recently held at the Copthorne was a great success and this was mainly down to the great staff at this hotel.

Their assistance beforehand was prompt, efficient and professional and from the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble.

We had a tight schedule which they eased along with friendliness and attention to the little details. An impromptu birthday gift for a delegate was smilingly accommodated which was really appreciated. I really felt that they were there to make my life easier, which is a rare thing in corporate events.

We had a private dinner, and 50 delegates staying overnight and it all went off seamlessly. While the facilities may not be as slick as some venues in Aberdeen, this is more than made up for by the excellent service provided by the hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend requesting one of the recently redecorated rooms, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hi Joanna F,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent conference, private dining and overnight stay here at Copthorne Aberdeen.

Firstly can I on behalf of everyone at the hotel say how delighted that we did meet your expectations on this occasion.

Once again, please accept our gratitude and, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Everything you'd expect from a 4* hotel. Service was friendly and efficient. The room was comfortable with all amenities provided. Evening meal was nice. Breakfast had lots of options and was pleatifull. A great place to stay if in Aberdeen for business.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toulouseleplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Toulouseleplot,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive comments following your recent stay here at Copthorne Aberdeen.

Firstly can I on behalf of everyone at the hotel say how delighted that we did meet your expectations on this occasion.

Once again, please accept our gratitude and, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Copthorne Aberdeen Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.3 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#16 of 65 in Aberdeen
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Address: 122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $52 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located in city center, 7 miles to airport & within walking distance of museums, galleries, shops & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing