We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, decent rooms, but the building’s on the turn…”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice staff, decent rooms, but the building’s on the turn…”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Apparently when it opened this was a really good hotel. And frankly it’s still not a bad one – the staff were friendly, the rooms were spacious, well laid out and very clean, and the location’s good (especially the top floor rooms, which have interesting rooftop views). But there’s no escaping the fact that the interior is getting tired and needs some attention. Overall, as a fairly regular visitor to Aberdeen, I know you can do better in the town - but you can also do a lot worse than the Copthorne, hence my fairly neutral overall rating.

The good: Generally helpful staff, no problem with late check in (on the first night I arrived at around 11:30 after a long train journey!), the location is central and convenient (just a few minutes from Union Street, Aberdeen’s main thoroughfare, and loosely the centre of the shopping and eating areas), the rooms are spacious (noticeably more so than in other Aberdeen hotels at this price point) and sensibly furnished, with various useful extras (trouser press, hair dryers, fans) in the rooms. Decent quality soaps and shower gels, comfortable beds, and nice and quiet outside the hotel.

The bad: The building is nice on the outside, but it’s distinctly run down on the inside – the lift was broken (though to be fair it was fixed the second night), not one but two of the taps were firmly stuck shut, the bath handles were loose, one of the lights flickered, the bathroom spotlight was falling out of the ceiling, and the iron didn’t work despite following the instructions to the letter. Throughout the building, the décor had a scuffed and bruised look, with peeling paint and worn areas - the panelled corridor ceiling on the top floor was covered in huge leak stains, two lights in the lift had fallen out... I could go on. Individually, these are all things that can happen, but there were far too many of these small issues for it to just bad luck. Curiously, the shower was inexplicably fixed to the wall well below head height (and I’m not even tall!). All in all, I was left wondering if the interior is maybe being run down for a refit in the near future - which could make this a very good hotel.

Food: I only had breakfast, which was perfectly adequate and more or less what you expect (though the £13.95 rate would be a bit steep if you were paying for it on a non-inclusive basis – I’d expect at least fresh rather than long life orange juice for a rate like that).

The building: The hotel is a sort of gluing together of four old granite houses, with a new bit in their back gardens. The entrance happens to be directly opposite a giant granite tower block, which is a rather jarring landmark in an otherwise low-rise area - but don’t be put off – this is an upmarket bit of town, apparently helped by being a good school catchment area! Curiously, no windows in the breakfast area.

Room tip: The top (third) floor is definitely the one to go for if you like rooftop views across the granite city. Or the ones facing the streets either side. There are some extra large rooms (I saw one being cleaned near the lifts) which are absolutely vast.

Useful to know: I didn’t drive to the hotel, but if you do, there’s some parking underneath the hotel, as well as a huge Pay & Display public multi-storey car park right opposite the hotel, on Huntly Street, that (at least when I visited in February 2012) is open 24 hours.

Room Tip: The top (third) floor is definitely the one to go for if you like rooftop views across the granite c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear SwissD,

Thank you for your comments in regard to your stay in February 2012. As General Manager of the Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, feedback is important and valuable to us.

I am glad to hear that you found the hotel clean, rooms well equiped and the staff very friendly.

We are working our was through the building renovating the rooms as part of our refurbishment programme, we have spent a lot of money in investing in the people, which seems to be paying off looking at your comments.

In the next 12 months we will be modernising some of the rooms and addressing some of your other comments.


Our top priority is to provide a high standard of service and facilities to all our guests.
I would like to thank you for your constructive comments. I sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Copthorne Hotel, Aberdeen in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,



Daniel Lawrence, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    275
    214
    99
    61
See reviews for
91
281
47
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Visited the Coprthorne Hotel for a family meal to taste the food and judge the service before confirming our daughter's wedding with the Hotel. Glad we did as the food was the worst presented and tasting we have ever had and the service very poor. The Belly Pork was a joke. Two of the smallest pieces on a bed of mashed potatoes in a soup plate, with only one pork bite from each. Totally inedible. The rest of the maincourses and starters were horrible and badly presented with the fish being full of water, (obvioulsy previously frozen), haggis balls burnt to a crisp and not a fresh veg in sight. We waited over half an hour for a sweet order, whilst the manager dealt with other complaining customers and then when it arrived it came without some of the ingredients described on the menu. Christmas Pudding was still advertised as a dessert in February!!
This was certainly very poor standard considering there were only 10 of us in the restaurant . What would it be like to serve 100 at a wedding! Certainly for a four star hotel the standard was very poor. On a positive note the Wedding Co-ordinator was second to none, very helpful and pleasant, well done Joanne, pity the food and the service let your delightful personal service down. Sorry won't be booking the wedding here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disgruntled_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Disgruntled_27,

Thank you for your comments in regard to your dinner. As General Manager of the Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, feedback is important and valuable to us.

Joanne is a great asset to our team and I am pleased that she handled your family booking professionally. I know she was devastated in regard to your daughter cancelling the wedding due to the one off situation in the restaurant, and not being able to get a second chance to show you our normal standard.

I wanted to send you my personal, sincere apologies for the problems you encountered during your dinner. Unfortunately, our Head Chef who was working that day could not come in due to personal issues, and the Sous Chef could not cover. This is the first time that this has happened at the hotel since I have been in charge.

As soon as you informed us of the situation, we contacted your daughter to discuss the reasons behind the situation, and of course apologised again for the unfortunate situation that occurred.

This situation is unacceptable in our organisation, and we will do everything to prevent this happening again.

We offered you opportunity to return to the hotel to redeem your faith with in the hotel as this was a one off situation, but unfortunately you declined.

I would like to thank you for your constructive comments. I sincerely hope my apologies will be accepted and I wish you all the best for your forthcoming family event.


Yours Sincerely,



Daniel Lawrence, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

scotland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Lovely quiet location. Plenty parking in adjacent multi-story as limited at the hotel itself. Very clean, well priced, food was great and service at dinner and breakfast was superb. Room well appointed, quiet night considering they were holding a large function the night I stayed

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushbaby7709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear bushbaby7709,

Thank you for your great comments about our lovely quiet location it is a great part of town, we do have plenty parking in adjacent multi-story and yes our own carpark is small and limited.

I will forward your comments on to the housekeeping team in regard to being very clean of course this is great to hear. We strive to be competitive in the area and the chef is alway trying to please our guests with his menus. The F&B team will also be happy to see the good comments about their service.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Daniel Lawrence - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The rooms are dated and shabby. I arrived on a January evening after a long trip to find the restaurant closed to hotel guests due to a function. I tried to get something to eat via room service to be told this was unavailable because kitchens were too busy with the function. Not an experience I wish to repeat and the room rate was far from cheap.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This hotel doesn't seem to have been updated since the 70s or 80s.

When we arrived, we managed to squeeze into a tiny space, hemmed in by pillars, in the tiny underground car park, after about a 10 point turn.

We checked in and went too our room on the 4th floor, which was very dated. We also noticed that the carpet was stained, and dirty and dusty around the edges. The television looked ancient. The room was lit by a standard lamp and one only bedside lamp - for a double bed. The lamps had thick shades, and small candle bulbs - probably only 40 watt, which made it impossible to read in the room. However, there was a well lit alcove, handy for getting ready to go out. This was opposite the bathroom, which was also well lit - However, around the taps was stained brown. The shower had a fixed head, which, at 6 feet tall, I had to limbo under to use. I tried to use the iron, which is located in a fixed unit on the wall. Although the unit lit up, the iron did not heat up.

We ate and drank in the bistro bar. The bar service was painfully slow, and advertised drinks were not available - the dark lager and the cocktail advertised as using Plymouth gin - which was not stocked. However, the food in the bistro was very good, and the food service was fine. We asked the guy on reception to book us a taxi for 7.15pm. He told us he had tried all the taxi companies for another guest, and there was nothing available until at least 8pm, and directed us to the nearest taxi rank. Instead, I phoned for a taxi from yell.com, and was able to get a taxi for 7.15pm from the first company I phoned. Another member of our party was also able to beek a taxi - from another firm - for the same time. Sounds like the receptionist just couldn't be bothered.

The breafast was basic and adequate, but like other things, e.g. the toilet paper, the cheapest possible materials were used. We will not be back to the Copthorne, which is not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairliered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Preauthorised my debit card however "Bell" in the accounts department worked things out, much appreciated, thanks Bell. Slightly dated hotel however when staying in Aberdeen I trust the service and its city center location close to night life, limited parking.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the second floor a bit better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prapisri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Big rooms but hotel is old. Carpet in the room was dirty. It all looked old. Elevator looked sounded not in a good shape. Breakfast buffet was poor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,990 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Property: Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Address: 122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located in city center, 7 miles to airport & within walking distance of museums, galleries, shops & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing