We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Chic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Lymm
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Shabby Chic”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stay here quite often on business. It's in the west end of Aberdeen so is convenient for a lot of restaurants and bars. The hotel is very here star and is a bit fraud at the edges. However, its clean and warm and most things work. The bar / restaurant is quite good and the staff are very friendly. The not so good, still has big old TVs in the room and last time they hadn't paid the Sky bill. The Internet policy / charging changes a lot. At the moment it's £5 for 24 hours which seems cheap but there's a good reason why.

Parking is a nightmare, there's an underground car park but it's only suitable for Fiat 500s. I've scraped a hire car once at least. There is a multistorey right opposite but it's pay and display until 10pm. I don't know if anyone actually checks after 6 pm.

That being said, I keep using it and that's because it's a nice place to be.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drunken_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    275
    214
    99
    61
See reviews for
91
281
47
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at The Copthorne Hotel, Aberdeen for 3 nights in November 2011. The hotel itself is rather nice. A pleasant entrance with a nice red carpet lining the steps leading up to the front doors and a clean reception area.
Upon first entering the hotel, we were met at reception by a friendly lady and a gent she was training. They were both welcoming and cheery. The lady was showing the gent how to book in guests but unfortunately, they could not locate our booking. It would appear that we had booked through a 4th party, Gala hotels, (Completely unknown to us), who had not passed our booking on to the hotel itself. Luckily, we had our receipt with us and were fortunate that they were not already booked up. We were informed that had they been fully booked, they could not have helped us. (Reassuring then?!) However, to apologise for the inconvenience, we received an upgrade from a standard room to a club room. Brownie points well and truly earned there. We were given access to the mini bar and told that wi fi was complimentary in our room. Great news for us as we had brought the lap top and needed to keep up with work stuff whilst enjoying our trip.
On entry to our room, we were delighted to find that it was spacious and clean. The bathroom had clean towels and a small selection of toiletries on the basin. The bed was a nice size double and there were bath robes provided. The problem in the bathroom lies with the shower. It is way too low down and is a fixed head so you can't adjust the height. I'm 5ft 3 so it was no problem for me but my husband is 6ft and he had to crouch when showering. Not very comfortable for him!
We had a bit of difficulty setting up the wi fi- would appear that we were given the wrong information by reception on arrival and that it wasn't complimentary. Instead, we had to pay £5 for 24hrs use. My husband went to pay and questioned why it was offered for free as part of our room upgrade and was now being charged to us. The lady on reception, different to the first, apologised and extended our use for 48hrs for the same price of £5. Not a bad compromise I guess?
The TV in the room was pretty sporadic in getting a picture. It seems that they may have been experiencing problems with their digital signal as we frequently lost the picture and was forced to listen to what sounded like a cd skipping in the background when we got intermitent sound. Half the time, we ended up switching it off because it drove us mad.
Our first meal in the restaurant was lush! Great tasting food and the portions were not sparse. Quite expensive, 2 mains a coke and a Guinness came to £42 but it was definitely tasty.
Breakfast was included in our rate and if it wasn't, we would not have paid for the privilege. £14.95. You get to choose what cereal you have and can have tinned fruit/cheese/ham etc. When it comes to the full english, you get one rasher of bacon, one sausage, some beans, some mushrooms and eggs cooked to your liking. Portion sizes-very small. Certainly not almost fifteen quids worth that's for sure! It was nice though. For a cheaper breakfast, walk 5 minutes down the road to Union Street and pop in to the pub just round the corner. Full English for £3.95!
The bar at this hotel was normal hotel prices. A pint Of Gunniess and a coke was just over £6. That's actually quite cheap if you're used to prices in the South and Guinness!
Union street is only a few minutes walk away and has plenty of shops to keep you busy. There is also a Wetherspoons just over the road called The Justice Mill so a good way to keep your food bill down.
Overall, we actually enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We slept very well every night. You couldn't fault the staff, cleanliness and location. Would stay here again although we would definitely ensure we book directly next time.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor- blisfully quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightonbelle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed in the Copthorne Hotel in Aberdeen for 2 nights and it was and it was a very enjoyable stay. When checking in you are given good, appropriate information. Includes the times the restaurant is open for breakfast and evening meals, the bar, where you can find things in the hotel. The room and the whole hotel is very well maintained and decorated throughout. Its very clean and presentable. In your hotel room is very clean and their is also information in the rooms on the local area. The food is very nice and also have very good choice to suite everybody. The service is very good and the staff and smart and polite. I would recomend the hotel to families, businessess, and friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

i have stayed in this hotel several times on business, in general it is clean, with decent size rooms at reasonable price (for Aberdeen). It is within easy walking distance (2 mins from Union street) to shops, restaurants, pubs, clubs etc.
decor is a bit dated but in general good condition, Parking is underground withvery very tight spaces cramed between pillars (tip.... if you are not confident at parking there is a multi story across the road which is much easier).
Bar pricing is in line with most hotel prices (ie expensive). Staff are always helpfull. would i class as 4 star???? closer to 3 & 1/2 id say :)

Room Tip: not much of a view from any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusymanGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Hotel in good location. Comfortable clean rooms. Showers ok if you are under 5ft! otherwise- shower on your knees. Reception staff helpful with regards to directions and atractions. Great map provided. Drink prices too expensive.Car park really limited - 14 spaces if drivers can park between pillars.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2011

drink prices exorbitant,food however excellent, staff brilliant,bathroom needs update.location fair .the hotel does not quite make it for value for money.basicaly its about £15 per night to dear

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hutchDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I had visited with my family to Aberdeen on a business as well as leisure trip.We had a lot of expectations because of the Copthorne name, however it was a big disappointment. The room was smelly, dark, not comfortable. The first room we were taken to was bad and we asked for a change. The second room we were shown was not that better but we had to select as there was no other option.The hotel elevators, corridors, reception areas were depressive. The reception desk was cheerful, friendly and helpful.
Two good points about this hotel is the location and the breakfast. Location was great with the main street a minute of walk away and has multiple eating joints scattered nearby . The breakfast served in the hotel was magnamious and the waiters were smiling, efficient and the food was good.
My advice is to avoid this hotel and seek better ones that will render your stay more memorable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,991 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Property: Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Address: 122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located in city center, 7 miles to airport & within walking distance of museums, galleries, shops & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing