We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as its being made out...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not as bad as its being made out...”
Reviewed September 4, 2007

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip recently. After reading the negative reviews, I was a little wary, but I have to say it was a lot better then I was expecting. There was nothing at all wrong with the place, ok its not 5*, but its clean, central and warm.

The staff are all helpful, cant fault the cleaning etc.
Rooms have tv's with sky sports etc

Didn't like Aberdeen itself, found it to be very "rough", and the hotel is right in the middle of the main "strip", so expect some noise, altho it is set back 1 street so its not as bad as the travel-lodge down the road

Feel free to contact with any Q's

  • Liked — cleam, comfortable rooms, central location
  • Disliked — nothing stands out as being awful
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank roversnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    344
    149
    65
    31
See reviews for
84
342
88
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in May 2007, slightly nervous after reading reviews here but it was the only hotel that wasn't fully booked. I think this is what they rely on, the desperation of many business travellers and oil workers to get a room, any room. At £150 a night the room was spacious enough but badly in need of refurbishing. Dirty grey net curtains, windows that wouldn't open and no air conditioning so the room was sweltering, a fusty smell when the shower was running (maybe the shower curtain?), iron didn't switch on, one of the glasses in the bathroom had lipstick on it.

Creaky floorboards in the room above wakened me frequently. I started with plenty of towels but used some and on day two was left with a floor mat and one towel. Why do hotels ask you to hang your towels up if you are willing to reuse them and then take them away anyway?

Although there are lifts you may still have to carry your case up a small flight of stairs, ten or so. Not a biggie for most people but be aware.

On to the plus side - the staff. Every single staff member I encountered was friendly and helpful, I couldn't fault them. I've read complaints about the food too but what was available on room service, at least, was great. Everything seemed to be freshly made, eg the pasta sauce was clearly full of fresh vegetables and when something from the menu wasn't available they were able to suggest something similar they could make. £5 charge just to bring it to you though and £8 for a glass of wine seemed steep.

All in all, if they refurbished the hotel itself I think they would be onto a winner.

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Disliked — Badly needing an upgrade
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2007

it should be good - great location / a bit of history / looks the part - no it is terrible - other than th bar area which is OK.

the sngle room i got was dirty . smelt of smoke - the bathroom was cold the tiles dirty the shower curtain dirty - i am getting anoyed writing ths review - all i can say is go accross the road to the holiday inn epress - it is cheaper cleaner and not living on in the past.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cricklewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

I've stayed at the Caledonian Thistle a lot over the past 7 months - I alternate between this hotel and the Holiday Inn Express.

I can, unreservedly say that the Holiday Inn Express is a far, far better hotel.

The Thistle is tired and old and it shows: The rooms are musty, the windows don't open (bad when it's summer), the radiators don't work (bad when it's cold), the lighting is poor, the bar service is slow (I have, on several occasions just given up), the breakfast service is slow and the hotel needs a lot of work to make it the alleged four star that it is.

An example of the type of breakfast service is this - Today I went down for breakfast - I couldn't get in because they've moved into the bar and there's not enough room. I left (rather angry). Another time I asked for porridge and I was asked what porridge was.....

The front desk staff are, on the other hand, very helpful - they're polite and they know you by name (even when I'd not stayed there for over a month).

On the whole it's a hotel that seems to use it's name as it's cachet - and it's undeserved.

  • Liked — Front desk staff
  • Disliked — The rest of the hotel
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2006

Whilst on business, I was in Aberdeen for six weeks or so staying at the ferry hill house hotel (highly recommended BTW). There were certain dates unavailable here during my trip and so I choose the Caledonian thistle as my fall back. The public areas certainly live up to their 4 star rating and the hotel exudes quality in terms or furnishings and decor. The rooms are however very compact, yet comfortable and the bed was a dream! The food in the restaurant was the best I have ever tasted and fantastic value considering the quality (£9 - £20 mains). Ok - now the down side, the service in the bar is awful, no one seems to be in charge, there is no direction, no one is paying attention to who’s waiting for service. The bar staff are too busy waiting tables to serve, everything they do, they do in slow motion. I got the impression these guys were dead on their feet. This was not an isolated incident. I stayed here on 3 separate occasions during my visit to Aberdeen and on each, the service was abysmal. Considering the prices charged at this four star hotel, they should be doing a lot better. A failure of management if ever I have seen one!

  • Liked — Fantastic food!
  • Disliked — Awful service!
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat here, drink elsewhere!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AceOspades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2006

Stayed one night. Room 201 was tiny. Huge window with views over a wall and the air conditioning ( or heating) just outside, behind it ( wich means noise all night long) Certainly a smoking room, but no way to get the window opened. Bathroom not cleaned properly, smelly curtains... The remote control for the TV didnt work properly, the sound went on and off every 2 minutes, and the TV switched itself on in the middle of the night. Plus, they took my credit card details the day before and £90 as a deposit. When i checked out, I have to pay £40 for the room. No 4 stars hotel at all!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Edin_er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,991 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Property: Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing