We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problem when dining, but handled very well by duty manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #28 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Booked a table in the cafe bar for Saturday lunch with friends. Had problems when booking as receptionist said they were very busy. As it turns out there were only 3 tables booked. And, if they know in advance they are busy, they can rota on extra staff. So, I really didn't understand the issue. Was pleasantly surprised to find they have carpeted the cafe bar. Have been an occassional diner/drinker here for several years, and always found the wooden floor caused any noise to echo round, and it had no atmosphere. Just putting down the carpet has made a big difference (although I'm not sure how easy it is to keep clean). On arrival, drinks delivered swiftly, and food order taken. No issues with starters. When the main courses arrived, there was an issue with one of the dishes. We had asked for a classic burger with 'NO' salad and cheese as an 'EXTRA' topping. When it arrived, the burger was on the plate, with NOTHING. It was sent back and promply returned in a bun, but without cheese. When we queried this with the waiter, he said that the chef refused to put cheese on it as there is NO cheese on a classic burger. We pointed out that we had requested it from the list of optional extra toppings listed on the menu. By this time, our food was going cold. One of our party went and found ketchup and mayo as this was not offered. Neither were we offered any more drinks. Once we had finnished the meal, our table was cleared. We were not asked if we wished coffees or deserts, or another round of drinks. After around 10 mins the duty manager appeared. He had obviously been given a brief outline of what had happened. We would have been happy with a genuine apology, and perhaps some coffees. However, the duty mamager waived our entire food bill for ALL the food, and only charged us for the drinks. We had a tastecard, so the foodbill would have been half the normal rate anyway. So this gesture was totally unexpected, and made us feel a little guilty as 3 of the meals had been fine. However, he pointed out that the 3 diners with good food, would have enjoyed it more if the 4th diner had been happy. Occassionaly problems arise, but it is how the venue deal with them that will dictate whether the customer is happy and will come back. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear MrsS304,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to us.

The Bistro area is certainly a marked impovement on days gone by and I'm glad you too found the changes to be favourable ones.

I am sorry you experienced some issues with your order when dining. I have spoken with the team and this was a genuine misunderstanding.

I was very pleased to read that you accept that mistakes happen and it is how a team resolves the situation that is of highest importance. I am glad that because of the manager on duties actions that you will be back to dine once more.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 992 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

We booked this as somewhere reasonably priced and central to stay over when visiting relatives.
We were pleasantly surprised on arrival, the accommodation was better than expected and the customer service was excellent. The rooms were a good size and very comfortable. We didn't eat there as we already had plans so cannot comment on the food. We will be travelling to Aberdeen in the future and will likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gaylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear gaylie,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review.

Its great to hear that the hotel exceeded your expectations and you gave us 5 out of 5 for every aspect of your stay.

I hope you do indeed choose us again on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

As part of my Birthday Celebrations I booked an Afternoon Tea Party for my friends. From the initial contact in early March through to the actual event on Saturday 21 June, I cannot fault the arrangements made. The "team" were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. I had booked for 11 which meant we had to book a separate room and The Diamond Suite was just perfect. We had the room to ourselves from 2-4pm and because no-one else had booked this room after us, we were able to stay on longer which was just as well, as we over-ran!!! We had the "standard" tea, and I arranged for a pre-tea drink for everyone before we had our food which consisted of a good selection of sandwiches, scones and cakes - and was enjoyed very much by everyone. We had great service and I can thoroughly recommend this venue for an afternoon tea party. Many thanks to Chris Plant and his team for making this so special for me - oh yes, and Brian was a STAR!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dykeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Dykeside,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent event with us at the hotel.

Our afternoon teas are becoming ever more popular for special occassions such as birthdays, hen parties and even Christenings so its great to hear that Chris, Brian and the team met your needs from the first point of contact.

I have shared your feedback with Brian and Chris who are both delighted.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I believe that a good portion of what separates a passable hotel and a great hotel are the people working there. While the Thistle Aberdeen is quite a nice hotel, the staff went out of their way for me with check-in and out, and did everything with extreme friendliness and courtesy. The only reason I wouldn't give this hotel a 5 is that it IS a bit loud and creaky, but not in any way that disturbed me too much- it's just the nature of the building, and I think it's as lovely as it can be. However, if you need extreme silence, stay in a modern-built hotel. However, you will be missing out on the charm of a wonderful hotel in a great location with the best staff you could ask for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off of the street, maybe on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanilarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear vanilarama,

Wow. What a fantastic review. Thank you so much on behalf of all the team at the hotel.

I am glad that you saw past the ocassional creek in a floor board and took the hotel for the charming 121 year old characterful building that it is, your review really did make for pleasant reading for us all.

The team are as you said what sets the competition apart and we are very lucky to have a great one working with us here.

Thank you once again and kind regards,

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I recently stayed here on a business trip and I cannot fault this hotel.

The room was first class with a comfy bed and great amenities.

The staff were very courteous and friendly.

Had dinner and breakfast at hotel and the food was excellent. Great breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Stayed in suite 418. Great suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie01Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Annie01Scotland,

Thank you for your 5 star review on your recent visit.

It really was great to see 5 out of 5 for all aspects of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

we made reservations in Thistle, The Caledonian through Late rooms. com and got a wonderful rate for a deluxe room in the Hotel. From the minute we arrived we were treated as vip passangers, what made us feel very well. The ladies in reception were helpful and extremely kind, showing us in the map the best features of the Neighbourhood. Our room was very clean, very nice decorated and full of light. We loved it. The shower was perfect and the pillows were the most confortable we ever experienced. Breakfast was something else. We arrived after 20 days travelling, and thought we had seen it all. But we were mistaken. The customized, "a la carte"breakfast was unique. Not to mention the many items in the buffett. Delicious!!!! We'd like to point out specially the proffessional attention we recieved every morning from Pedro, who made our stay an unforgettable and warm experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PatoJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear PatoJazz,

Thank you for your very very kind review on your recent stay.

Much like the review previous to yours I am delighted at how you have summed up your stay as the entire team work very hard to delight our guests as they have you. If they could thank you personally for your kind words I am sure they would.

Both Pedro and the kitchen team are delighted with your comments surrounding breakfast.

Pedro is a massive asset to the team and the feedback from guests regarding him is fantastic and its great to hear that our new breakfast offering is going down so well with the guests.

I hope you choose to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The choice of Hotels and Guest Houses in Aberdeen is staggering, especially when you are trying to find a suitable hotel for a private visit. I looked at several hotels but selected the Caledonian as it satisfied many of my needs on paper. The Hotel is central, easy access for shopping, easy access to and from the airport and an evenings entertainment is only a short walk, in every direction. Express "check in and out" was smooth, the hotel room was extremely comfortable, well maintained and the cleaning was first class. The staff at all levels where there when you needed them and at a discreet distance, when not needed. My stay was thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing and provided myself with an ideal location overall for my stay in Aberdeen.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side of the hotel enjoy the morning sunshine and are also very quiet in the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Philip James C,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

I dont think if I were to write a review myself I could have summed up the ethos of our hotel as well as you have. A great reflection on the hard work the team puts in day to day to try and provide the best for our guests.

We hope to have 'The Viking' back again soon.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#16 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,072 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $55 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing