We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel at 4 star prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 star hotel at 4 star prices”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Booked a deluxe room at this hotel for a weekend during the start of the world cup 2014.
Here is my list of pros and cons about our experience.

Pros

Reception staff very nice and helpful mostly.
Deluxe room is very large. Room itself is finished to a high standard.
Bathroom also very nice, high standard.
Breakfast is excellent. Basically eat as much as you like for £10 with varied choices available.

Cons

Room was hot. Couldn't open window wider (understandably due to security reasons)
Noise from city centre if room is open is fairly loud.

Pay for a deluxe room but the facilities of the room are exactly as you would get in a 3 star hotel. Nothing extra that i can see.
TV wasnt working properly...all channels were very grainy and low visual quality. I phoned reception about it. They said they would have a word with the manager. I waited 45 minutes no call back so went down stairs. Met the manager and was told that all the TVs in the hotel were affected. Bear in mind this is at the start of the Football World Cup 2014. He told me that it would be fixed by Sunday (my day of departure) and it was. But too late for me. No apology offered.

Transiting to and from your Room using the lift is a tad cumbersome if it is even a little busy. The lift is very small and the location of the lift is in a cramped area.

Waiting staff at the breakfast area not as efficient as the staff at reception e.g. if i had cornflakes and finished i would then get up to get some toast or something else. On the first day of breakfast waiting staff removed my used plate. On the second day of breakfast they did not so i had to leave my plate at the bar. A minor point yes but when you are paying premium for the breakfast experience then any minor point is noticeable.

And that is the entire point of the review. The hotel to me felt like a 3 star hotel with 4 star breakfast (not the breakfast waiting staff) and 4 star prices. Location in the city is good but there are plenty of hotels within city centre walking distance that are cheaper and offer the same facilities as you will receive here. If i pay a bit more i do expect to see that reflected in what i get. If you are looking to book this hotel please note that a good 3 star does everything the same (except breakfast maybe but that costs extra anyway..and its not included in the price). I would not advise booking this hotel. Just for me...what is offered at the price you pay is not equitable for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisJR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear ChrisJR_12,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased you found our staff on reception friendly and helpful. Our team really are an asset to our hotel.

With the hotel being a 121 year old Victorian building we do not in some areas have the same wide corridors and passenger lifts as a purpose built modern construction however we definitely see our winding staircase and quirky lay out as part of the charm and character of staying in Aberdeens first hotel.

I can only apologise regarding the quality of the TV reception at the time of your visit. Unfortunately this was an issue outwith our control at an unfortunate time which has now since been rectified.

If you would like to discuss any of the issues raised in any further detail please do not hesitate to contact myself on colin.gunn@thistle.co.uk

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    339
    146
    64
    31
See reviews for
82
341
87
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Aberdeen can be a difficult city in which to find reasonably priced accommodation. Nowhere is cheap, and a short notice stay in a budget hotel can cost £200 per night. With a few days notice this hotel can be booked at reasonable cost. Rooms are well decorated and comfortable, and the staff are attentive. The public parts are a little tight space wise, and the bar and restaurant expensive. However alternatives are nearby. This hotel offers free parking, and is 2 minutes from the station. As a place to stay whilst on business this place can't be faulted.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarredMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear StarredMotion,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

It's great to hear that you found we could not be faulted as a business hotel.

We also are fantastically located for leisure too being on the citys doorstep and great rates can be booked at weekends.

I hope you choose to visit us again be it for business or pleasure.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Warm welcome at check in, given standard double room allocated, nowhere to rest suitcase on. Bathroom badly designed with towel rail immediately in front of toilet making it virtually impossible to sit down. Bar staff, friendly, attentive and drinks reasonably priced. Probably about the only good thing about this hotel. Toilet in public areas stained and dirty with the daily toilet check sheet not being looked at since the middle of the previous day. Room service breakfast, mediocre with no butter for the toast and coffee instead of tea. Not major things but sufficient enough to make this a hotel not to return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeaneJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear KeaneJohn,

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your recent stay.

It is great to read however that our staff were excellent and you gave them 4 stars for service.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great city centre hotel. 5 star service and very welcoming. On arrival met with receptionist and quick check in. Did not have an evening meal due to another engagement. Breakfast was well presented and attentive staff. Could not fault anything.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johnbcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Johnbcox,

Thank you for your excellent 5 star review. It is really fantastic to read that you had such an enjoyable and faultless experience with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here on a short break whilst collecting our son from university. We've made this trip several times before but we've never stayed at the Thistle so this was a new experience. My husband booked a Super Break which included breakfast on both mornings and dinner on the first night.

Positives:
1. The position of the hotel is unbeatable for access to the city centre, shops and restaurants.
2. Parking is free at a small car park adjacent to the hotel.
3. The public areas of the hotel are very smart and strike a sympathetic balance between the lovely original features of this old building and a more contemporary, modern feel.
4. Our room was comfortable, if a little small, and the bathroom was recently renovated and clean.
5. We had plenty of fluffy towels, two hairdryers, a kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits, an iron and ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
6. The breakfast was excellent. The buffet was hot and plentiful and you can also have some food cooked to order.
7. Dinner is good value for money (ours was included in the package and we were entitled to three courses from a set menu or dishes to the value of £20 each from another menu).
8. Service was prompt, professional and attentive.

Negatives:
1. We requested a quiet room on an upper floor at the rear of the hotel and unfortunately, due to the unusually warm weather, our room was stifling and airless. The windows open very little and the sun hits the back of the building in the afternoon and heats it up.
2. Noise travels into the rear rooms very easily because there is a cobbled street below which amplifies the sound of passing traffic. Also on Sunday morning there is an early refuse collection which is impossible to sleep through!
3. The main course of my meal was very disappointing although my husband had exactly the same dish and his was beautiful. We both had steak and whereas his was perfectly cooked (medium), succulent and thick, mine was overcooked and full of fat and gristle. I left most of it. I do appreciate that this wasn't entirely down to bad cooking since it was a poor piece of meat. We did mention it to the waiter who made an allowance to our drinks bill as compensation. I should say that the starter and dessert were excellent.
4. The lift was painfully slow in arriving so we felt compelled to walk to the third floor most of the time. This would be a problem for guests with limited mobility, etc.
Clearly there are more positives than negatives so we would certainly consider booking again. Some of the negatives which we encountered were just due to bad luck. The location is a major advantage.

Room Tip: The rear rooms are not necessarily the quietest. You can pay to upgrade to a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Disneyveteran,

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry you experienced disappointment with one of your dishes over dinner however it is great to hear that the team compensated you for it and attended to your needs at the time.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Caledonian Hotel has since I first used it some 20 years ago exerienced a significant upgrade. Rooms are now comfortable equipped with a good bed, a fine bathroom and some good and free internetconnection. Breakfast is fast, plentifull and delicious. Value for Money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Black_Tarzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Black_Tarzan,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay, we are now a very different place than we were 20 years ago yet still retaining lots of our buildings natural charm. It's nice to see you took advantage of our unlimited free fibre-optic wi-fi, the fastest in the city!

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scalloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We tend to stop over in Aberedeen a fair bit on way to island to work. have tried a few hotels over the years but this one has become a firm favorite. the whole family now use this hotel if in Aberdeen. Great value and the staff are lovely.

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms are a few £'s more but the veiw from the front of the hotel is worth it. The st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Pauline M,

Thank you so much for your recent review.

It's great to hear we have become a firm favourite for you and your family.

We look forward to you visiting us again.

Kind Regards.

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,936 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Property: Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing