We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Lerwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed in the Balmoral Suite for one night. The suite was luxurious, very spacious and with every comfort. Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice of appetising foods to suit all if not most tastes. The hotel is very clean and decorated to a very high standard. Staff are welcoming, friendly and professional. The atmosphere is relaxed and despite being in the centre of town, there was little noise even with the room overlooking the hotel front. Had a very comfortable sleep. Have recommended to family and friends and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Solstrand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Solstrand1,

Thank you so much for your excellent 5 star review!

I am really pleased to hear that everything was to your liking. The Balmoral Suite you stayed in is one of my personal favourites with its high ceiling it has so much charm and character. Add in the Bose bluetooth sound dock and Nespresso coffee machine and you have the best of both modern and traditional.

We look forward to welcoming you ,and hopefully those you have receommended us to, soon.

Kind Regards


Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    348
    151
    65
    34
See reviews for
85
346
89
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

our first visit to the Caley for Afternoon Tea and we were not disappointed. First class service from our waitress who looked after us . Great selection of sandwiches and cakes. my only complaint would be the scones were a little hard . Nice to see a selection of gluten free cakes on offer which was enjoyed by one of our group. will be back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear marymac13,

Thanks for your recent review on our your visit for afternoon tea.

Our vintage afternoon tea's are one of the reasons people keep coming back to us and its great to hear that you enjoyed yours. We are always happy to deal with any special dietary requirements so it's great to hear this was appreciated.

I strongly believe that in terms of value for money that our afternoon tea is second to none in the city. With a selection of home baked cakes, a choice of sandwiches and your choice of leaf tea all served in the luxurious and traditional surroundings for only £13.95 its definitely hard to beat.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards


Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The location was perfect right in the middle of everything. There was a street market in front of the hotel all weekend. It was close to shops, library, bus station, and theaters. The room was just the right size for myself and was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbonita35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Dbonita35,

Thank you so much for your recent review.

It's great to hear that everything was in order to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. I hope you got to enjoy all the International Street Market had to offer, its a great attraction when it's in town.

We hope to welcome you back once again.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We travelled to Aberdeen with friends for a birthday treat and were extremely happy with both our rooms overlooking union terrace. We arrived earlier than planned and the reception staff were so helpful, giving us coffee in the lounge while our rooms were prepared. The beds I agree were so comfortable and our Sunday breakfast was delicious and plentiful. My friends birthday was the Saturday evening, so we chose to eat in their restaurant and were not disappointed. An absolutely wonderful meal was had by us all and I can sincerely recommend this hotel for its hospitality and great food. Central location also, so cannot fault it at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Allburn,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review on your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear that you were so well looked after and that the Birthday treat was an enjoyable one and that the team and the food made it one to remember for you and your friends.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was very impressed with this hotel,this was my first stay with thistle hotels and i was not disappointed by the staff or the hotel
,I was made to feel very welcome by the staff and they were very helpful ,i found the hotel very clean and the restaurant food excellent and the room to be of a good size and had everything I needed ,comfy bed ,bath/shower ,tv and tea and coffee .
the hotel is also in a great central location ,perfect for shopping in aberdeen

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear david d,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

It sounds from your review that we ticked all the boxes during your stay and I am particularly pleased you noted our friendly staff.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is not the first and will certainly not be the last time we've stayed at The Caledonian.
All of the staff are first class and go the extra mile to help whenever called upon.
It's a perfect base if exploring the city centre and if you're shopping it's ideal for quick bag drops.
We always have our children and buggy with us and whilst it's not the most perfectly designed hotel for buggies, due to age of the building and it's stairs (there is a lift though!), it's never bothered us.
If you're staying in Aberdeen centre do yourself a favour and book The Caledonian.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Union Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MerleCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear MerleCollins,

Thanks so much for your recent review. It made for an amazing read and I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to us.

It is great to hear that the staff will go above and beyond for our guests as this is what we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to having you and all your shopping bags back with us again soon ;-)

Thanks again and Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Colin Gunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great service, Excellent rooms and superb location. Will be back again soon - hopefully with a view over union terrace this time and we will be upgrading to the exec rooms. Can't fault the hotel at all, bed was so comfy we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear M8800,

Thank you so much for your excellent review.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. I am glad to hear you will be back and treating yourself to an executive room as I certainly think that waking up Union Terrace Gardens is the way to do it!

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
994 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Property: Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing