We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taking our Daughter back to University”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed last weekend and on arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was clean, tidy and very comfortable.
Staff at Breakfast were efficient and the omelette ordered was delivered in short order and was cooked to perfection.
Good location central for city centre,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Killie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneBourque, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Killie 52,

Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed you appreciated your complimentary upgrade. At The Caledonian we dont like to see our best rooms wasted and therefor we try to upgrade our guests regularly to make theri stay as pleasurable as possible.

We hope to have you back again with us next time you are visiting your daughter.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 956 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for two night at New Year. when we booked in the receptionist upgraded our room. Our room was clean, tidy and loved the warm housecoat. Breakfast was lovely both mornings. Staff were all professional and lovely. We would stay here again and will be recommending to family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokieFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneBourque, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear smokieFalkirk,

Thank you for your recent review regarding you stay.

We are glad that you appreciated the gesture of the complimentary upgrade amd the bathrobes that came with it, something we look to do as often as possible when we are able.

We hope to welcome you back to The Caledonian again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Little disappointed with our visit. Though the girl who served us was initially attentive (and pleasant), we felt abandoned mid way through. Nice idea to be able to choose which sandwich you'd like but this only works if there are more than 2 of you or the choice is then limited. The said sandwiches were very over handled, arriving squashed and full of butter and not much flavour to them. Meat paste/mousse on a cracker had been piped on way too far in advance. I think the scone was home made but had been overheated and so was hard by the time we'd had our savouries. Unfortunately, and this is a major factor for me, there were no home bakes as far as we could tell. We were tucked away from the bar with only Radio 2 for company and it was on the cold side - felt we shouldn't have had to ask for the door to be closed when it was December 30th and chucking it down outside!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Curlypow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneBourque, Operations Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Curlypow44,

I am very sorry to read of your recent experience.

Our afternoon teas are something we pride ourselves on and it seems on this occassion we got some aspects of it wrong.

We have a new afternoon tea launching at the end of this month and would be delighted for you and your friend to be one of the first to try it with our compliments.

If you can e-mail me on colin.gunn@thistle.co.uk I will arrange a complimentary visit for you both.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed one night because it was very close to bus station for national express journey the following day had a very comfy nights sleep the reception staff very helpful and friendly only criticism is because I was in single room it was very small but this is a problem in a lot of hotels. Will definitely stay again in couple months time

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 70ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneBourque, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear 70ish,

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant experience.

Being 121 years old and a listed building we do have a number of single rooms. Ask our friendly reception team next time you stay if we have any free upgrades available and we'll be sure to arrange one for you if we do.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a good hotel with very pleasant and efficient staff. Rooms are pleasant with everything you need as well as comfortable beds. Tea/coffee facilities are replenished daily, including the shortbread biscuits. Take care with the showers. Like many older buildings the hot water takes a while to heat up so the cold shower which eventually gets warm enough to get under, then very quickly reaches scalding point. Make sure it's reached a stable temperature before you risk it!
I enjoyed a lovely meal in the bar - the Asian noodles. Bar prices are a bit steep and the hotel should consider bringing these down a bit to increase trade. Not many people are happy to part with almost £7 for a glass of wine. I would certainly return to the Thistle Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JkbGlagow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneBourque, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear JkbGlasgow,

Thank you for your recent review, some great feedback and great tips!

I am glad you appreciate that from time to time controlling the water temperature in a 121 year old building can be fun and is all part of the charm and experience.

We look forward to having you back to stay soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our second choice for a few nights in Aberdeen before Xmas.
It will remain our second choice.
The rooms are basic but clean. Beds are hard and uncomfortable.
We had 2 rooms, the mattress in one had collapsed requiring a pillow underneath to stop from falling of the bed. We asked for a replacement mattress but that was simply ignored.
It was Xmas and the staff just didn't want to be there.
Great location, but that's about it.
Give it a miss!

Room Tip: Any room in a different hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Only1stClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneBourque, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Only1stClass,

Thank you for your recent review. Without honest feedback we will never be able to get better.

I have taken your comments up with my team and training has since taken place to ensure situations like this do not rear their heads again.

Please accept my sincere apologies.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this hotel after two great stays earlier this year at The Thistle in Glasgow. We were visiting Aberdeen for the holidays and had a night out with friends.
We arrived to our 'upgraded' room with a view of a brick wall to find earplugs with a note about noise with a pubic hair on it. Disgusting. The bed was a small double and the room was basic. There was no mini bar and the fridge was an empty coolbox. We had to take the ironing board out of the small wardrobe to made space for our coats and a dress.
We then noticed we only had one dressing gown and one towel. The staff quickly brought more.
The next day the bathroom flooded after half a shower, the toilet blocked. My partner ended up going to his parents to have a shower and use the loo as we'd had enough.
We were offered a refund as compensation when we were checking out which I notice has not happened. The staff also mentioned that we could have asked them for a plumber but we'd really had enough by this point.
Such a pity as the hotel is in a great location and has the potential to be so much better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotsquine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneBourque, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear scots_quine11,

I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay. I can assure you this is not the standard you can normally expect to recieve here at The Caledonian.

As you have explained we did give you a complimentary upgrade on your arrival and as this was done later in the day we unfortunately didnt get an extra bathrobe in to your room. The bathrobes wouldnt have been present in your original booking of a standard room.

As explained on check-out by my Operations Manager, we took your comments very seriously and as such offered a full refund. The reason this took longer than you may have expected was due to the booking being made through a travel agent who needed to refund your personal card after we had refunded the travel agent the day of your complaint.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you require a room in Aberdeen in the future where we will endeavour to restore your faith in us.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
0.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#5 of 65 in Aberdeen
759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $58 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing