We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel For A Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel For A Wedding”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My hubby and I had the pleasure of getting married in this hotel last week. Its a stunning venue with great staff. All the food that we had was fantastic. There was a few hiccups that were outwith the hotels control but they made sure our day was perfect. Colin Gunn and the events staff done a great job with helping us organise the whole wedding and we both felt very safe in their capable hands.

We really couldn't have asked for more from a wedding venue, and would highly recommend this hotel to any couple looking to get married (the staircase makes for great pictures) or anyone planning any event.

Most of our guest stayed the night in the hotel and everyone commented on how lovely and big the rooms were and the rate for the room for the night which included a great breakfast after a night of dancing.

Thanks again to all the staff at The Caledonian. You all helped to make our day special

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneBourque, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Rebecca M,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your wedding in December.

Its great to hear that Colin and the team made it such a success, I know that he and the team all had a fun day working it. We may be a small property but we have a team with years of experience so Im glad the experience showed.

Dont be strangers, we would all love to see how well the pictures on our lovely staircase turned out.

Thanks and Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    333
    146
    64
    31
See reviews for
81
336
87
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We visited here on Saturday to partake in the Afternoon Tea and were so delighted I felt I had to write a review. The food was fantastic and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. With the hustle bustle of Aberdeen nightlife at this time of year it was fantastic to have somewhere with such a nice atmosphere and delicious cocktails in the city centre. I would also like to give special mention to the cinnamon scones with Clotted cream and jam - they were divine! Definitely a High Tea I will be indulging in again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank futret81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I was in Aberdeen for a night out with some friends who live there. Booked this hotel a few months before the trip and got a good deal.

On arriving, the staff were helpful and friendly.

Unfortunately, our room looked out onto a heating duct, the hotel decor was quite tired looking, it could do with a lick of paint, and we had a problem with our shower which meant it was VERY hot, scalding in fact.
I had to use a shower in a different room and have a bath the following morning.

The TV also didn't work.

On the plus side, the staff were quick to try to rectify the situation and hotel is one of the most central in Aberdeen (minutes walk from some of the shopping centres and theatre).

I just think that if I were to be paying the full price Thistle advertise, I'd be very upset. Really not up to the standard they seem to project.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stewmassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I’ve just had the great pleasure of staying at The Caledonian and although I don’t usually bother much with write-ups, I felt I had to put on record just how good this hotel is. I needed to run a one-day training course and it had to be in Aberdeen – a city I didn’t previously know. I chose The Caledonian as it was very central and looked to have the facilities I needed.

From the moment I arrived I knew I’d made the right decision. It’s a delightful classic hotel from the great Edwardian days which preserves its classic features, such as the magnificent carved mahogany staircase, but has been brought bang up to date in terms of décor and facilities.

My two-day stay was a delight from beginning to end but I must single out two things. First, the staff are incredibly professional and attentive – nothing was too much trouble and every request was attended to immediately. Second, the food is fabulous. The breakfasts are delicious and for dinner I had the best fillet steak I’ve ever tasted, cooked to perfection.

Nicest of all is the air of quite calm and professionalism and the fact that everything worked like clockwork. I was naturally slightly nervous about organising a training course by remote control in a town and hotel I didn’t know, but it all went off perfectly and that was at least partly due to a first rate venue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Milton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Two night stay - very pleased with level of service. Wifi was good coverage and fast speed. Meals were well presented, hot and a good variety to choose from. Room was fine, good modern bathroom. Excellent house keeping service. Good night's sleep and very quiet room. Front desk very helpful in booking taxis and making travel arrangements etc. Location is ideal for city centre breaks.

Only downsides were lack of view (or sunlight) from the hotel window - just looked straight into someone elses room, so kept curtains closed to maintain a bit of privacy. Also, room was a little chilly at times so had to put on an extra layer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

really enjoyed my stay here the reception staff were friendly and helpful and was a marvelous location for christmas shopping, very central. thr room was lovely, clean and comfortable, plenty of tea and coffee, arrived a bit early and asked if i could leave my luggage, and was given my room key, the bathroom was clean, comfortable and warm. all in all i thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and would certainly want to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chastity-floozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at the Caledonia, and again I had a very good stay.
Initially I was allocated a room that was in the middle of the corridor, making it a bit noisy (and I had work to do). I returned to reception and was offered a different room. The reception person was extremely good about it, asking me to check and only change if I wanted - this was the only room available, and was a bit smaller. In my mind it was perfect. Far from others, and for one person, the size was great.
The room also had many sockets, good mirrors (often things that are lacking), a great bed, and lovely shower - perfect.
Room service was piping hot, and breakfast in the restaurant was a good standard too.
If I was to say anything, I would like to see a vegetarian breakfast on offer, and if really picky - Earl Grey tea in the rooms.
All in all, a great place for a business trip, but I'd use for a weekend break too.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#13 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Property: Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing