We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, thin walls”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is nice and has an excellent location in city centre. My only complaint is the walls are very thin and I had a difficult time sleeping, especially on the weekends. The staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chawk303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    329
    145
    61
    30
See reviews for
80
333
86
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We enjoyed our night in the hotel on arrival given an upgrade The staff very friendly and helpful without being overpowering. Very good room at the front with a stunning view over Aberdeen we had never seen before. The bar was OK late evening. Good breakfast wife had poached haddock which is always good to see on a Scottish hotel menu along with Kippers.

We were at the music hall so very handy. The centre of Aberdeen is very busy and noisy on a Friday night or we might just be getting old plenty of reasonable restaurant's and bars. Will defiantly stay their again

Room Tip: Try for a room higher up to avoid traffic noise but you want to be front for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewartdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

After having sampled a few afternoon teas in Aberdeen I have to say this one was by far the best. No more expensive than anywhere else and everything was so fresh and tasty.it is served in the terrace restaurant area and you make your own choice of sandwiches from the menu you can also choose to have a glass of prosecco,a cocktail or a glass of champagne along with your tea or coffee. The selection of cakes and small treats was lovely and sandwiches were served with root vegetable crisps which were a nice change. The hotel are planning festive afternoon teas throughout December so cannot wait to return to sample that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annescott66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneBourque, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Annescott66

I am delighted to hear your feedback our of Vintage Afternoon Tea at The Caledonian. All our cakes and scones are freshly made in house and the menu is changed seasonally to promote the best of Aberdeen always keeping a few firm favourite. We have just launched our festive afternoon tea with Cinnamon Scones, Chocolate Yule and Mini Mince Pies that are in my opinion delicious.

I hope to see you with again the future enjoy more indulgent afternoon teas.

Best Regards

Jane Bourque
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We really like this hotel as it is in the middle of Aberdeen and within walking distance of venues we were visiting.

The staff are always very welcoming and breakfast is first class. I would recommend it as it is very comfortable..

Room Tip: Having stayed a number of times, we found rooms all to be suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alex213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneBourque, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Alex213

Thank you for your kind words following your stay at The Caledonian By Thistle. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay and will as always share this feedback with our teams.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards

Jane Bourque
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Having spent a lot more time in the Caledonian than I have at home this year, it has always proved a welcoming and comfortable place to stay, and I would highly recommend it. Definitely my default choice when in Aberdeen.

The hotel is one of Aberdeens oldest, and therefore a very different character to more modern builds. The rooms and bathrooms have all been recently modernised so it feels nice and fresh while preserving the original character and features, which makes for the best of both worlds.

The menus provide a good choice of food, and the breakfast is excellent.

As always, it is the staff that really make a hotel, so thanks to all the friendly and efficient staff that made staying there a pleasure for the last few months, you know who you are :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iain m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneBourque, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Iain m

I am delighted to read your review following your recent stay with us at The Caledonian By Thistle.

It is our job and pleasure to ensure we offer a warm and welcome stay to all our guests and I am pleased to hear you’re found everything you needed whilst staying with us for an extended stay. I am sure we will be seeing you again soon in the near future.

Again thank you for spending the time to review our property we really appreciate it.

Best Regards
Jane Bourque
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie Scotland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Situated just off Union Street in the centre of Aberdeen the Caledonian is perfectly placed. We stayed for one night on a Saturday and enjoyed our visit. Good points first. Location , staff ( young smartly dressed, polite, efficient and very friendly, especially the young girls on reception), rooms (nicely furnished, comfortable bed, nice and quiet, we were at the back). Now the bad..prices were a little steep. £4 .00 for a pint of excellent Stella not too bad but £8.00 for large glass of wine little bit pricey. We did not have a meal but the breakfast in the morning was fine. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneBourque, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear bigbobski

Thank you for spending the time to review your recent stay.

It’s great to hear the positive comments about the room and service. I will ensure the feedback is filtered to our front line teams that looked after you during your stay with us.

However it is disappointing to hear you through our bar prices were high. We are generally more expensive that the average bar but are priced well within the hotel market ensuring all our guests get value for money.

It is encouraging to hear you will stay again and we look forward to welcoming you.

Jane Bourque
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed overnight on a business trip. The hotel was very good with a comfortable room. The hotel is quite old but has a certain grandeur and is well maintained. Dinner was very good with lovely food and a good choice. Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice. Staff were friendly and very helpful. I would recommend a stay here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneBourque, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear

Thank you for your fabulous review. It is great to hear from returning guests and there rounded experience of The Caledonian By Thistle.

Our suites are perfect for families or the couple wanting more space, and do have exceptional views over Union Terrace Gardens.

I look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Aberdeen.

Best Regards
Jane Bourque
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
1,849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
937 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Property: Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing