We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An expensive lucky dip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have stayed at the Caledonian six times in a year but I think this is my last time.

I have always been concerned about their pricing policy which seems to based upon when Aberdeen is busy the rate is high and when the city is not busy it becomes more reasonable. Therefore the rate can vary between £80 and £180 per person per night. For this you get an entry into a lucky dip for rooms. Sometimes you can get a wonderful sized room with acres of space, closet room and a large en suite, but on the other hand you can also get a 3m x 2m cupboard with the television suspended over the bed (e.g. room 301).

The restaurant can be either described as 'Cafe' style or cold and uninviting, certainly the television on the corner with Sky News is distracting. Breakfast at £15 for 'serve yourself buffet' is one of the most expensive in Aberdeen.

All of the rooms are clean and the housekeeping is excellent. Rooms in the back of the hotel are quiet with no views or in the front they have views of the wonderful skylines of Aberdeen but noisy from street traffic. Wi-fi is chargeable and can be expensive (isn't about time that British hotels started to include free wi-fi as standard?).

The staff are accommodating but coldly efficient. There is free parking for about twenty cars (first come first served). It is central to all the restaurants and pubs in Aberdeen and within walking distance from the train station.

There is better value in Aberdeen, this hotel pretends to play in the premier division but is about to be relegated.

Room Tip: Avoid 301, 4th floor has been refurbished and has the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sorely_idle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Dear Review

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. At Thistle we endeavour to deliver a high level of service, and we apologise that you did not receive this during your stay.

Regarding our pricing policy. The hotels rates do vary with the demand upon our business, which is a strategy that is followed by most industry segments, and indeed by all hotels in the City. In order to ensure fair pricing, the hotel constantly monitors the trends with the city and other businesses. We do advise guests to book in advance to get the best available rate.

In response to our Café Bar Caley. We are currently undergoing some improvement works and hope to be finished by the end of March. If you are in the area on a regular basis I would gladly meet up and discuss these points with you as it would be a shame to lose your valued business.

Regards

Jane Bourque
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 956 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend break in September 2011. The objective was to explore old Aberdeen and the hotel was ideally placed for this. We were able to walk everywhere and it was very central. We enjoyed the setting, looking out over the gardens but within a few minutes of the city centre.
The room was large enough with a good sized bathroom and flat screen TV. Furnishings were modern and comfortable. The staff were all polite and helpful so compliments all round!
The breakfasts were OK - not wonderful and not freshly made but plentiful and were buffet service. We ate out at night and there was a huge choice of restaurants nearby. This was paid by using up Tesco vouchers but I would pay to stay here again.
The car park was very small but once we found a space, the car was left till we left for home!
An enjoyable break altogether!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback.
I am pleased that you have enjoyed your visit while exploring Aberdeen. I will be sure to sure to pass your kind comments on to the team’s and this means a lot.

With regards to our breakfast for convenience for guests we have a buffet breakfast. We also run an A La Carte menu. I will speak with our head chef regarding on how we could improve our breakfast offering.

Thanks again for informing us of your stay.

Jane Bourque
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We used this Hotel on a Bed & Breakfast basis for a Long Weekend in September 2011. The pictures already listed do Justice to the facilities which we found most adequate for our purposes. It was clean although dated and cosy to the warm side, service with a smile we could not fault and never met one member of staff for whom anything was a problem. We cannot comment on the Meals provided as we were always out during the Day and early evening, however the Breakfast catered for all from Full Scottish to Vegan. The only downside we could find was with the Parking, it was indeed limited at the Hotel, and if you had to utilise the nearby council parking areas best budget for about £16 per 24hrs. On the Plus side was definately its location, so central you could reach everywhere by a wee stroll.

Room Tip: If you want a View, only the front will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ploughman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments regarding our team’s service to everyone this is very much appreciated thank you! With regards to the car park we have 20 free car parking spaces for our residents which is on a first come first served basis. Alternatively we have lots of on street and payable parking near by.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Jane Bourque
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Just got home from a long weekend in Aberdeen with 4 other couples staying here. Great Hotel, good service and in a perfect postion for everything. Breakfast was good, and all the stave was friendly.
Being an old hotel there was some movnment and a little noise from the floor boards in some of the rooms on the first floor. A pity that the windows are not double glazed as there was a fair bit of noise from the streets even our room which was a delux on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel we could hear the street nosies. If you are a light sleeper might be better with a room at the back. One of our friends complained and was moved to another rooms without any problem, so the stave are great.

Will most likely stay here again and would certainly stay here if they inprove the noise problem.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brentmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear Reviewer



I am thrilled to hear that you had a great stay, and appreciate you sharing your feedback. As you mentioned we are an old building which comes with its own unique charm. No 2 rooms are the same!

I would like to express my sincere apologies for the noise levels you experienced while staying with us. As we are a central city centre location we do get some noise from the street. All our windows are original sash windows as we are in a conservation area but will take your feedback and board and see what we can do in the future to minimise this.

I will email my contact information to you, and welcome you to contact me personally to make this up to you on a future visit.

Thank you again for your feedback

Jane Bourque
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Loving the cafe area. Remebered my hot chocolate afternoons there. The room was what I expected. Overall loved myself feeling all continetal in the middle of Aberdeen

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to respond and let us know of your stay. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Jane Bourque
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed here in December with a friend for a weekend shopping trip in Aberdeen and found the hotel location fantastic! so close to all the shops and bars.. The hotel was clean and the food was fantastic, I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Aberdeen.. Food is 100% the best ive had in along time! worth a visit..

Room Tip: Deluxe room we booked over looked the union terrace gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback and kind comments regarding our restaurant. We have recently introduced our new menu and we have received some positive results.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you to The Caledonian By Thistle in the near future.

Jane Bourque
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The Thistle is a decently nice hotel, especially for UK standards. The breakfast is completely adequate. Best thing about the Thistle is that it is in walking distance to the Union Street and all of the eating options. I travel to Aberdeen regularly and have tried almost all of the major brand name hotels. I prefer the Thistle over all of the other local options because of the location.

Only complaint is that on one trip the hot water stopped working... in the winter. My shower that morning was freezing. But that can happen at any hotel and I don't hold it against the staff too much as it only happened once.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JW-relaxed-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Firstly thank you for spending time to leave your feedback. It is great to hear that we are your first choice option when staying in Aberdeen. With regards to the water unfortunately our boiler had broken on the morning of your stay and we now have this fixed.

Thank you

Jane Bourque
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
0.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#5 of 65 in Aberdeen
759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $58 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing