We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Ranked #64 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Travelling for work, flying from Aberdeen Airport, I stayed at this hotel. We paid highly for this hotel so to be honest I was expecting a bit of luxury!

Its a huge hotel and a bit of a maze..... food in the restaurant is OK, but as a whole the place is very dated. Trying to call reception (which is also emergency number), only for it to ring out.

Ample, free parking and only a short taxi ride from the airport but don't expect much from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Karen P, the hotel is large and spread out and could do with some refurbishment to bring it more up to date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 799 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

I booked this hotel for our wedding on the 1st of September 2012 and like so many other visitors i too was deeply unimpressed by the receptions staff attitudes on many occassions, yes there is a language barrier problem, but to stand in front of them and be totally ignored for serveral minutes whilst they giggle and shuffle paperwork around is down right rude, I visited the hotel once a week for approx 2 months to keep our wedding planner "Toni" up to speed with forthcoming details of our big day and what a joy it was each time to be met with such a happy, smiling, well presented woman who without any doubt knows and does her job with professionalism and passion for her brides/grooms, our day went without a hitch, the meal was excellent, the manager Neil did us proud with his announcements, kept the wedding party well informed as to how the order of the day was going and even helped us out on the sunday with removing our wedding gifts, floral arrangements etc, overall the rooms could use updating but they did the best job with the tools they had for us, so cheer up reception girls get some experience on customer care, but a huge huge thank you to "Toni and Neil,

Best Wishes from
Linda and Michael
Mr and Mrs McTigue

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Linda, thank you for your comments and I am happy you had a great wedding. Reception should not behave this way and have been spoken too about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel last night and have never stayed anywhere as bad. The whole room smelled of damp and mould, the sink in the bathroom had a very unpleasant smell /coming from it, I used a whole tin of deodorant in the bathroom. The furniture was dated and worn.

I didn't even venture into the bath for a shower as the plug was full of congealed soap and hair stuck through it, with bits of hair over the bottom of the bath as well, there appeared to be a leak coming from somewhere as the floor had puddles.

The food in the evening was look warm and the staff were none too happy or friendly. The breakfast in the morning was not much better, with a "help yourself" being the only comment from the person at the entrance to the restuarant.

All in all not a nice stay, I have already passes on my comments to my company and we will certainly not be sending anyone else to stay there.

The free wifi is non existant too, could not get this to work anywhere in this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Suzanne295, we are currently addressing some of the older bathrooms which do have some issues caused by age.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Aberdeen as a city has a problem that many other cities would relish. There is so much business going on in Aberdeen that hotel accomodation, particularly at short notice is very very difficult to find. In this situation and with collegues having to stay in excess of 100 miles away, I found that there was still availability at the Britannia, its website looks OK with a swimming pool and its location close to Aberdeen airport looks very 'events' orientated.
At £224 per night for a two night stay it was not cheap! ( much more expensive than good hotels in central London)
The place is fairly poor even at reception, I would guess that the last time it was 'updated' was around 1985.
The room was diabolical. The door had many scapes and deep gouges, the shower and bathroom were covered in black mould and massive amounts of silicon sealant applied everywhere. The vanity unit and toilet seat had cigarette burns (remember smoking in rooms was babbed in 2006). The television did not work and the window did not open.
This was all topped off by the area to the side of the bed being covered in crumbs and food from whatever the last guest had eaten in bed. IT HAD NOT EVEN BEEN VACUUMED!
The bed had been changed and the sheets were clean albeit with a few small holes in them.
Reception could do nothing. They had no cleaners on (it was 9pm) they had no maintenance staff and they could not cancel my booking as the central booking system was down.
In the end I gritted my teeth and stayed. Not really relishing a 200 mile round trip to find another hotel that may also be as poor.
At breakfast the seats in the resturant were smeared with grease and the fabric covering stained on all four at my table. The crockery was dirty and the cutlery marked. In the interests of health I decided against breakfast, even the coffee cups were showing the marks of other peoples mouths on the outside.
I again ran through this with Reception who commented that all these problems were Housekeeping and that they had no control over them, as they were seperate from the hotel!!!!
THIS HOTEL IS A DISGRACE TO ABERDEEN AND SCOTLAND.
I had great sympathy with the French family that also decided against eating and were having sandwiches and a flask of coffee in the corridor.
This left over from the 1980's should not be graced with your presence or your money.
I hope that my complaint to the LA Environmental Health Department, (as discussed and confirmed to the hotel) results in this place being removed or improved, vastly improved.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWoods666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear MWoods666, the hotel would benefit from a refurbishment however there is no excuses for dirt and I can only apologise if that was the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

At only £24 per room we did not expect much from this hotel. The reception staff spoke poor English and weren't very welcoming. Our room was situated on the first floor next to the lift which we heard all night! Our room was large and clean however shabby to say the least! Updating the decor would increase customer satisfaction dramatically!! There is a musty smell in the hotel however really we just used this hotel as a place to lay our head after a late night out and didnt use the restaurant or leisure facilities. Wouldn't go back in a hurry unless we needed a cheap place to stay with no frills. Dont expect too much!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrumptiousxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear scrumptiousxx, we do employ foreign staff but their English is generally very good. I am sorry that your room got the noise from the lift but you could have asked to be moved. You are correct in the decor needing updating and it would help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is the worst we have ever stayed in. Check in staff were not to pleasent. Arrived in to a freezing cold room then when we asked if the heating was on we got told to make sure the radiator had been turned on (im a heating engineer) then they told us the heating was not due to come on till 4pm!!!! Whats that all about a hotel that does not give you control of the heating in your room so we had to wait for this time as apparently there was not an override switch. Our room was filthy toilet had not been cleaned and had poo around inside of it mould on bathroom ceiling, last persons sweets and wrappers under bed and window did not lock (on the ground floor).

So we got the next room along along and again mould on ceiling and dirty room. so we got showered then the door got knocked and it was the receptionist saying can we close bathroom door as steam setting of fire alarms i had only been in shower a couple of minutes.

Whe we came back in at night the heating was off again and room freezing, then in the morning the heating came on from 8am to 9am so bearly even heat up room.

It was a JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sells01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear sells01, the heating is on a timer and is controlled with the outside temperature, if we just left the heating on the hotel would be too hot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel doesn't even rate a star; it must be the worst (hotel) place I've ever been in my life.
They even have smoking rooms!!
The Restaurant is a comedy sketch, couldn't make it up.
The dustbin off the world.

Room Tip: Just don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank benitoDalgetyFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear benitoDalgetyFife, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do indeed have smoking bedrooms, these are on the upper floor and are very popular with smokers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,038 reviews
3.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
#43 of 65 in Aberdeen
908 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Aberdeen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#60 of 65 in Aberdeen
484 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Aberdeen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Address: Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: $40 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing