We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish they would spend some money on this place”
Review of Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Station Hotel
Ranked #61 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wish they would spend some money on this place”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel has the ability to be fantastic. Exceptionally large rooms, sweeping staircase, I can imagine that in the past it was a very opulent beautiful place. It would need a lot of money spent to sort it out though - shower poor, not enough light switches or points. Shabby. Aberdeen is so expensive though - this place cost over double what I paid for a much better hotel in Glasgow, and breakfast was extra! It is worth a visit, but don't expect assume that paying over £100 per night guarantees a plush hotel! I was unable to draw the curtains - but it looked as though I overlooked a sort of walled in room with no roof!

Room Tip: Try to get one at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canterbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    100
    107
    83
    107
See reviews for
47
91
61
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

The station hotel is very well located in the heart of Aberdeen, not surprisingly considering its name, close to the train station. The rooms are great and good value for money. The only thing letting this hotel down is the sultry staff. The check-in staff clearly don't like their job and seem to resent having to do anything.

It's seems strange that the owner went to so much trouble and expense in renovating this lovely old building, yet hasn't bothered to ensure a decent level of service by employing people that actual care about what they are doing.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lost_Somewhere_nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here 1 night having been working in Aberdeen and the firm found us a room at short notice.
We ate out in the centre straight opposite excellent choice of restaurants a stones throw away.
Breakfast was a buffet type breakfast and anyone who's read my reviews before will know I'm not a fan of this style of service whilst I understand its less staff intensive food kept in bain maries can be sub standard by the time it reaches your plate especially open air heat lamp types as is at the station hotel. On the plus side breakfast is available ultra early 4:30 AM till 9 AM so if you need to be up and away early for work flight or train then its a great service.
The evening menue wasn't so appealing hence eating out but thats all about personal tastes.
The halls smell old and the overall decor would be best freshened up some time soon. The room was okay however the booking form mentioned a mini bar that I didn't see and the Tea coffee tray was a bit sparce.
My room was on the 4th floor and it was clean and comfortable but it was a twin room.

Overall not an overly bad stay but I've had better that were cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I booked a double room, but was allocatd what can only be described as a top floor box room with a single bed. (room 501).As my girlfriend was to be joining me shortly after, I went to reception to point out the error. I was then given a room which was ancient, (room 330) and the furnishings the same. The decor was decades old, and in a poor state. The room was quite large but only lit by 3 small wall lights, one of which wasn't working. There was no roof light, so this made it impossible to read as it was getting dark outside. I tried to shut the curtains, but none of the two pairs closed properly. To relax myself and calm my mood I poured a bath, then noticed the bathroom looked out onto a busy corridor way leading to a shopping centre. I went to close the blind, but the pullcord was broken, and lying in a pile on the shelf. I managed to force it down, but god knows how the chambermaid was going to get it back up the next day. I then went to make a cup of coffee, but there was no milk on the tray. I phoned reception, and someone came with some around 10 mins later. The room was so bad I phoned my girlfriend to tell her not to come as I was embarrased booking such a shabby hotel for what was supposed to be a nice romantic night. I can honestly say I can find no redeeming factors apart from the location in regard to the rail/bus station.

Room Tip: Dont bother!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gauld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Excellent value ,really good service and wonderful atmosphere.
Will definitely be going back next year and would recommend to anyone.
Have been to Hogmany dances that have been double the cost and they do not compare with the standard of food we received .
Well done to everyone who made it a really good night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed for one night, the lock on my door was broken, looked like the door had been kicked in. Wallpaper actually falling off the wall.

Could not believe how bad this place is.

Seems to be mainly used for poor guys having a night in Aberdeen before going offshore.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffInJavea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Even basic hotels are ridiculously expensive in Aberdeen, but bargains are sometimes available at weekends. On a Saturday night, two weeks before Xmas, I got what they called a "small double", but was actually a decent-sized room, for just £60, single occupancy, right next to Union Square in the city centre. I managed to park on site for free and the full breakfast was incredibly good value at £4. The old Victorian hotel has a few shabby corners where it doesn't matter, but my room (on the top floor) had been recently refurbished. There were only two glitches: the bulb in the light over the bed was blown (I reported this) and the hot water takes a long time to feed through to the bath (even longer to the shower), so be patient. Fantastic value, given the location.

Room Tip: Set the hot water running well before you need it (top floor issue, only?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Aberdeen Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#49 of 65 in Aberdeen
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Property: Station Hotel
Address: 78 Guild Street, Aberdeen AB11 6GN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing