We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel”
Review of Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Station Hotel
Ranked #60 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here last week for a few nights, no good points to write about here I'm afraid, the room had black damp patches all over it, the TV in the room kept cutting out, it was cold, the food was absolutley atrocious, Aberdeen harbour is less than 200 yards from the hotel where they land fresh fish almost every day but the hotel serves frozen fish on its lunch and dinner menus, to say it was disgusting is an understatement, the alleged rib eye steak was also as bad, the three cheese macaroni....ugh, even walking up to the hotel you are met with a wall of scaffold surrounding the facade, god only knows what tourists from abroad must think about the living standards in the north east of Scotland, my advice to them would be stay in Edinburgh

Room Tip: Find another Hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delbhoy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Station Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 472 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

The only reason we stayed here was because we booked at the last minute and couldn't get into Jurys (across the road) or Ibis and wanted to stay in the area.

I guess in its hay day it would have been a grand hotel however this was probably three decades ago.

For starters the level 2 button in the elevator wouldn't work (though with numerous attempts with varying degrees of agression from a certain direction it was possible to select level 2 eventually)

As some others have commented the Wifi signal was really poor - according to reception that since they upgraded to a faster connection it was no longer reliable and the signal was only detectable in ceratin areas.

My TV only worked on one channel and even this cut in and out.

Now for the crunch - the whole hotel is on a serious lean, to the point where a massive steel brace has been fixed the the ground and wall of the hotel, presumably to preent the whole building from toppling over! This is visible from the windows of rooms 201 and 301 (and presumably from 101, 401, 501 etc.) The whole place is on such a lean that you can notice that you are walking uphill. From one end my small room to the other I estimate there was a difference of at least 4 inches / 100mm but probably more. Further evidence of this was the amount of timber they had to remove from the bottom of the wardrobe in order for it to be vertical!

My bathroom also had loose tiles and the corridor to my room was so spungy and creaky it felt like ones feet were about to break through to the ceiling below.

On a positive note, the breakfast was quite reasonable by British hotel standards, especially the scrambled egg. The breakfast staff were quite efficient and polite, as was the Scottish girl on reception of an evening who was quite bubbly and helpful.

It was certainly an interesting experience and in stark comparison to our hotel in Haugesund, Norway where we had stayed the previous night.

I would not opt to stay here again, even though it's a great location and cheaper than others in the area.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slymeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I'm actually still currently in the hotel and it is by far the worst hotel experience of my life. Of course we weren't expecting a 5 star hotel but for the price they are charging something a bit more modern would have been nice! We arrived, checked in and headed to our room. The room was awful, one bed was made whilst the other was upside down and had no sheets on it, there was also a damp corner. They moved us rooms but it took about 15 minutes to find as the hotel is like a maze. I am currentky lying wide awake as it is way too hot to sleep. The staff seem nice but don't seem motivated at all. The whole building is tired as well. The only great thing is the location.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryony17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed in this Hotel for 1 night and it was ok. In it's heyday im sure this was a very nice hotel however its in dire need of a refurbish! Maybe want to look at the price structure - £120 for room only?? Car parking available at back of Hotel which is hard to find (could do with some signage) The room I was in was enormous! 1 double bed and a single. Bathroom was pretty decent as well. The only meal I had was breakfast and it was ok.
The staff where very nice apart from the chap who was at reception when I checked out. Not sure of his name but he really has to get a job he likes!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergies21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had a recent stay at the start of October. First appearences sometimes do count! The hotel decor was tired, and lift floor dirty and stained. Despite friendly staff, the room was atrocious with a stained carpet on our fifth room floor and to add to the ambiance had a used condom on the window ledge - utterly unacceptable.

The heating in the room added to the experience making sleep impossible. Any hope that breakfast would retrieve any element of this experience was soon dashed with the congealed scrambled egg, grease filled sausage and coffee which was utterly undrinkable with a waitress who slammed it down without any civility what so ever.

I will never step foot again in this place and the organisation i work for will never be booking anyone here again ever - avoid it - you can do better elsewhere unless your looking for misery.

Room Tip: try another hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpfitzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Was on a last minute situation. The hotel is located a hill slope and is quite close to the train station, at the town center. That's good for travelers without private transportation. It's a bit old but well kept. My room was straight forward, but my two other colleagues got lost; can you imagine that? Breakfast was good. The reception was very good and was so helpful.

Room Tip: Don't get lost... Ask for a room close to the lifts.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAS3812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I arrived for my stay at the hotel and the first problem was play 'hunt the car park' as it is so badly signposted (The only way I found the overflow car park was to ring the hotel to find out where to park as the car park was full) and then having parked the car there is no obvious way from the car park to the hotel reception without a route march around the outside of the hotel. Check in was a fairly hassle free process. Like most hotels in Aberdeen the Station thrives on the oil industry and as such can charge inflated prices. The station was the only hotel room I could find on Friday after a two search for a stay the following week. Whilst the beds are comfortable the hotel appears to thrive on just getting by. Electrical sockets were lose in the wall, tiling in the bathroom looked like it had been done by an unsupervised trainee and the toilet was difficult to flush. I eat in the restaurant the first night but the food was not great. I had roast chicken, which could be said not to be dry only because of the amount of gravy on the plate. The service was not service, the waitress served the meal without waiting to be asked any question and trying to attract their attention without calling out across the restaurant was impossible. Overall not a great experience for the prices being charged.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Aberdeen Central
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#47 of 65 in Aberdeen
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Address: 78 Guild Street, Aberdeen AB11 6GN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: $52 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing