We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craighaar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craighaar Hotel
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed one night in the Pebble Suite and were delighted with our choice. Check in was simple, the hallway was a little musty but our suite was incredibly clean, spacious and well appointed with a mini bar and DVD player. The sofa was a little uncomfortable, we stayed in and watched a movie and I would have liked a more comfortable seat for this. The bathroom was lovely, clean and had the usual complimentary toiletries. The huge waterfall shower was great, just what I needed. The bedroom was on a mezzanine floor and had another tv, ipod docking station and clock. Our bed was a little on the hard side but I slept fine. Free wifi was fast. The hotel is on the flight path near the airport but even with the window open, this did not bother us. It is also next to the bowling green and I think the bowlers were out late having a party but again a little noise on a Saturday night is to be expected. Breakfast was delicious. A choice of continental, fresh fruits and cereal and a very good cooked selection. I ordered an omelette and was very pleased. Check out was not till 12 which was handy. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    68
    40
    12
    4
See reviews for
23
39
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
sheffield,england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Because of a family emergency my son and I had to find a hotel at short notice and we were very pleased with our choice. Stayed at the Craighaar for 3 nights.The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The hearty breakfast was served by a lovely wee lassie called Shannon(well we were in Scotland). It was plentiful and set us up for the day.
On our 3rd day I had to book a flight back to Manchester which was easy having the free WiFi but I didn't have the facility to print out my e-ticket. Reception staff to the rescue. When I explained the situation to them they were most accommodating and I had my e-ticket in my hand within minutes.
Cannot thank the staff enough for their help at a difficult time.
Please bear in mind that this hotel, although brilliant, is very near the airport, aircraft and helicopter noise is quite loud and frequent between 7am and 10pm.

Room Tip: Quiet through the night, noisy during the day due to planes and helicopters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank san_n_rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed overnight and the hotel delivered on location (for us) parking and wi-fi. Our room was clean but dated. Refurbished bathroom though which was good. The mattress was hard and thin with no support - so I had a bad night. Staff were all friendly and helpful. We paid £120 for 2 for B and B and have had much better standard of room and breakfast. The food was in the restaurant was ok , but limiting for a vegetarian. Breakfast was ok, but croissants could have been fresher. They do a long breakfast but should ensure the buffet is kept replenished. Full marks for cooked breakfast though - better than on a hot plate

Room Tip: All will have aeroplane noise but it goes at night. we had a really long walk right at the end of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was a bit of a random choice which turned out very well indeed as by coincidence it was in the same street as an elderly relative I wished to visit. First class room (15) with a separate seating area - a mini suite I suppose. The en-suite was really a wet room and I have not experienced this in an hotel before - not sure if I liked it - but that is only a minor quibble. We had our evening meal in the hotel restaurant and it was very good, well cooked and served promptly by friendly staff. Breakfast was first class and again the staff were very good. The public rooms in the hotel were undergoing a major refurbishment which appeared to be nearing completion and looked to be a splendid job. Yes it is under the airport flight path but that did not detract in any way from our stay and its proximity to the airport could be an advantage. All in all and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garve, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Excellant value for money especially for Aberdeen. Only stayed the one night but very impressed. Room was clean well kept and had all facilities required. Car parking easy and plentiful. Close to airport. Check in, bar and breakfast service very good by friendly staff. Due to commitments was unable to sample restauarant but menu looked good and if at same standard as breakfast I am sure would be good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

A lovely Hotel with a great location in proximity to Aberdeen Airport.

The Hotel has had recent upgrades in some areas and looks quite good, however other parts of the Hotel are in need of upgrade and the rooms are a little outdated in some cases and its highlighted by the fact the bathrooms are upgraded its like they have run out of money.

However the Hotel rooms are clean spacious and fairly well laid out.
The staff were friendly and helpful and were kept busy throughout our stay with high volume of people in the Hotel.

The Evening meal was very nice the quantity and quality first class and most enjoyable.

I would certainly return again and recommend the Craighaar as a stopover and hopefully my next visit the upgrades will have all been completed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Best restaurant in Aberdeen. Nice friendly staff. No worries about parking as have car park at the front. The food is delicious. Nothing is a bother. I do not like spicy food and this one does not serve it, Plain ordinary Aberdeen food just as you like it. Not in the city centre. We will not go anywhere else. You can stay there if you wish. We stay local.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.0 mi away
Pinehurst Lodge Hotel
Pinehurst Lodge Hotel
#48 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Aberdeen Airport
Courtyard Aberdeen Airport
#24 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Aberdeen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
#11 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.8 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craighaar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craighaar Hotel

Property: Craighaar Hotel
Address: Waterton Road | Bankhead, Aberdeen AB21 9HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Craighaar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Craighaar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craighaar Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing