We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Day stay during offshore Training”
Review of Craighaar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craighaar Hotel
Ranked #48 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed June 25, 2014

A lovely Hotel with a great location in proximity to Aberdeen Airport.

The Hotel has had recent upgrades in some areas and looks quite good, however other parts of the Hotel are in need of upgrade and the rooms are a little outdated in some cases and its highlighted by the fact the bathrooms are upgraded its like they have run out of money.

However the Hotel rooms are clean spacious and fairly well laid out.
The staff were friendly and helpful and were kept busy throughout our stay with high volume of people in the Hotel.

The Evening meal was very nice the quantity and quality first class and most enjoyable.

I would certainly return again and recommend the Craighaar as a stopover and hopefully my next visit the upgrades will have all been completed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlander17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 192 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

Best restaurant in Aberdeen. Nice friendly staff. No worries about parking as have car park at the front. The food is delicious. Nothing is a bother. I do not like spicy food and this one does not serve it, Plain ordinary Aberdeen food just as you like it. Not in the city centre. We will not go anywhere else. You can stay there if you wish. We stay local.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a small but friendly hotel on the outskirts of Aberdeen which is handy for the airport and for touring Deeside and beyond. On arrival we were made to feel very special with a warm Scottish welcome. Our room was good and the food served at breakfast was freshly made to order. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay .

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here after a quick search and the rates were very reasonable. Very helpful staff on arrival. Room was very nice, Double bed was on the small side but room looked as if it had been refurbished recently. Breakfast was really nice with a large choice and available for a very civilised time on the Sunday. There is not much nearby to do but a courtesy bus to Airport and local station is available. Free WiFi is the simplest and best I have ever come across. I would recommend the hotel to anyone

Room Tip: All seem to be good, no views because of location. If you want to see the carpark an even room numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Booked a weekend break for my birthday. Spent ages looking at online deals and booked here based on the modern rooms. How wrong could we be. Booked in and off to the room. Best description would be country kitchen Laura Ashley 80s bedroom and a newish bathroom. Bizarre but fair enough the hotel are going through a refurbishment programme. BUT this is not what I booked. Weekend was nice, breakfast was good. One point and a major one is the floorboard creak like no ones business and the doors bang every time makes sleep impossible. Beds are ancient and not the most comfortable. I held off making this review as I emailed the hotel and a week later not heard a thing, shame on you. I went to check out and explained our issue to the reception chap with the high pitched voice and was shrugged off but he could take me to show me a refurb room now if I had a time, what a cheek! I said no thanks I wanted that room for this hotel. NO response from the management team is a disgrace.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evievi123139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertaberdeen, director at Craighaar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We did get an email from this customer; it was replied to the following day.
The main thrust of the email was the absence of a minibar in the room; our suites have minibars, but the other rooms do not; nor do we advertise our rooms as having them. They seemed to have enjoyed their weekend and stay; the bathrooms in the exec rooms are all bespoke new from Laings; a 4 star bathroom in a 3 star hotel; and the room does have free wifi and flat screen tv, and ipod dock.
No mention was made of the bed or a " floorboard" in the email; any such comments at the time would have been looked into.
We received no follow up email to our response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. A very nice room and good staff. However the food is poor. My main and starter were both below average. Two colleagues said the same. There is a nice tandoori around the corner though.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Richb2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Its quite an average hotel as they go, i would rather a premier inn to be honest. The rooms are reasonable but some have very think walls. I think you could lift the carpets and loose many thousands of screws fixing the floorboard creaks too. Its not realy bad, but would not rate as really good either... Pretty average, but quite clean and tidy .... it does the job!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Preston_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
4.2 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#49 of 65 in Aberdeen
676 reviews
3.6 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dunavon House Hotel
Dunavon House Hotel
#43 of 65 in Aberdeen
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Aberdeen Bucksburn
2 mi away
Pinehurst Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craighaar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craighaar Hotel

Address: Waterton Road | Bankhead, Aberdeen AB21 9HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $86 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craighaar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Craighaar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craighaar Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing