We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Craighaar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Craighaar Hotel
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here after a quick search and the rates were very reasonable. Very helpful staff on arrival. Room was very nice, Double bed was on the small side but room looked as if it had been refurbished recently. Breakfast was really nice with a large choice and available for a very civilised time on the Sunday. There is not much nearby to do but a courtesy bus to Airport and local station is available. Free WiFi is the simplest and best I have ever come across. I would recommend the hotel to anyone

Room Tip: All seem to be good, no views because of location. If you want to see the carpark an even room numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    70
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
26
39
14
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
361 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Booked a weekend break for my birthday. Spent ages looking at online deals and booked here based on the modern rooms. How wrong could we be. Booked in and off to the room. Best description would be country kitchen Laura Ashley 80s bedroom and a newish bathroom. Bizarre but fair enough the hotel are going through a refurbishment programme. BUT this is not what I booked. Weekend was nice, breakfast was good. One point and a major one is the floorboard creak like no ones business and the doors bang every time makes sleep impossible. Beds are ancient and not the most comfortable. I held off making this review as I emailed the hotel and a week later not heard a thing, shame on you. I went to check out and explained our issue to the reception chap with the high pitched voice and was shrugged off but he could take me to show me a refurb room now if I had a time, what a cheek! I said no thanks I wanted that room for this hotel. NO response from the management team is a disgrace.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evievi123139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertaberdeen, director at Craighaar Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We did get an email from this customer; it was replied to the following day.
The main thrust of the email was the absence of a minibar in the room; our suites have minibars, but the other rooms do not; nor do we advertise our rooms as having them. They seemed to have enjoyed their weekend and stay; the bathrooms in the exec rooms are all bespoke new from Laings; a 4 star bathroom in a 3 star hotel; and the room does have free wifi and flat screen tv, and ipod dock.
No mention was made of the bed or a " floorboard" in the email; any such comments at the time would have been looked into.
We received no follow up email to our response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. A very nice room and good staff. However the food is poor. My main and starter were both below average. Two colleagues said the same. There is a nice tandoori around the corner though.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richb2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston_traveler
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Its quite an average hotel as they go, i would rather a premier inn to be honest. The rooms are reasonable but some have very think walls. I think you could lift the carpets and loose many thousands of screws fixing the floorboard creaks too. Its not realy bad, but would not rate as really good either... Pretty average, but quite clean and tidy .... it does the job!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Preston_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Excellent weekend at Craighaar hotel. Third time we have stayed bed and breakfast. Didn't have the dinner there but breakfast really good. Lovely hotel near the airport well looked after would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 3 nights here. Not in the nicest location (unless you want to be near the airport) but spotlessly clean, comfortable, good, reasonably priced, food and perfect as a base for travelling around the area as we were doing. Staff were efficient, friendly and welcoming.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

As Area President of the The Association of Speakers Clubs it was my task to choose a venue for our annual dinner which has 30-40 attendees from all over Aberdeenshire. Having looked at some of the positive reviews from individual travellers I contacted the Craighaar and they were able to accommodate us.
We had our dinner last night and I would recommend this as a venue to any other small club or society looking for a venue for a dinner. The Hotel had taken the trouble to find out a little about our organisation and customised the menus to suit. The room looked elegant and inviting - we had round tables, but other options are available. We had chosen an inexpensive menu, but the food was excellent, nicely presented, and there were lots of clean plates! The staff were polite and helpful, and our members were full of praise for the hotel.
Another bonus was that the hotel were able to accommodate guests who needed to stay over and there is a generous sized car park!
A great venue - give it a try!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TootTootTootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.9 mi away
Pinehurst Lodge Hotel
Pinehurst Lodge Hotel
#50 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Aberdeen Airport
0.9 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#36 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dunavon House Hotel
Dunavon House Hotel
#37 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
3.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#16 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craighaar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craighaar Hotel

Property: Craighaar Hotel
Address: Waterton Road | Bankhead, Aberdeen AB21 9HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Craighaar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Craighaar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craighaar Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing