We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 day business stay.”
Review of Craighaar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Craighaar Hotel
Ranked #47 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed November 14, 2013

It had been 20yrs since I last stayed at the Craighaar and what I remembered most was the excellent food, well it has not changed the food was excellent if you discount the steaks, the chefs thing is obviously fish and seafood, I would have liked to stay another night just to try another of his dishes. The hotel hasn't changed much in the time I've been away but is clean and the staff are bright and helpful , the bar has an excellent range of good whiskeys and beers.
The one draw back is it's proximity to the flight path into the airport and you may be wakened by early morning flights. Having said that it was a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Craighaar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 188 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

September 2013, the Craighaar Hotel hosted our wedding reception and they did a fabulous job. When we were looking for a small, intimate reception venue, where we could have the people that really matter to us, the Craighaar Hotel delivered just that.

We turned up a bit late after our wedding service and they didn’t kick up a fuss and they went out of their way to accommodate us at every point. The meal that they served us was first class, a lot of people said to us it was one of the best wedding meals they had ever had. The staff were polite and very helpfully, especially George the manager.

If you want a small (less than 50 people) wedding, then we would recommend the Craighaar Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had suite, a cute little two floor room!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinSammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Last minute booking after travelling to the mainland as an escort with a family member for a routine hospital appointment, with no availability on last flight home we needed to overnight in Aberdeen. Staff managed to rearrange rooms so that we could get a twin room, which was immaculate. Had an excellent dinner and breakfast in the restaurant where the staff were very pleasant and attentive. Reception staff were extremely helpful and assisted in arranging transport for us in the morning.
All in all the staff were brilliant, with service above and beyond the call of duty. Would definitely recommend the Craighaar!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19US67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here recently to allow me to attend a party in town as I didn't want to drive home.

This beautiful hotel is faultless. Everything you expect from a hotel. Breakfast was delicious, room was immaculately clean, bed was incredibly comfortable. Lovely evening sun lighting great views over the neighbouring bowling club, while the bowlers played a few games. A pleasure to watch them. Planes and helicopters enroute to landing at the airport were virtually un-noticeable.

I will stay here again. Without a doubt it is a jewel in Aberdeens crown.

Well done to all the staff who were knowledgeable and efficient as well as very friendly without being intrusive. They hit the right note.

Thank you very much for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LillianBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

stayed in this hotel found the rooms on the small side but the staff where very helpful &pleasant
breakfast was very good car parking ok but as a disabled driver parking limited due to staff takiing the only place but would say we will return again would recommend it for value for money

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoff461658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

we stayed here for one night at the end of august for a friends wedding celebration we thought it was really good value for money for bed and breakfast the room was very clean and nicely furnished and the breakfast in the morning was excellent the girl on the reception was very nice and friendly would definatlay recommend this hotel the only downside with it being near the airport there were plenty aeroplanes and helicopters flying by

Room Tip: we were on the first floor and the room was good
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 185diane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, it's great that its near the airport, the staff in the hotel are always friendly and easy to talk to. The breakfast is really good nice to start the day with a full belly. Overall really nice hotel :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.9 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#38 of 65 in Aberdeen
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Aberdeen Bucksburn
2.0 mi away
Pinehurst Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cults Hotel
Cults Hotel
#49 of 65 in Aberdeen
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Aberdeen Airport
Courtyard Aberdeen Airport
#20 of 65 in Aberdeen
304 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Mariner Hotel
The Mariner Hotel
#37 of 65 in Aberdeen
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craighaar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craighaar Hotel

Address: Waterton Road | Bankhead, Aberdeen AB21 9HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $82 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craighaar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Craighaar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craighaar Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing