We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average but pleasant”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, quiet and well appointed room in the Platinum Club which requires exiting the main building of the hotel and crossing to the Club. Very pleasant and efficient desk staff in both the main building and Platinum Club. It was a pity that my swipe card did not work to allow me to re-enter the main building so I had to walk around the front of the hotel to get in. The exterior main entrance is the first impression anyone has of this hotel which is a shame because it rather lets down the rest of the hotel. It is scruffy, poorly kept and is clearly only viewed as the smokers' meeting place. I guessed this because of bulging fag bin and fag ends littering the floor at the main entrance. Spruce up the main entrance Doubletree and create the proper impression for this pleasant hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemant M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your positive comment on staff, I am delighted that my team looked after you well, its always encouraging for being acknowledged for hard work / job done well, and I will certainly share your comment with all my team. we definitely agree with all you said about platinum club as this is beautiful part of Doubletree by Hilton Aberdeen and in very much in demand by our guests.

Currently we are in the middle of ongoing refurbishment and can assure we have a plan to make a separate area / shelter for our smoker guests.

I am pleased you overall enjoyed your stay at Doubletree by Hilton and I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards
Hemant Markanday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    390
    265
    142
    87
See reviews for
232
444
72
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at a few Hilton Hotels and although there aren't many similar rated hotels in Aberdeen and because it is obviously booked up well in advance, NOTE! Nice friendly welcome, complete with chocolate cookie, I ended up with a premium room over looking the front of the hotel with a sea view. Room was very warm and it was needed due to the fact that it had been snowing hard ,the temperature was dropping still.

When down stairs in the bar, I did think that the rooms with a window over the main bar area might suffer if there was any noise, but all in all I thought the two nights I stayed were good.

The hotel is quite close to the centre of Aberdeen, approx 10 mins walk to Union Street, for all the bars and restaurants. Will be returning again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JJWhitmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good location for city centre with ample free parking. My stay did not however start well ( even with the free cookie) because due to a mix up between the internet booking company and the hotel ( neither admitted responsibility ) they did not have my reservation. They did find me another hotel at the last minute for my first night but it was twenty miles away!
Room upgrade to platinum was some compensation but no free wi fi really? in this day and age?
Tried dinner in the hotel and service was excellent but my main course fish pie was awful utterly tasteless with oatmeal scattered on the top and served with a side salad for 16 quid.
Without doubt the worst attempt at a fish pie I have ever encountered.
Overall very nice rooms and good value (if you don't need wifi) but don't eat there. Lots of good places to eat within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chompercharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoeburyness
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Aberdeen is busy, the oil industry dominates the city and hotel beds are at a premium. The Doubletree by Hilton is well place overlooking the sea and on the face of it is appealling. Nice reception and bar, good first impressions. You will note that around the hotel are well worn posters advising of a refurbishment of bedrooms. They are not recent posters and rooms are shabby, tired and basic. I stayed this week along with seven colleagues and we all had poor experiences. For £150 per room per night I did not expect broken lights, wardrobe door jammed open and broken, chipboard bedroom furniture broken and extensively chipped, poor work space and cracked wash basin. Housekeeping was poor and breakfast awful. Eggs to be avoided. The attrium bar echos the sound of chat which is heard in all rooms surrrounding the center area. The beer pumps were out of action on day three, maybe a ploy to limit the thirsty oil workers who are previlent. Avoid.

Room Tip: Face the road not the centre where the bar is. And in the section where the air crew are placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShoeburynessTolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

laurencekirk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

we were upgraded to platinum club for a small fee, but still felt as though we were in cattle class. room lovely though, breakfast excellent, but chamber maid was the only one who actually behaved as if she was being paid to make us feel welcome. if customer service is not on your list of priorities, then this will be an enjoyable stay; facilities are great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob69Laurencekirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel, booked by the company at short notice. This was my fourth stay at the same hotel in its different guises over the years.

Reading other reviews of the hotel, it is clear that those who stay in the Platinum rooms have by far the better opinions, and I'd agree with their views. This time I stayed in a Classic room, which is comfortable but by no means modern nor luxurious. I'd echo the views of several fellow travellers; the heating is awful and despite leaving the heating on 24 hours a day, I had to sleep almost fully clothed to prevent freezinf to death. This really has to be resolved - don't stay in the winter!

Further, it's about time that British hotels understand what a 4-star hotel should look like; its not acceptable these days to have to pay a further GBP10 per day for internet, there should be adequate storage for clothes, apart from a wardrobe, there should be a modern bathroom etc etc. Hilton - learn from your hotels overseas and make the changes! Finally, please stop claiming to have satellite TV and then provide 1* channels - you need to differentiate yourself from the other hotels in the city, and provide CNN, Bllomberg, CNBC, and more sport channels. It's now a global industry, with guests from far afield.

Otherwise, my stay was very good, especially the bar and reception staff who were very attentive and helpful. Contrary to many, I quite enjoyed breakfast and the bar dinners, which I had on 3 occasions.

All in all, I would probably stay here again, but not before trying some of the other alternatives - by comparison to the Carmelite and the Hilton Treetops, which I stayed in recently, this was the best, but there is room for improvement.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burenye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel last weekend because we were attending a family wedding. We booked a our room through Expedia because we found a cheaper rate than the hotel could offer, despite the hotel no doubt charging the newlyweds thousands of pounds for hosting their wedding.
The room was comfortable and clean but small and certainly not the standard of other 4 star hotels we have stayed in. The room had a dangerous trip hazard as you enter the wardrobe and bathroom areas so beware!! I tripped and smacked my head off the inside the cupboard which meant I attended the wedding with a bruised forehead.
The bar prices were high (e.g.£5 for a single vodka and coke) so if you are attending a wedding make sure you take lots of money.
Despite fleecing us all night the hotel couldn't offer us a post function drink in a Residents Bar....because they do not have one. I guess there may be a Residents Bar in Platinum Room Area but I see this as another ploy to squeeze even more money from guests.
The breakfast was also pretty average.

G Forbes

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GF0rbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
1.0 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Beach Boulevard, Aberdeen AB24 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Doubletree Aberdeen City Centre
Hilton International Aberdeen
Patio Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Hotel Patio
DoubleTree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing