We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Platinum Club is it value for money?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed three nights - Saturday 11/2 to Tuesday 14/2. Staff all very pleasant. Restaurant food patchy with some quite poor for any price. My room was advertised as having a sea view. I could see the sea but only by standing at the window and looking oblquely to the north. My normal view was the fun fare. The Platinum Club is no substitute for the executive floor at Hilton hotels. Reception staff particularly in the Platinum Club very professional definitely. the equals of executive lounge staff. I had an issue with a misleading description on the wine list that was capable of being handled in a more customer-centred manner though it was resolved when I queried some omission from my bill for which I should have been charged but originally was not. Woman waiter who dealt with us very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoobytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

I expected better from the Hilton Brand.

Very basic rooms which are looking very shabby although I do believe some rooms are being refurbished. My room had no bedside lamps. It took 3 trips from the duty manager (who was very helpful) to get it sorted.

Service on arrival was very transactional, no welcome, smile or advice on eateries or leisure centre etc.

I ate in the restaurant. It's grim, quite dark and only 2 of us on a Wednesday evening. The food was ok but I would not reccomend it. Probably better to go to a Pizza Express or another regular chain where you can guarantee an atmosphere and value for money.

Breakfast was good although why do they think dried up fried eggs are acceptable on the buffet.

Excellent service in checking out in the morning with very helpful directions into town.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majorsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed here 1 night partly visiting family and partly catching up with paper work. I had a great rest, enjoying the sea views and easy walks plenty to do nearby and Aberdeen is a good city for shopping in.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Examiner2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

The Platinum Club is a product that offers our guest the chance to get away from it all. The Club is a seperate building with its own reception bar and restaurant, Our Platinum Club has many regular visitors who return for all the reasons you have mentioned, Thank you for taking the time to respond,

Regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed 1 night on business. Very comfortable and quiet. Food was very good and service was very attentive.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

I am so pleased you have a great time at the DoubleTree by Hilton, Aberdeen City. A huge thank you for taking the time to report on your stay with us, the team at the Hotel will look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed on one of the standard rooms. Surprised to find one of the old stile televisions in the room with poor reception, was expecting a flat screen. Facilities otherwise excellent. Enjoyed our stay but not sure if we will stay in one of the standard rooms again as they are in need of new carpets and ensuite refrurbishment.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeloveslinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to report on your visit, the classic rooms that you stayed in are now being upgraded, we have began phase one of this exciting plan. On your next visit please request a refurbished room or why not try either our Premier or Platinum Rooms, we are very lucky to have several room types to suit all bubgets, have a look on the web site for further details or please feel free to call the hotel direct for any more information.

Regards

John Karwl-Jackes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Overnight stay for a night out nice clean place near town centre good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G3VVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Dear guest

I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel, The Hotel has a great team of people and as a general manager I am very lucky to work with such a good bunch. I will pass on your kind words as this helps to lift spirits.

Kind Regards

John Karwl-Jackes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I had the good fortune to stay in the Platinum section. Huge, well furnished room, excellent courteous service and good food. I must have arrived at a busy time as checking in was rather slow but the size and standard of the room more than made up for it. The staff were consistently helpful and polite throughout. If you find yourself needing a room in Aberdeen you could do much worse than this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjmoorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn
Jurys Inn
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,197 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre

Address: Beach Boulevard, Aberdeen AB24 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $76 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Doubletree Aberdeen City Centre
Hilton International Aberdeen
Patio Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Hotel Patio
DoubleTree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing