We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good deal”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Overnight stay for a night out nice clean place near town centre good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G3VVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear guest

I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel, The Hotel has a great team of people and as a general manager I am very lucky to work with such a good bunch. I will pass on your kind words as this helps to lift spirits.

Kind Regards

John Karwl-Jackes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    391
    265
    142
    87
See reviews for
232
445
72
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
81 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I had the good fortune to stay in the Platinum section. Huge, well furnished room, excellent courteous service and good food. I must have arrived at a busy time as checking in was rather slow but the size and standard of the room more than made up for it. The staff were consistently helpful and polite throughout. If you find yourself needing a room in Aberdeen you could do much worse than this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmoorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have stayed here before but in a platinum room which was beautiful. This time we were in a classic room and it was ok but not that great. The room was clean, bed and bedding comfortable. The carpet in our room (and in the corridor) was pretty dirty. Heater in bedroom didn't appear to be working and broken trim on dressing table. In the bathroom there were cracks in basin and shower head not very good. In the corridor the paintwork looked grubby. The breakfast was nice and staff friendly. I agree with a previous reviewer in that there are better places to stay in Aberdeen for the same price or less. We picked this hotel for convenience as we were attending an event nearby.

Room Tip: go for the platinum rooms as classic rooms pretty poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJM2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for returning to the DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen, we have a great property and I feel that we have a lot to offer our travellers, I will agree with you that the Platinum Club is a wonderful product with most of the rooms looking out to the beach and to the sea, as I have previously explained our classic rooms are undergoing a full refurbishment which will offer our guests more of a variety at the DoubleTree by Hilton, Aberdeen City.
Please do use the hotel on your next visit to Aberdeen and on your arrival please do ask to see one of our new rooms as they are coming on daily,
Regards
John Karwl-Jackes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed on 31st December at a cost of £120 for one night B&B and were attending Hogmanay dance nearby. We were shocked to find filthy carpets, decor and furniture that could be expected of a poor 2 star hotel. Room was freezing even after 2 hours. Staff were helpful, provided a noisy portable heater and apologised but no other rooms available to transfer. When we touched the cables to the lamps the light worringly flickered on and off. The trim around the light shades were hanging off. Sockets for TV etc were all hanging from an adapter which was just messy and felt unsafe. On top of it all there was no hot water for a shower or bath before going out. Apparently there was a high demand that evening for hot water! A letter to the manager via their website didn't even bring about an acknowledgement, def won't be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MojoAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback I am disappointed to hear that your experience at New Years Eve was not a good one. The Classic room you stayed in I am pleased to tell you has now just been refurbished; all this room type is undergoing a major program to bring them up to date with the rest of the Hotel, we are very lucky to have our own in house team working on them just now.
Please do come back and use the hotel for your next visit to Aberdeen and let us show you that we are a great place to stay with a great leisure facility and wonderful bedrooms
Regards
John Karwl-Jackes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We booked a two-night break here from January 18-20 for a double special occasion - my wife's birthday was on January 19, and we wanted a special treat before she goes into hospital on January 23 for hip replacement surgery. We paid £304 for two nights bed and breakfast. It was not a four-star experience. The room was ok, comfortable bed and good double glazing. the basin in the bathroom had more cracks than basin. The television picture was abysmal, and the remote control only worked for volume - not for channel change. The hotel also lost our credit card details - resulting in a "snotty" letter under the door, asking us to provide these details, which had been provided on check-in. Sadly it appears that this hotel is yet another in Aberdeen which gets its money too easily via the oil industry. The worst aspect was that a good friend arranged to have a birthday card dropped off for us. It disappeared into what appears to be total managerial incompetence. We would have liked to have seen the card. There are better places to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one which has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisstewart9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a response, if I could please ask you to contact me directly regarding the matters you have raised as without some information it is hard to write my findings. The team at the hotel are committed to ensuring our guests receive the best service and it is disappointing to hear if we have got it wrong, this is why it is vitally important that we investigate every claim so that we can see where training we need to develop further for the guests overall experience.
I look forward to hearing from you in the future,
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I booked in advance for the weekend of the Your Wedding Show at the AECC Aberdeen. I found out why I got such a great deal in the middle of January - this excellent hotel was deserted. It is ideally situated for getting to and from the AECC Exhibition Centre (provided you use the Beach Boulevard road) 2 miles away. It is a short 10 min walk from the Queens Link Cinema and eateries. Although it claims to be in the city centre, you will have a 20 min walk to get to Union Street. The evening meal (except for the lack of vegetables!!!) and breakfast in the restaurant where excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words, we have a good relationship with the AECC as being so close and with plenty of parking we have always proved popular for whatever event you are attending. I find in general our location offers our guests the best of both worlds.
The DoubleTree by Hilton Standard for breakfast seems to be a hit; the brand over the last couple of years has tried many varieties of products and I feel the combination really works giving the traveller a great start to the day, we hope to see you next year for the wedding exhibition.
Kind Regards
John Karwl-Jackes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2011

with so much choice in aberdeen to have a well deserved christmas get together
i opt for the hilton double tree.( fantastic decision i might add)
with no real idea of what i wanted i was only asked for number of guests and budget.
from the canapes on arrival ( oysters especially) to the meal and entermainment which i might add that the managment and staff catered to all our needs with out any input from myself was outstanding and flawless.

well done double tree
wishing you all a happy new year in 2012

highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
1.0 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Beach Boulevard, Aberdeen AB24 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Doubletree Aberdeen City Centre
Hilton International Aberdeen
Patio Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Hotel Patio
DoubleTree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing