We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad show”
Review of The Coffee House

The Coffee House
Ranked #4 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are an independent lunchtime destination serving well priced freshly made soup and sandwiches from same day baked organic bread using local ingredients and quality ingredients where the filling is not local. Our soups are made on the premises same day as are all our cakes. Our coffee is roasted locally (one street away) and we don't use preservatives. We aim to provide quality and taste with a smile. Do come try us. We look forward to seeing you. The Coffee House Team.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad show”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Don't serve sandwiches til after 12 noon? Bad show Coffee House, NOT one of the changes for the better. Chose cheese scone instead. Tasted the raising agent but certainly not the cheese. Coffee not so strong either. I can see now why what used to be a really busy place is now a lot more quiet. Plenty more places to choose from nearby.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReidFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calum230, Owner at The Coffee House, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Customer,

Please accept my apologies for not replying to you earlier. Since your visit we have re-introduced serving sandwiches and soup from 11.30am. We have also improved our scones and coffee. Accordingly we would like you to try us again. Can I offer you free scones and coffee for two to encourage you back. My email is calumyoungsmith@gmail.com or text me on 07905160695.

I do hope to hear from you.

Best Regards.

Calum (co-owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    100
    33
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cold coffee, full of froth and no milk!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A nice cafe but the coffees needs some work! Ordered a latte and it was mostly froth. You needed to eat it with a spoon, not drink it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Visited this week with my wife for coffee and a scone. We have been here several times over the time our daughter has been at Aberdeen Uni and we have always had good food and excellent service. The venue itself is as others say 'Very Relaxing' highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ratnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Relaxing cafe”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nice little cafe with good breakfast and lunch style menu. Quick service, and clean, simple interior with lots of natural light makes this a perfect spot to read or work or chat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank enur1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice soup and sandwich combo, good cakes”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

this is a great place for a soup and sandwhich lunch, and it also does great cakes. however, if you come during lunch time the soup smell can be strong and offputting for coffee drinkers. furthermore, it can get a little noisy at times, but when quieter it's a comfy spot to hang out. free tap water, which i always rate highly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee House also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing