We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sai Gon

Sai Gon
Ranked #373 of 660 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

great all you can eat restaurant. the smoked corn chicken is delicious. for the price you pay its a bargain. as much starters as you want followed by soup then duck and then main courses. pick as much dishes off the menu as you wish. enjoyed every dish me and my gf ordered.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stereo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    21
    15
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“OK buffet-style restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Slightly disappointed by the food after my somewhat limited, but very positive previous experience of Vietnamese cooking. Got a discount deal, so can't quibble about the cost - if I'd paid the full £21.80 I would have eaten twice as much I guess. Tiger beer £3-00ish a bottle - not extortionate - and deal included the first drink comped.

Pleasant, lively atmosphere and the staff were friendly and polite.

Had a slightly suspicious tasting squid dish in the mix - tasted very ammoniacal, as if left out of the fridge slightly too long. Apart from that, food was reasonable for the style/price of the restaurant - not entirely convinced as to all of its Vietnamese origin - bit of an oriental mish-mash.

Would visit again if going as part of a group (so it can't have been too bad!) but would probably go elsewhere if choosing for myself.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyBTKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonhill, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

On reading some reviews we wondered if we had done the right thing booking this restaurant, yes the decor is not the best and the carpet has seen a lot of traffic but so have a lot of places, we arrived earlier than our booking time but even on a busy Saturday we were shown to a table right away. We went for the all you can eat option and were well impressed by the choice and the recommendations from the serving staff, the starters were plentiful and we were asked a few times if we wanted more, yes the dishes were a bit on the small side but if we required some more these were brought to the table by the friendly staff. The table was quickly cleared and the main courses arrived without any fuss, one of our friends asked for some more ribs but they were still a bit cold when brought to the table ( microwaved we think) when this was pointed out they brought more to him but again some were cold at one end. I think I would have paid slightly more and had a choice of 1 sweet included with the meal, but all in all good value , we will be going back as we enjoyed this restaurant .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great little restaurant. We have been here many times with family, as a couple and as a family with a little 14 mth old. The last time we went was October I think. Everything was as usual. Busy Saturday night, service was quick and efficient. Food was great! The corn chicken is absolutely amazing! Could eat it all day and night! Only bad thing was one of the waiters had a waiters nightmare and spilled some water on one of our guests at the table! Oops! These things happen though. It wasn't too bad and they sorted it straight away.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Calum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

At the cheaper end of the spectrum as Aberdeen dining goes, Sai Gon does a lot to impress.
The "all you can eat" menu (I think it's the blue one) is the one to go for, as although some dishes are a bit on the small side, you can order as many dishes as you want. This works out to be excellent value.
By nature of Vietnamese cuisine many of the dishes are sweet, sticky and very sugary. This is not a negative point at all, it just limits how much you can consume unless you have a very sweet tooth.
Service was truly excellent, our empty plates were taken away and replenished frequently. The waiting staff are very polite, taking the drinks order with good humour and speed whilst recommending dishes to go for.
Value for money is excellent. The drinks are slightly above average priced but this is not a major issue.
Overall, I have been on numerous occasions and whilst walking around looking for somewhere to eat nearby Crown Terrace I am always very temped by Sai Gon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrAngry2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sai Gon also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Sai Gon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing