We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast in Aberdeen, Scotland”
Review of Aurora Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aurora Guest House
Ranked #5 of 102 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Bed and Breakfast in Aberdeen, Scotland”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in Aurora Guest House for an entire week while on vacation in Scotland in May and it couldn't have gone any smoother. I think Pam and Dave have thought of everything! There is a great list of things to do and places to go in the front room. Our room was very clean and comfortable and refreshed daily. The area was very peaceful and breakfast was always a terrific start to our day. We're still trying to adjust back to the food back home and trying to figure out how to incorporate more of what we experienced there at home - we really got spoiled at the B&B and in Aberdeen. The toasted buttery was a real treat!

The location is great - very easy to catch a bus or cab to nearby attractions or areas.
There is also a grocery store, pizza place, and an ATM within quick walking distance. For a nice dinner - there are several options also within walking distance but a day pass for the bus will allow you to go just about anywhere you want.

I could list a dozen other great things about our trip but it wouldn't have been as big of a success if we hadn't had a great place to stay and recharge when we weren't out on the town. Since we didn't know anyone there - it was very nice that Pam and Dave offered their advice when we asked.

Hello to Pam and Dave from Kentucky!

Room Tip: Just tell Pam and Dave what you're looking for or what you need and they'll do their best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
What a pleasure it was to have you stay. You were so appreciative of all our suggestions and it was nice to hear your feedback of what you had enjoyed during the day. Hope all your flights connected in time and you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Many thanks for your lovely presents and for taking the time to put in such a lovely review. You were just the perfect guests.
Regards
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
41
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

i dont write reviews, but i know aberdeeens hard to find decent vallued accomodation, i was new to aberdeen and brought my car the host met me at the door and helped me park my car ,lovely rooms proper felt comfortable, the breakfast was fantastic ready for when you stipulate consideration taken to just about waving you off to work, they really helped me when i was desperate for a bed and were ina postion where they bent over backwards to give me a room as required, location is great for work (altens),amenities ,supermarket 24hr and sound sleep i am sorry for the delay in posting this but recommend this b&b 10./10

Room Tip: let them know your driving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
So glad we made a lasting impression on you. We know people have busy lives and weeks go past without realising. It is nice to know that even after all this time you still think about us and that we are getting things right. We are only too glad if we can juggle people about to fit them in. Sometimes it means moving from room to room but as you say, Aberdeen is sometimes impossible to get a room. Many thanks and we really appreciate you taking the time to review us.
Regards
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My sister and I stayed for a weekend and were made welcome by David and Pamela.Lovely room .The fudge on the table was delicious when making our choice for breakfast !!Central for city and would stay again without a doubt

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you and so glad you enjoyed the Scottish tablet. You said that the fudge and the raspberry jam reminded you of the Xmas parcels as children. Every time I make the tablet it still reminds me of my brother and I scraping out the pot with the leftovers. Hope you have been tempted to try and make one of them when you got home. Many thanks for taking the time to review us.
Regards
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross-on-wye, england
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Our plane was delayed so we didn't arrive till 10pm but our welcome couldn't have been warmer. It seems nothing is too much trouble for Pam and Dave.
Breakfast is delicious. Dave was a chef and it shows. Lots of homemade goodies - pancakes, jams, butteries (a Scottish flat croissant-type delicacy). And excellent sausages and bacon. Oh of course free range eggs with the deepest orange yolks, served soft like they should be.
The bedrooms are spacious, well furnished and have everything you need and the en suite bathrooms are modern and have excellent showers.
I really can't think of anything bad to say about the place. You will be lucky if you can get a room here.
Thanks a lot Pam and Dave and don't work too hard!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hollysmum_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you so much - how lovely to have guests 100% pleased. You were also very considerate guests keeping us well informed with your flights being delayed due to bad weather. We were surprised any flights operated that night. We started last year on a total refurbishment of all the rooms - only a couple to go, so glad you liked what we have done so far. Hope the car was ok and you didn't have too much to do when you got back after your few days off. You would be welcome back anytime you want another visit to Aberdeen - but bring better weather next time!
Regards Pam & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Aurora Guesthouse, which was our first place to stay for our trip around Scotland. The room was clean and quiet. The hosts, Pam and Dave, were very helpful in giving advise on what to see and where to dine during our stay in this wonderful city. The location was perfect for us, not too far from city center but far enough to enjoy a quiet night sleep. We definitely recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieandEricQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you - so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and indeed your holiday in Scotland. We like to give as much advise as possible so people can choose the things they like to see and do. Really appreciate you taking the time to give us such a lovely review
Regards
Pam & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montbeliard, France
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed two nights at Aurora Guesthouse. The twin room was quite big, comfortable, clean and quiet. Pam and Dave are very kind and helpful. You have a large choice of goods for the breakfast, either Scottish (highly recommended) or Continental breakfast. The owners select products from the area of Aberdeen for the breakfast. You can easily park closed to the guesthouse. You need about 10 mn by bus to the Aberdeen city centre.
The negativ point is the heating which wa switched off during the day and during the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Laure B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. As part of our Visit Scotland Taste Our Best Award we have always used Scottish produce where available. We are glad you were cosy as we would hate to have guests cold. We only put the heating off for a short period during the night as we feel it gives a better sleep and once the guests are out during the day, we get the rooms cleaned and open the windows and feel it not necessary to have the heating on. Our residents lounge/dining room has heating on 24 hrs a day though and a lovely open fire from late afternoon. We hope you enjoyed your journey through the mountains onto your next destination.
Regards
Pam & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed here for one week. It is a good location from town, bus stops are close and 24 hrs supermarket close by if you have forgotten anything. This B and B has it all lovely hosts, comfortable warm rooms, very clean, and a breakfast that would suit anyone's tastes, (great range to choose from). Loved the sitting area with the open fire to relax in the evening. Car park to the rear easy accessible. Highly recommended, I've already booked my next stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Maybe next time the weather will be better and you can sit in the garden and not at the fire. We will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.2 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 65 in Aberdeen
713 reviews
1.4 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hannah's Guest House
Hannah's Guest House
#1 of 102 in Aberdeen
117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ferryhill House Hotel
Ferryhill House Hotel
#4 of 102 in Aberdeen
219 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Registry Guest House
The Registry Guest House
#1 of 2 in Peterculter
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Guest House

Property: Aurora Guest House
Address: 429 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6NJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Guest House/B&B has 4* Visit Scotland, There is a real homely feel with home bakes on arrival in this beautiful Victorian house. Just over 1 mile to city centre with public transport on the doorstep. Free private car park and Wi-Fi. Immaculately clean, quiet and a real Scottish welcome awaits you. Only 7 en-suite rooms including 2 family rooms and 2 ground floor rooms ensure you get that individual attention. Excellent standard of breakfasts (Scottish produce high on our priority for which we have the "taste our best" award). Healthy option as well as full cooked breakfast cooked to order. Most allergies catered for. Our homemade jams & marmalades are very much appreciated. Free range eggs - straight from the farm, award-winning Stornoway black-pudding, smoked salmon for your scrambled eggs, fresh coffee, various teas. Residents lounge with an open fire and dining room with open outlook where you can soak up the sunshine while you have your breakfast overlooking garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aurora Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Guest House Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing