We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and comfortable guesthouse to stay in Aberdeen”
Review of Aurora Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aurora Guest House
Ranked #5 of 102 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montbeliard, France
1 review
“Cosy and comfortable guesthouse to stay in Aberdeen”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed two nights at Aurora Guesthouse. The twin room was quite big, comfortable, clean and quiet. Pam and Dave are very kind and helpful. You have a large choice of goods for the breakfast, either Scottish (highly recommended) or Continental breakfast. The owners select products from the area of Aberdeen for the breakfast. You can easily park closed to the guesthouse. You need about 10 mn by bus to the Aberdeen city centre.
The negativ point is the heating which wa switched off during the day and during the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Laure B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. As part of our Visit Scotland Taste Our Best Award we have always used Scottish produce where available. We are glad you were cosy as we would hate to have guests cold. We only put the heating off for a short period during the night as we feel it gives a better sleep and once the guests are out during the day, we get the rooms cleaned and open the windows and feel it not necessary to have the heating on. Our residents lounge/dining room has heating on 24 hrs a day though and a lovely open fire from late afternoon. We hope you enjoyed your journey through the mountains onto your next destination.
Regards
Pam & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
41
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed here for one week. It is a good location from town, bus stops are close and 24 hrs supermarket close by if you have forgotten anything. This B and B has it all lovely hosts, comfortable warm rooms, very clean, and a breakfast that would suit anyone's tastes, (great range to choose from). Loved the sitting area with the open fire to relax in the evening. Car park to the rear easy accessible. Highly recommended, I've already booked my next stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Maybe next time the weather will be better and you can sit in the garden and not at the fire. We will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights as I was studying at nearby Robert Gordon Uni for work. I couldn't have picked better! Location was great, there's a bus stop directly opposite and a car park round the back. Hosts were really lovely and cleanliness second to none. The breakfasts were anything you could wish for, nothing was a problem. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Host was helpful in welcoming us to Scotland holiday and accommodations were comfortable and clean. Nice eateries nearby and caught a stagecoach bus right outside the place to train and bus station downtown.

Room Tip: It's difficult to book a B&B in Aberdeen -- plan ahead! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissusPinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks.Its a wonderful experience and most memorable for me.Dave and Pam are are the best.They just like to help you out for any sort of matters.Been at several places in UK and Scotland and stayed in B&B's,but this is the best place to stay in.The morning breakfast is served hot and it's just awesome.Cheers Dave/Pam.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAIDIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was the first time that we stayed at the Aurora, and definitely will not be the last. The hosts were very friendly, and the breakfasts were excellent. Home baking, home made jams and fresh butteries! The room we got was on the top floor and had a south facing view away from the main road. It was very comfortable, clean and quiet.

It is possible to get a bus to the city centre just outside the front door, but we opted to walk in and out. That gave us a good excuse to stop off at The Ashvale a couple of times for a fish supper...

We will definitely use The Aurora on our next visit to Aberdeen

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scots_in_Oman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

As others did the parking at the back was a little difficult to find first time. After that - nothing but good. A lovely guest house; beautiful breakfast room and spotless and comfortable bedroom.
If we do return to Aberdeen we won't look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Be aware that parking is accessed via a lane at the rear of the house. The lane is off Granville Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.2 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 65 in Aberdeen
713 reviews
1.4 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hannah's Guest House
Hannah's Guest House
#1 of 102 in Aberdeen
117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ferryhill House Hotel
Ferryhill House Hotel
#4 of 102 in Aberdeen
219 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Registry Guest House
The Registry Guest House
#1 of 2 in Peterculter
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Guest House

Property: Aurora Guest House
Address: 429 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6NJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Guest House/B&B has 4* Visit Scotland, There is a real homely feel with home bakes on arrival in this beautiful Victorian house. Just over 1 mile to city centre with public transport on the doorstep. Free private car park and Wi-Fi. Immaculately clean, quiet and a real Scottish welcome awaits you. Only 7 en-suite rooms including 2 family rooms and 2 ground floor rooms ensure you get that individual attention. Excellent standard of breakfasts (Scottish produce high on our priority for which we have the "taste our best" award). Healthy option as well as full cooked breakfast cooked to order. Most allergies catered for. Our homemade jams & marmalades are very much appreciated. Free range eggs - straight from the farm, award-winning Stornoway black-pudding, smoked salmon for your scrambled eggs, fresh coffee, various teas. Residents lounge with an open fire and dining room with open outlook where you can soak up the sunshine while you have your breakfast overlooking garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aurora Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Guest House Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing