We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Aurora Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aurora Guest House
Ranked #5 of 102 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great rooms and a super breakfast. My husband needs a glutenfree diet and this was catered for without any hesitation.
Good atmosphere
Great location as the bus stops right outside the door, and Pam and Dave are very helpful with tips on what to see and do while in Aberdeen.
We will definately come back the next time we are in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeritA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, It is always nice to get positive feedback. We try to cater for people with special dietary needs and hope you enjoyed the new gluten free bread which you had on your last day. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we will look forward to seeing you next time.
Regards
Pam & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
41
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Hi on average good value for money.
But let down! when on returning from work found that towels had not be replaced with fresh ones. But hung over the radiator . As I work in a dirty environment these are required to be changed daily. Come on people this is the first that dirty towels haven't been replaced! To make matters worse on attempting to have them changed I was not able to find anybody on premises. Dispite sitting ringing the doorbell. One disappointed guest .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We pride ourselves on how immaculately clean our rooms are kept. Unfortunately when we entered your room, everything was on the floor, including bedding, clothes, sweet papers etc. We cleaned and tidied the room thoroughly for your return. We are environmentally aware and recycle and reduce waste, towels are normally refreshed every second day unless people leave them in the shower to be replaced, which is normal in most establishments. We had only gone out for a short walk when you returned from work, but there is a mobile number to contact us in emergencies in the residents lounge. On our return I came and offered you clean towels by which time you didn't want them. If I can suggest for your own health, that overalls should be supplied for working and removed before arriving at guesthouses as when you left, the floors were covered in insulation which you are breathing in while you sleep.
Regards
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Lovely stay at the Guest House for 3 nights. Yummy breakfasts and very clean rooms. Helpful with the travel trips. Just read web site with check in times as I did make a mistake of assuming check usually has been after 2pm. Check in is 4pm all days and Sun 6pm. We filled our day with the Aberdeen sites in the city and worked out fine even though on a Sunday lots of places open. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us - it was a pleasure talking with you both. Hope you are feeling a bit more confident with the driving by now. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and a safe journey back home.
Regards
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitterne, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

After a all night travelling with no sleep at all, we were delighted to be able to leave our luggage at the B&B early in the morning but also very disappointed when we were told we couldn't get into our room until 3pm. We didn't think too much of it and tried to pass the time until 3pm knowing that the lovely couple who welcome us was looking after our luggage and was taking very good care of our laptop. Because we booked late we had the Familly room wich is an absolutely lovely room, everything was very clean, smelt fresh and the bed was so comfortable. The next day we had the best breakfast we ever had, with homemade jam and amazing pancakes.
But we have to admit it wasn't all perfect. First we were told that if we paid cash we would get a 2% discount on the final bill and when it came to the payment we didn't get any discount. (It is obviously not about the money, a 2% discount wouldn't have made a big difference). Secondly we were planning to spend 2 nights in Aberdeen, 1 night in Keith to go and visit some familly and then come back to Aberdeen for 1 night before heading back to our destination. We would have come back to the same B&B but apparently the owners had a familly day plan and they didn't look too interested in us coming back and spending yet an other £70 so we didn't bothered. The third thing that really annoyed me is that we were told to leave our room at 10h30 on our last day and that was before we even started our breakfast!
We normally always leave tips in every hotel room and B&B we visit, just to say how happy we were and how welcome we felt but this time, we left nothing behind.
What a shame, everything else was so perfect, maybe the owners have just lost interest, at the end of the day we are paying customers and don't believe we deserved to be treated with so little interest...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecile R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We are so sorry you were not completely happy with your stay. We pride ourselves on trying to give our guests 100%. I think in many cases due to misunderstandings. We had assumed you were here to visit family/friends and were going away to spend time with them after dropping off your bags with us. We never offer discounts for cash but payment by credit cards do incurr a small additional charge as stated on our registration sheets and website. Please realise, we are unable to have our guests vacating their rooms at 10.30am and then be able to strip and clean thoroughly a room and have it ready immediately for the next guests to arrive. You were unsure what time you would return, which made it very difficult for us to know when we should be here to let you in. We had already planned a day out with our grandchildren, who have been living abroad for the past year .We thought we were being helpful by coming back at a time, mutually agreed with you, to check in. Our apologies again, but we do try hard at making our Guesthouse almost perfect!. Regards Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Just returned from a quick break in Aberdeen. The Aurora Guest House was amongst one of the best establishments I have ever stayed in. Relaxing. Superbly clean. Fabulous homemade pancakes as a starter before one of the best Scottish Breakfasts I can remember.
And as for the homemade Lemon and Lime Marmalade served... words fail me.
Pam and Dave run a fantastic set up and I would not hesitate to stay there again or indeed recommend it to anyone intending to visit Aberdeen.
An absolute hidden gem of the North.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerbhoy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
We appreciate that after a one night stay that you have taken the time to give us a superb review. We would hate to think that any of our guests left unhappy or hungry. Glad you liked the lemon & lime marmalade but we make lots of variations of jams and marmalades so maybe next time we will have something different for you to try.
Regards Pam & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOWRA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

From the moment you arrive at this B&B you are made to feel very welcome.

Everything is as it should be and the owners give you 100% attention.

The room was spotlessly clean with everything that you need for a comfortable stay.

Breakfast was a treat, and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.

This was a value for money experience and a very pleasant surprise for us.

I have no hesitation in staying here should I ever return to Aberdeen.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrsalona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you very much for posting a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you here and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Regards Pam & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed in the Aurora guest house for 5 nights. I was up doing my survival course and found the Aurora brilliant accomodation and great value for money. I will be back anytime I'm going offshore.. Rooms and en-suite cleaned daily. Superb.
Billy

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billabongo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.2 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 65 in Aberdeen
713 reviews
1.4 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hannah's Guest House
Hannah's Guest House
#1 of 102 in Aberdeen
117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ferryhill House Hotel
Ferryhill House Hotel
#4 of 102 in Aberdeen
219 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Registry Guest House
The Registry Guest House
#1 of 2 in Peterculter
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Guest House

Property: Aurora Guest House
Address: 429 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6NJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Guest House/B&B has 4* Visit Scotland, There is a real homely feel with home bakes on arrival in this beautiful Victorian house. Just over 1 mile to city centre with public transport on the doorstep. Free private car park and Wi-Fi. Immaculately clean, quiet and a real Scottish welcome awaits you. Only 7 en-suite rooms including 2 family rooms and 2 ground floor rooms ensure you get that individual attention. Excellent standard of breakfasts (Scottish produce high on our priority for which we have the "taste our best" award). Healthy option as well as full cooked breakfast cooked to order. Most allergies catered for. Our homemade jams & marmalades are very much appreciated. Free range eggs - straight from the farm, award-winning Stornoway black-pudding, smoked salmon for your scrambled eggs, fresh coffee, various teas. Residents lounge with an open fire and dining room with open outlook where you can soak up the sunshine while you have your breakfast overlooking garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aurora Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Guest House Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing