We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, Spotless and Friendly”
Review of Aurora Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aurora Guest House
Ranked #4 of 103 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I Stayed here for 4 nights. The room and en suite were spotlessly clean. The Breakfast was really nice and the hosts were friendly and welcoming. All this with a great price made for a wonderful stay. i would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

We really appreciate your comments on Trip Advisor. It is good to know that our guests are pleased with what we have to offer them. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards
Pam & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 123 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I and two friends stayed for three nights and had a most enjoyable time. The house was welcoming and spotlessly clean. the rooms were a good size and had the basic ameneties, but Pam put out extra coffee, tea, biscuits and chocolates, so that you could have some in the evening and the following morning. There was even SOFT toilet paper!!
The breakfast was delicious, with home made jam and marmalade after the fry up or healthy option.
The guest house is close to the centre of Aberdeen, but easy to get to and has it's own car park. Our hosts were knowledgeable about the area and gave helpful information.

Room Tip: The room in the extesion has a sitting area, with a comfortable sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Many thanks for your comments. Glad you enjoyed the jams and marmalades - we are often asked if we sell it so they can take some home, but afraid only available when you stay. Next jam will be the apple and bramble as I noticed the brambles are almost ready for picking. We hope you had a good final day touring round Deeside before heading to catch your flight. Glad that the sun came out and it ended up a lovely day for you aswell, it makes all the difference. Regards Pam & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in a single room with a separate bathroom (£35pn). The room was a little small, not a problem for me though others may feel cramped. Comfy bed, a quiet night's sleep, basic TV and decent tea/coffee making facilities rounded out the room experience. In the bathroom everything was ship-shape and better than my own at home.

The breakfast was a highlight with plenty of tasty options - cereals, fruit salad, pancakes, toast, home-made jams, and the usual cooked breakfast. The owners were friendly, accommodating and helpful. I can't comment further on the B&B as it was only a brief stay.

The Aurora is not the most central guest house in Aberdeen (around 30 minutes' walk to centre) but it's probably among the best run. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chokofingrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to you coming back some other time to see us. The room you had is small, suitable for a few days stay, but some people really like it - hopefully the lovely views and the private facilities make up for it. Next time you can try one of our other rooms, at least twice the size and with the benefits of en-suite facilities to the same standard.
Regards
Pam & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here for one night and enjoyed every minute of it!
The B&B was easy to get to and the hosts were very welcoming. The en-suite room was tidy and clean, and breakfast the next day was delicious! Would definitely go back and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TrippyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for recommending us to others. We will look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Aberdeen. Regards Pam & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed for two nights. There is easy access to the guest house from the A90 and it has its own parking in the rear. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room has a new feel to it and the breakfasts were very good. Our room was on the top floor and was quiet, comfortable and well equipped. The double bed was comfortable. The complimentary wireless internet worked well. It is a three story house with no elevator so carrying bags could be a chore for some guests. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely stay again. *Note that the guest house was for sale when we stayed, so ownership might change in future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buffalo429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I Discovered the Aurora on Google. For £40 I was given a good sized, immaculate and comfortable twin bedded room with private shower, loo etc. Teas, coffee making facilities c/w biscuits were plentiful. Toiletries came in proper bottles, none of the tiny bottles which don’t contain enough soap to wash your hands never mind shower with.
The full Scottish breakfast made a great start for the day although there is a healthy option for those maybe watching their waistline.
All this with friendly hosts to boot. All in all an excellent place to stay and very good value for money. Wouldn’t hesitate to use again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turkophileabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

good quality b&b near centre of aberdeen,welcoming helpful owners,great breakfasts and the bedrooms/bathrooms are of an execellant standard,regular towels changes and daily room tidys.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clandite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,038 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hannah's Guest House
Hannah's Guest House
#1 of 103 in Aberdeen
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ferryhill House Hotel
Ferryhill House Hotel
#6 of 103 in Aberdeen
232 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Jays Guest House
The Jays Guest House
#3 of 103 in Aberdeen
205 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Registry Guest House
The Registry Guest House
#1 of 2 in Peterculter
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Guest House

Address: 429 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6NJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range: $65 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Guest House/B&B has 4* Visit Scotland, There is a real homely feel with home bakes on arrival in this beautiful Victorian house. Just over 1 mile to city centre with public transport on the doorstep. Free private car park and Wi-Fi. Immaculately clean, quiet and a real Scottish welcome awaits you. Only 7 en-suite rooms including 2 family rooms and 2 ground floor rooms ensure you get that individual attention. Excellent standard of breakfasts (Scottish produce high on our priority for which we have the "taste our best" award). Healthy option as well as full cooked breakfast cooked to order. Most allergies catered for. Our homemade jams & marmalades are very much appreciated. Free range eggs - straight from the farm, award-winning Stornoway black-pudding, smoked salmon for your scrambled eggs, fresh coffee, various teas. Residents lounge with an open fire and dining room with open outlook where you can soak up the sunshine while you have your breakfast overlooking garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Aurora Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Guest House Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing