We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nightmare Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdeen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lillian Cottage Guest House
Ranked #50 of 108 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nightmare Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

I booked online for two nights ensuite single room. I had paid extra for this as I was traveling alone for business. However, when I arrived I was given a single standard with a shared bathroom. I explained to the lady that escorted me to the room that this was incorrect. She told me that the booking agent had made a mistake and it wasn't her fault. I was quite disturbed as I had travelled a distance. She abruptly implied "take it or leave it" and left the room in disgust. She was quite rude, calloused, and a "chip on the shoulder." Quite unapologetic. Fortnately the gentleman there made a phone call to find other suitable accomodations for me. However, this was only done after I'd encountered a not so friendly verbal exchange from his counterpart. I've travelled extensively in the UK, especially Scotland, and this has been my worst encounter at any place of stay.

Room Tip: Not at very customer friendly
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank globaltrek24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

This guesthouse was great value. Absolutely superb breakfasts - the choice and quality better than many restaurants. Plus early bird breakfast great for the traveller who wants to get on the move. Decor a little dated but very clean and tidy. Room had well appointed en-suite. Only 20 minutes walk with suitcases from centre of city plus on the bus route.Very close to old Aberdeen and the University. Friendly hosts with great on line feedback when we needed to clarify arrival time and helpful advice on local features. Only negative was road noise but earplugs sorted that out.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
50 Thank phylian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den29
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

Clean well kept homely Bn B.
Breakfast was lovely, cooked to spec, lots of choices of cereals and fruit as well as superb cooked breakfast.
I shared a bathroom (which was large and very clean) and had no problems.
Town is walking distance.
Only down side rooms were on the small side, but as we spent so little time in them it wasnt really a problem.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
47 Thank Den29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

Friendly hosts, and very affordable quiet rooms with lots of choices for breakfast! My room had a share bathroom, but at that time of year (early Oct) there was little competition for the bathroom. Buses go right past the house to the city centre, but it's also within relatively easy walking distance. Intriguing collection of cameras on the walls of the stairway!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
50 Thank CeeBee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Jays Guest House
The Jays Guest House
#3 of 108 in Aberdeen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Brig Inn Hotel
The Brig Inn Hotel
#70 of 108 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lillian Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lillian Cottage Guest House

Property: Lillian Cottage Guest House
Address: 442 King Street, Aberdeen AB24 3BS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Lillian Cottage Guest House Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing