We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good, but desert was even better!”
Review of The Fourmile

The Fourmile
Ranked #161 of 679 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Scottish, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Fourmile in Kingswells...a hidden gem in the North-east. Located the in heart of Kingswells, only a short drive from Aberdeen city centre, The Fourmile has been a firm favourite in the North-east for years. Set within a tranquil village, The Fourmile is filled with Scottish character and boasts a large open plan restaurant with conservatory, cosy bar area with open fire and newly refurbished public bar to enjoy a relaxing drink and watch the latest sport. Serving traditional Scottish food in a welcoming atmosphere, The Fourmile is a family friendly venue that and prides itself on providing first class Scottish hospitality to each and every customer.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food was good, but desert was even better!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went for dinner the other night an I will say that the food was pretty good! I will like to try something different next time to see. I will for sure go back for desert. They had a special of the night and it was so so yummy I could have eaten two if it wasn't that I was so full.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeinabite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    96
    46
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Rubbish”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Made to feel so unwelcome when we arrived with 5 children, felt we were a bother more interested in a funeral tea that was taking place.

Food was terrible salad had had it's day.

We will not be returning, for a village pub that supposed to be child friendly it's a joke.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kingsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Went there for a family meal for my daughters 21st birthday there was about 16 of us the service and food were very good and couldn't do enough for us put balloons on chairs and table decorations atc and the food was also very good

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulstewart348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Have eaten here a few times and been very good every time. Food is very tasty and good menu, maybe a lack of vegetarian options available so my vegetarian friend told me when we were there last.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daveogilvie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food but ditsy waitress”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

i had my 21st birthday meal here for 22 guests. We were in the conservatory which was nicely laid out with two large tables. we choose food of the normal menu as there was a few fussy eaters in the group. We were greated by a waitress who looked like she had just rolled in from a night out (her performance matched this) she struggled to read out the 3 specials without getting flustered and muddling her words along with getting orders wrong.
everyone ordered starters but they didnt take out 5 of the starters 4 soups and 1 nachos- not difficult to quickly rectify. 10 minutes passed before a server came back to check on the group and realise we were still waiting for food. By the time the missing starters arrived everyone else was finished so they cleared all the plates and began serving the 1st table their mains before we were all ready as the 5 guests were still eating their starters- very unprofessional as this was meant too be a dinner party we should of all been served together but it ended up being atleast 5minutes between the first half of the group being served and the second group which meant alot of waiting around.
The waitress again made more mistakes alot of the party were just ordering soft drinks yet when she came back with the order we were given bacardi and cokes instead of just coke-easy to make the mistake of ordering a bacardi and coke and only getting coke but how can you add alcohol to plain soft drinks? she never offered to take these drinks back just left them on the table and we were still charged.
usually we receive good service here but it it just seemed that on this occasion there was no organisation which was a shame as all the guests commented on how good the food was but the service lowered the enjoyment.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fourmile also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Westhill, Aberdeen
 
Westhill, Aberdeen
Westhill, Aberdeen
 

Been to The Fourmile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing