We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for a basic room”
Review of Cove Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cove Bay Hotel
Ranked #11 of 102 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Overpriced for a basic room”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night whilst on a course in Altens. The room was pretty basic with squeaky floors. Aberdeen is generally over priced and this no exception. Anywhere else it would be half the price. Food was good, and not too overly priced. Breakfast decent and checkout smooth.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SheltieShetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    40
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
36
53
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I was booked into this hotel for a training course and having read the reviews was a bit apprehensive about staying here. This was totally unfounded.

When I arrived I checked on at the bar as it was later and was show to my room, a service you don't get very often now.

The room was spacious and clean, the bed was a bit hard but that's just personal taste. The carpet was a bit worn and the bathroom was dated but it was all perfectly functional. The shower was good, hot and powerful.

The breakfast was exactly what you'd expect in any hotel, choice of cereal or cooked. Evening meal was nice and plenty of it.

Overall a perfectly serviceable hotel with friendly staff and good food.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank furrygerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The room I stayed in was well presented and clean. This en suite shower room was large in size with enough space to be comfortable in the bedroom itself.

The restaurant of this hotel is large with an excellent and pleasant view out in to the North Sea. It also serves great food from a large menu.

Only slight down side was the noise from the self closing doors of the hotel downstairs which was a bit distracting if a little annoying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil0276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Myself and 10 collogues had a retirement lunch at this Hotel last Friday 18th October. Going by ever ones comments and my own, we found the meal, fresh, and with generous portions. The Staff were extremely helpful and were up to serving the food in time for 11 dinners, a special thanks to them.

Room Tip: Well worth a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have visited this hotel a couple of times the past few months, for restaurant use only. We found the staff helpful, friendly and food is fantastic. Recently my Husband celebrated a "big" birthday and they accommodated us all very well.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SammyP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I did not stay in the hotel, but me and my family went there for a meal. It was a lovely experience as it was our first time going there, but it was recommended by a lot of friends. Beautiful food, exquisite dining and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Food_Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Excellent food served by good natured staff. I would certainly eat there again. The Cullen skink was very tasty. Eight of us for lunch and no complaints. Enough said.

We were only there for a meal at a very busy lunchtime and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
3.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hannah's Guest House
Hannah's Guest House
#1 of 102 in Aberdeen
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Bay Hotel

Property: Cove Bay Hotel
Address: 15 Colsea Road | Cove Bay,Aberdeenshire, Aberdeen AB12 3NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cove Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cove Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Bay Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing