We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great self-catering suites - but don't expect a hotel...!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Craibstone Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great self-catering suites - but don't expect a hotel...!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Firstly, let me say I was very happy with my stay at Craibstone Suites, with one minor exception (see later!).

This is not a full-service hotel, so if you want a bar, spare toiletries and public spaces, this may not be for you. However, if you are after a well equipped self-catering option whilst in Aberdeen, this is a good choice. First of all, the area is set back from Union Street so escapes the worst of the hustle and bustle, but do be aware there can still be some night-time noise when bars in the nearby streets clear out. It's not too bad, given this is so close to the centre of the city, but don't expect no intrusion of city noice what-so-ever.

The welcome from reception was very warm and friendly, and when it was apparent that I may check-out the following morning before reception re-opened, I was offered my bill there and then.

I was on the top floor and there is no lift. It did not bother me in the slightest, but I note others have commented adversely. Indeed I think the lack of a lift was pointed out to me on reservation, so there are no negative marks from me on this issue. If you are not good on stairs, then perhaps look elsewhere. It was only two flights to the top floor, but I guess for some people that may be too much.

The room itself was well equipped, though it did miss any kind of work-desk. There was a sofa, a low table and a well-equipped mini-kitchen. There is plenty of cutlery and crockery for all but the most ambitious! There was a micro-wave, kettle, toaster, sink and fridge. As someone else has noted, the included breakfast is a little sparse if you are used to a cooked breakfast, but it was plenty for me. You got three slices of bread (2 brown, 1 white!), butter, jam, two cartons of orange juice, two of milk and a selection of cereals. I am not sure what more they could offer really, given it's an appartment of this type!

The bed and bathroom were both fine. Not uber-luxurious, but still pretty good for the money. The only downside I found to my room was the rather low eaves. With a top-floor room, the roof cuts into the bedroom space somewhat - a fact I was reminded of rather violently when packing my case in the morning...! My fault, but maybe a little warning notice or hazard tape might not go amiss - if such things could be done tastefully..!

Having left the appartment a little later than planned, I was able to leave some luggage to collect later on in the day, and once again the service at reception was very friendly.

If you are after a decent, well-equipped self-catered appartment close to the centre of Aberdeen you could do a lot worse than to give the Craibstone Suites a try. But if you are 6 feet tall (ca. 2m), then you may want to see if you can avoid the top-floor attic rooms!

Room Tip: Avoid the top-floor rooms if you are tall (and I am only 5'8" - 1.75m) - or at least watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon_069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowat, Guest Relations Manager at The Craibstone Suites, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Craibstone Suites. We are very proud of our building, service and location so were very happy to read about your positive experience with us. If you are to come and stay again be sure to talk with our reception team who would be happy to ensure you are allocated a room with higher ceilings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    60
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
23
90
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Very good location, beautifully converted within constraints of listed building status. Superb bathroom, and "kitchen" The promised continental breakfast was a little sparse. As my stay was in the nature of an emergency, it was disappointing that it was not possible to buy a toothbrush from reception, but the other toiletries provided were first rate. I would be more than happy to return, but will remember my toothbrush!

Room Tip: There is no lift as this is a listed building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowat, Guest Relations Manager at The Craibstone Suites, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Craibstone Suites, we were happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We do usually carry some spare essentials like toothbrushes and toothpaste but we had unfortunately run out shortly before your stay. We are now stocked up and will be happy to assist on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Bit disappointed on arrival when told my room was on the 2nd floor. ( I had booked a club suite for health reasons and there being not too many stairs). My room had some sort of heating problem? The nice man showed me the rooms I could have but with them all being up a couple of flights of stairs my heart sank.. On the upside I could get a refund so I could book elsewhere. I went to tell my partner and to arrange an other hotel, when I returned to the reception to get my card refunded, the strangest thing, he had just that minute opened an email cancelling the other club suite , bit of a coincidence!!! He showed me the room but I'd already arranged somewhere else.

The rooms although quite small seemed to be lovely and Ben was very nice.

On leaving, I couldn't help notice someone coming out of the 2nd club suite........... Maybe I was shown the room that was deemed inhabitable?????!!'

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I regularly used this facility on business & the location in Central Aberdeen is ideal. Room sizes vary greatly but decor is good.

Car parking on the street is expensive up to 8pm & starts again at 7.30am

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowat, Guest Relations Manager at The Craibstone Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Craibstone Suites. I was happy to read that you have had many great experiences with us. Be sure to speak with our receptionists when you are next staying, they are able to advise on the cheapest parking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

These apartments are in a really promising location - in an old granite house overlooking a square just off the city's main road. But inside they are a great disappointment - cheaply fitted out and meanly furnished. They are intended for medium to long stays but I couldn't possibly face staying there for any great length of time. I would go crazy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

In Aberdeen for a week and worth the stay here. Had a studio apartment but the cook top was faulty and got upgraded to a larger suite, now that was good. Room to swing a cat! Location is city centre, walk to everything, but try not to have a car - parking expensive for short term. 2 quid for 2 hour maximum. Would definitely come back !!!!

Room Tip: Go for the larger suite if you can - worth it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_vitali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked this room via Venere for 3 people (2 adults one child aged 17) for 2 nights at a cost of £195.00 per night, which is a bit on the pricey side for the size of the accommodation. On arrival we were shown to our room but found that there was only one double bed. The receptionist said there was no other bed available and that the place was fully booked. My son had therefore to sleep on the floor for both nights!
We asked at reception for a part refund due to the circumstances, but they refused. They said that Venere had not told them that three people had booked, which I find unbelievable. We asked to see the manager but he never appeared or even spoke to us. In the end we had to recover the money from Barclaycard, via Section 75 of the Consumer Credit Act, which is a shame as the Craibstone and Venere were at fault. They denied any wrongdoing, but were happy to take the money.
We were astounded at the lack of customer service in such a situation - even a token refund would of sufficed at the time, but to deny any wrongdoing was not acceptable.
Notwithstanding this, the Suites are ideally situated close to the center of Aberdeen and are clean and tidy.
Unfortunately we wouldn't return to the Craibstone due to their lack of customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrbeaOrca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowat, General Manager at The Craibstone Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of The Craibstone Suites. As discussed with you at the time, your reservation was for two people only - the booking confirmation we received from Venere was clear on the matter and the document was presented to you.

We are sorry that we could not accommodate your adult son. We did suggest you take the matter up with Venere directly. No refund was processed by the Craibstone Suites because we had supplied the facilities required by the booking we received.

We did not provide any refund via Barclaycard so I can only presume that Venere refunded you in some capacity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#21 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craibstone Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craibstone Suites

Property: The Craibstone Suites
Address: 15 Bon Accord Square, Aberdeen AB11 6DJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Craibstone Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury serviced hotel suites in the heart of the granite city; Aberdeen, each suite complete with LCD TV, Free wi-fi internet and complimentary breakfast essentials pack ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Craibstone Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craibstone Hotel Aberdeen
The Craibstone Suites Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing