We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking”
Review of The Globe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Globe Inn
Ranked #20 of 103 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 26, 2013

After having some great nights in the bar at the Globe I was happy to find there was a room at a very good price on Saturday as myself and my parter were at a wedding in Aberdeen. Unfortunately on the day, only an hour or so before I was to check in I received a phone call to say they had overbooked and I no longer had a room yet I booked a week in advance for this. I understand these things can happen but what was really terrible was that all I was offered was 20% off a meal if I was to come by over the next couple of weeks. Shocking

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank _Sa4anthaLouise_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for The Globe Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 137 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Globe several times in the past due to its superb location and convenience for me when I come to Aberdeen. Great bar downstairs with nice food at reasonable prices. Staff are always helpful and attentive.

The rooms have recently been refurbished and it was long overdue. Rooms are clean, nicely decorated and have everything you will need - hair dryer, iron and ironing board, wifi, tv, even a small fridge and iPod Dock!

Would definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slm1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

First off, I didn't pay for this room - it was a last minute business stopover so my work booked and paid for it. As it was a last minute booking during Oil Week in Aberdeen, I would presume it was ridiculously expensive but I can't confirm that. From checking their normal prices, a single occupancy room is £94 and double occupancy is £99.

The inn is in a great location. You are literally a two minute walk from the centre of Union Street but far enough away that there isn't too much noise or trouble.

The room was small but clean and adequate. It would have been cramped for a couple I think - there isn't a lot of room outside of your double bed - but I was there alone and it was absolutely fine. Bed was spotless and comfy and there were plenty of towels and a hot shower. Everything you need.

I ate at the inn itself downstairs and the food was great. Good service and excellent food at very reasonable prices. I'd recommend trying it out if you are staying overnight.

Overall, a nice wee place to stay with a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Nice friendly pub in the heart of the city, has a few rooms above the pub. I thought it might be noisy, but it wasn't, even although my room was above the main pub door. Continental breakfast left on tray outside room door was quite adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Booked a night away from home to this place, thought it was fab. Just off union street, in a lovely pub, bedrooms over it. Easy check-in, great room, comfy bed, had a fab band on at night, the sopranos, nice to have adults enjoying themselves in a good ambience, hard working staff managed to keep up with my vodka needs , would totally recommend, look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Good points – Spotlessly clean room (No 4) and bathroom, Comfortable bed. I stayed Tues/Wed nights and it was perfectly quiet -no street noise and didn’t hear any noise from bar below. You’re warned they have live music at weekends; Iron and ironing board in room

Bad points – slight dated décor, bathroom had slight smell of damp and hot water took a while to come through (you need to run the hot tap before you use shower), basic toiletries (soap bar and shower soap dispenser), continental breakfast is basic (see picture) but delivered to door when you want it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMiggins46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The location is great as it's close to the main road and easy to access and park if you come by car. The standard is simple but clean though it feels that it has some years behind it and would need a refreshment. They served a complementary breakfast, simple (serials, juice and croissant) but good. The room was pretty spacious and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe Inn

Address: 13 North Silver Street, Aberdeen AB10 1RJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range: $51 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Globe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated off the main drag of Union Street, but still very close to the Music Hall and His Majesty's Theatre, The Globe Inn is a well-loved local staple. We offer a homely hotel with plenty of character and comfort. The restaurant provide a thoroughly Scottish menu with something for everyone. If you fancy something a bit more lively during your stay, we have a traditional folk night on Tuesday. Our team are very friendly and happy to help you wherever they can! The Globe Inn is situated within the centre of town, just off the main high street, Union Street. In the local area, there is His Majesty's Theatre, the Music Hall, and the Lemon Tree performance venue. The AECC arena is within driving distance, and there are buses available from Union Street. Aberdeen city centre is a lively area, with a thriving music scene and festivals held throughout the year. Aberdeenshire plays host to multiple whisky distilleries, including favourites such as Cragganmore and Glenlivet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Globe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Hotel Aberdeen
The Globe Inn Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing