We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for conference” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Convenient for conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We recently spent six nights at the convention center Holiday Inn Express. The staff was friendly, efficient, and helpful, room was a nice size and even had a sofa which is always a plus. The daily breakfast with cereal, fruit, pastries, eggs, etc was greatly appreciated as was the reliable Internet connection. A couple of things of which to be aware... there is little storage in the room (no drawers and the rod for hanging clothes is only a foot long). The location is great for the convention center but there are few places to eat (McDonalds or the Holiday Inn) within walking distance. We were glad we had a car for this trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeccexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Jean P

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen Exhibition centre.

I am very pleased to hear that we made your stay as enjoyable as possible during your recent attendance at a conference at the Exhibition centre. The hotel is ideal as a base when attending conferences, being situated next door to the conference centre. We, as you have discovered, to the north of the city centre, but there is excellent bus connections to the city centre leaving from just outside the hotel if you did not want to drive.

Thank you once again for writing a review and I hope it is not to long before we welcome you back


Jim Thomson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    190
    80
    9
    7
See reviews for
85
130
11
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here on a Saturday night after attending an event at the AECC.
Staff were helpful - finding alternative cufflinks, and remaining pleasant at a busy bar at 1am - and breakfast was buffet-style but good enough. Not a huge range for a cooked breakfast but I like endlessly refilling on coffee and toast.
The rooms were of a standard size and a good design, but the walls are incredibly thin - a neighbour's snoring and other bodily noises kept me awake, although I'm a lighter sleeper than my untroubled other half. Shower was a bit feeble, but I'm not sure this wasn't because the hotel was full.
No irons available either - only an ironing room. The iron didn't work and the other three were in use as it was a big do on at the AECC, which was a pain.
Overall though, it was only £50 and exactly what we were looking for, so would recommend it for somewhere to rest your head after a big night out.

Room Tip: On a bright day, the views towards the sea are amazing, so on the east and the higher the better - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Joanna F,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings you may have experienced in your room accommodation particularly with the noise. We try our best to ensure all guests have a great stay and undisturbed sleep. I am sorry that the breakfast selection did not live up to your expectations and that some items were not working. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,


Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Having used this hotel on a few previous occasions, it was a natural choice for a trip to Aberdeen for my daughter's graduation. Bit taken aback by cost this time - usually £50 a night including breakfast but this was £90 a night! Was it increased for graduation week??? The room was, as usual, clean and comfortable. The reception staff were helpful and polite. The breakfast was however poor. Very little choice and many items empty. No staff around to fill up empty items or even to ask for assistance. Come on, for £90 a night, this hotel could have done a lot better. I shall be thinking again next time............

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeccexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Romans,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen Exhibition Centre.

I am glad to hear that you returned to us once again but I am really sorry to hear that we failed to deliver our usual breakfast standard for you. I can only apologise for this, which I can assure you was a deviation from the norm.
As regards our room rates these do tend to be more expensive Monday to Thursday and a lot more inexpensive at the weekend. The next time you intend to come and stay with us , please give our in house reservations a call and they will be able to advise you on the best rates for the days you are looking for.

Once again thank you for taking time to complete a review and look forward to welcoming you back

Yours Sincerely

Jim Thomson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had another smashing few nights in one of my regular Aberdeen hotels. Staff always very polite and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast is normal HIEX fayre with adequate choice of cereals, juice, bread, rolls, fruit, also hot scrambled egg (powdered ?) and sausage. More than enough for a good start to the day. Good selection of teas, coffee, chocolate as well.
Love my Priority Member welcome pack, even though it appears to be seeing signs of cut backs from previous visits.
There are some excellent weekend deals to be found at this hotel. Midweek can be more expensive but this is to be expected as many a time I have struggled to get any hotel in Aberdeen in midweek. One of the benefits of Priority Club membership is guaranteed room availability up to 72 hrs in advance.

Room Tip: Never had a problem with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeccexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Kentweed,

Thank you for thanking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen Exhibition Centre.

I am glad to hear that had an other enjoyable stay with us at the hotel and every thing was to the standard you expected .
I am also pleased to hear you appreciate the benefits of being a member of the Priority club and the rewards that can be achieved , especially the Platinum members room booking guarentee.

I hope to see you the next you decide to stay with.

Yours Sincerely

Jim Thomson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here when we went to the Steps concert. There was also a conference on at the Centre and it was fully booked so we were worried it would be really noisy and service would be slow. We had nothing to worry about. We had a fantastic stay - service excellent, great choice for breakfast and nothing too much trouble. Would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsonhols3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeccexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear scotsonhols3,

Thank you for thanking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen Exhibition Centre.

I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us at the hotel and the Steps concert was a great success for you. I have to admitt that the atmosphere that weekend was excellent and can speak for all the staff that they thoroughly enjoyed looking after you and all our other guests

I Hope it will not be to long before we welcome you back again

Yours Sincerely


Jim Thomson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Very Good staff, however if you want to go into town its around £10.00 each way.
So location is not the best unless you are at the exhibition.

Buffet breakfast is not the best and view from room poor as it was over the exhibition car park that was invaded by travellers. However was fun watching them arrive & police trying to get them to leave.

Rate of £110. per night a bit high, however Aberdeen is always expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeccexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Mike W,

Thank you for thanking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen Exhibition Centre.

I am sorry that you did not like your view from the hotel on this occasion, it is normally clear views to the North sea and the local Golf Courses.
Appreciate your comment regarding the room rates at the hotel, which are normally high midweek due to the strong demand for rooms in Aberdeen. We are however one of the more inexpensive hotels to be found in Aberdeen

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review of your stay and look foward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely


Jim Thomson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Booked to stay three nights at this Holiday Inn Express over a weekend to explore the part of scotland to the north of Aberdeen and the location of this hotel was perfect for this! Also well located for a shopping trip as major shopping centres are only a short drive into the centre.

Hotel has ample parking and can have no complaints about anything to do with the hotel. Room was spotless and bathroom in perfect condition. Had a great sea view with our room and id advise anyone staying to ask for this to really make their stay. Rooms must also be well insulated as had 3 nights without a single disturbance and being a light sleeper that is a joy!

Breakfast was what you come to expect from a Holiday Inn Express - no complaints. If looking for an evening meal there is plenty of choice just 5 mins drive along the Esplanade at the Fun Beach.

Excellent stay and will be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shutcheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeccexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear shutcheson,

Thank you for thanking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen Exhibition Centre.

I very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and found the facilities and location to your liking.
I hope the next time visit Aberdeen, you will have time to visit the many attractions outside the city , as the hotel is in the perfect position for both the city and the country side

Thank you once again for giving us you feedback


Yours Sincerely

Jim Thomson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Exhibition Centre
3.8 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#34 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.7 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Cults Hotel
Cults Hotel
#46 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.0 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#57 of 63 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
Address: Parkway East | Bridge of Don, Aberdeen AB23 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern well-situated hotel for the business and leisure interests of Aberdeen, with well-equipped bar and public areas and two fully equipped air conditioned meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition Hotel Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing