We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gone down since last visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“gone down since last visit”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

stayed here overnight after meetings went on and on given this choice
( stayed previously and ok )
rooms a bit dated , very poor service and breakfast gave order and 20 mins later still no food so had to leave with empty stomach , very poor service indeed

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1boroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor P, Front Office Manager at Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to learn that you found our hotel room dated. We have a refurbishment program in place to continuously upgrade our rooms.
I apologize for the slow breakfast service, I have forwarded your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager and Head Chef so that they can take proper action. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, so that we can deliver the service to you that we pride ourselves with.
Kind Regards,
Gabor Petia
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    155
    64
    19
    10
See reviews for
51
91
32
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

There is a notice in the room that advises residents that alcohol will not be served in the rooms between the hours of 0300 and 1100. Either this is a reflection of a stongly held moral attitude of the Hotel's proprieters, or more likely a reflection of the typical clientele of the Hotel. As I mused on this, I was aware of the slightly sour smell of old sweat that pervaded the room. I was not getting a very positive image of whoever had occupied this room before me!
I was there to sleep. A comfortable bed, more pillows than a single person could possibly have a use for, and despite being near a busy road and an airport a relatively quiet room meant that sleep was achieved.
My morning shower gave me some insight as to the why previous occupants may have been hygenically challenged. The hotel has obivously gone for the watering down the shampoo and shower gel option to try and save money. It just cascades out of the bottles like water.
I left without breakfast, so are unable to comment on the food. I didn't even find a shortbread or a digestive in the room. Perhaps sustenance is restricted alongside the alcohol. Well you can't say that Thistle aren't doing their bit for the obesity crisis in the UK. With that in mind I opted to walk to the airport from the hotel. I think this is far quicker probably than any bus/taxi, and as the surface is good it is fine for taking wheeled luggage.
So in summary, room adequate, sleep comfortable, food unknown and location great for airport. Without a doubt I will end up staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor P, Front Office Manager at Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed a good night's sleep and am pleased to hear that you would choose to stay with us again. It is a short walk down to the Airport terminal but in case of bad weather on future visits we do also offer a complimentary shuttle bus service to and from the Airport which operates on a request basis.
I have noted your other points...

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,

Gabor Petia
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayne Island, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the Aberdeen Thistle Hotel for one night after arriving in Aberdeen and again for one night before we left.

Our first night there was excellent. We had a lovely spacious room at a competitive rate.

On our return, we were given a very small room at twice the rate of the first night's stay.

(The first night was a Saturday and the second was a Wednesday, hence the likely discrepancy in rates since weekdays seem to be much more expensive everywhere.)

The hotel itself is fine and the staff are efficient and helpful. But the bar food we had was dreadful and terribly over-priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shona W, Manager at Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer, I was disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied during your stay with us at the Thistle Aberdeen Airport Hotel.

I was sorry to learn that the bar food was not to your liking. We have just launched a new specials menu which is being changed every two weeks to provide even more choice to our guests

Please accept my apologies if you found our usual high standards to be lacking on this occasion.

Thank you for your feedback, and I hope we can welcoming you back to the Thistle Aberdeen Airport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards

Shona Westland
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I booked this hotel when it was on a deal .It was great for the airport just within walking distance. I would book this hotel again when we have an early flight . Rooms are a nice size , clean and staff very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car-to-eat-out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shona W, Manager at Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Airport Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you found the hotel promotion to be a good deal, and that you would use the hotel again

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Shona Westland
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire Moors
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great people friendly and go beyond to help, lovely decor and comfortable rooms. Free wifi with no problems, I get there late so its a bar menu, i would like some more healthier options but thats true of many places, the menu is far bwetter than most also. Clean friendly and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shona W, Manager at Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your five star review, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Airport,

I was delighted to hear that you found the staff to be great.

We have introduced a new specials menu in the Osprey Bar and Restaurant, which may offer you healthier options.

Thank you once again for your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Aberdeen Airport in the near future.


Kind regards


Shona Westland
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for the Beatles tribute night. I couldn't fault it. The staff were all very pleasant and couldn't do enough for you. The room was lovely. The meal at the event was excellent as was breakfast.
This is a well situated hotel with plenty of parking.
Will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shona W, Manager at Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your five star review, following your stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Airport

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your night at our Beatles tribute event, and that you found the meal and the event to be excellent

It was also good to read that you enjoyed your breakfast.

I am happy to see that you found our staff to be pleasant. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Aberdeen Airport in the near future.

Kind Regards

Shona Westland
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful weekend experience at this hotel and also fortunate it was a tribute Beatles night for entertainment. Location of hotel is excellent and well priced. Food is good value for money and breakfast is made to order. Even better. Surroundings were really good following recent upgrade and rooms well appointed. The best thing by far is the staff. Amongst the most attentive and pleasant we have come across. They couldn't do enough for you. Great to get this level of service and it does not go unnoticed. Definitely will gave a return visit

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stewart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shona W, Manager at Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your 5 star review.

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were both friendly and efficient.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon for another tribute Night.

Kind Regards

Shona Wesltand
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
5.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen Airport (Dyce) Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moxy Aberdeen Airport
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Aberdeen Airport
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Aberdeen Airport
Courtyard Aberdeen Airport
#22 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport

Property: Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
Address: Argyll Road, Aberdeen AB21 0AF, Scotland (Formerly Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walk, or complimentary door-to-door shuttle bus ride from the airport terminal, Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport is an ideal choice for business or leisure guests looking to explore the awe-inspiring Highland landscapes and traditional Scottish towns. Just 1 mile from Dyce railway station and 5 miles from the city centre, the hotel offers easy access to Aberdeenshire and beyond. World renowned sights such as Cairngorms National Park and Glen Garioch Distillery are just a short drive away. The hotel has 147 newly designed stylish bedrooms with large comfortable DREAM beds, an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries, free WiFi, flat screen television and Freeview. You’ll also find tea and coffee making facilities, an ironing board and iron, hairdryer and bathrobes to guarantee a comfortable stay. Jurys Inn Abdereen Airport is home to Just Gym facilities, which includes a range of cardio and resistance equipment. There are 5 Meeting Rooms on site catering for up to 400 people and 300 car parking spaces are available on site. The hotel also hosts weddings with a capacity for up to 600 guests in the ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Airport Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing