We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”
Review of The Pier

The Pier
Ranked #117 of 707 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Price range: $11 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Pier is an awesome venue on Aberdeen Beach Front. We are open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner with a selection of Coffee & Homemade Cakes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had dinner at the Pier Bistro on a Saturday evening in early January. The menu had a number of delicious options and service was good.

The complimentary fresh bread and olive tapenade was a nice touch.

A great place to try instead of the other surrounding chain restaurants. Expect to pay around £13 for a main course.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JLH_abdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 120 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

I took a patient here for a outing and they could'nt have been more helpful with our requirements. It was busy and active Cafe yet the service was excellent.

Quality of food was good.

Only complaint is the Homemade Onion Rings were served on a plate without a napkin so looked very oily, perhaps a napkin on the plate then put the ORings on top so the oil is soaked up.

Would visit again and would reccommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SophieBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdn_diner, Owner at The Pier, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Just wanted to give a wee response to say thank you for your review. I'm really happy that you enjoyed your visit to The Pier! Thank you for the comment about the onion rings, that's something we will look into. Thanks again and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The restaurant is very smart although quite small. We could only have the burger, chips & salad as it was a voucher meal but it all tasted very nice. Was a bit worried about not being asked how we like our burgers but as it was they were yummy.
The waiter was very pleasant and professional but it might be nice if he was a teeny bit less formal.
We were also given a complimentary pre-starter of some tomato bread with 2 types of humus which was interesting - love getting these free wee tasters.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sheena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdn_diner, Owner at The Pier, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your visit, look forward to seeing you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

On a bleak snowy Friday night my husband and I were looking for somewhere to eat before going to the cinema. Having tried all the usual "chain"restaurants in the beach area we literally stumbled upon the pier bistro, thank goodness! As we were pushed for time we unfortunately didn't have time for starters and only ordered abdn Angus burgers. They were delicious, home made, and served with very fresh salad and home made chips. The service was superb and although the restaurant was very quiet (such a shame!) there is such a good ambiance with the candles and the background music. We will most definitely be back when we have an evening out planned with much more time to savour the food and enjoy the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdn_diner, Owner at The Pier, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you very much for such a positive review! Glad you enjoyed your visit to The Pier and look forward to seeing you backs again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I recently went to this restaurant with an old friend who I hadn't seen in years. We used a spree book voucher which I was pleasantly surprised to see was valid on Saturdays. The decor is very modern and welcoming. There is a very wide range on the menu which is reasonably priced. The portion size is very good, we both had paninis with salad and coleslaw which did not disappoint. We both had the pancakes to follow, which were lovely, although there was a little bit too much - the waiter was checking when he came to clear our plates that everything was okay as we both left some of our puddings, it was great just a bit too filling!!! The volume in the restaurant was bit loud, but there was a big table of about 12 people across from us which was unfortunate. Would definitely go again and will be recommending to everyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ClioChick7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing