We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but good food and service”
Review of Light of Bengal

Light of Bengal
Ranked #113 of 675 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expensive but good food and service”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I went here on my own and the service of great and the food was tasty.

It is overpriced compared to toher parts of the UK but after all this is Aberdeen!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zorba234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    87
    43
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very Overpriced”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went here while on Buisness on my own it was about 8pm only 4 other people eating i looked at the Menu and thaought it was very expensive compared to other Towns and Citys i had Lamb Balti at £11.95 Rice was extra at £4.65 and a pint of Kingfisher at £4.25 compared with where i live it would be half that price but then again this is Aberdeen,that was the cheapest om the menu mains then went up to £19.95 also the waiters just walked up and down which was off putting with it being so empty

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bogmalobobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Takeaway menu is overpriced not worth the extra cost the dishes that we ordered were quite tasteless maybe the chef had a off night on this particular visit, if you want a takeaway with taste and quality at a much better price try baburchee round the corner

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Food was OK, but service got really POOR after telling the waiter, I thought the food was not great. we were ignored and had to ask for the bill 3 time , then when we stood up to leave the bill finally came. wont recomend or go back ...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benidorm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Visually appealing ... Zero taste”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

After wandering the granite streets of Aberdeen for an afternoon, my brothers and I stumbled upon Light of Bengal....a cozy, clean India place. Here are the high and low points

Highlights
- clean and cozy India place
- seated quickly
-food presentation was good

Low points
- we waited 30 minutes for food...people seated after us (group of three among 5 other tables) were served earlier
- food had zero flavour, seasoning or spice. I ordered a 'hot' chicken dish and received a bland chicken jelly
- price... 25 quid per person for sub par Indian is not a good thing

Not impressed...they have all the elements of a great curry house except good Indian food
-

Helpful?
2 Thank Loves_food_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Light of Bengal also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Light of Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing