We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back to Tattykeel House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tattykeel House B&B
Ranked #2 of 15 Omagh B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2011

It has been a year since we visited Ireland and since that time whenever I think about our wonderful trip, one of the fondest memories that I have is of the time we spent with Kathleen and Hugh in Omagh. Their B and B is more like being welcomed home that a commercial establishment. Kathleen and Hugh have a beautiful 2 story home set amongst beautiful gardens which they take great pride in maintaining. The gardens include beautiful flower and shrub beds, a walking bridge and a small stream. Beautiful and soothing. The home itself is beautifully decorated and immaculate in every detail. Bedrooms are very comfortable with panoramic views of beautiful gardens and pastoral scenes. Sounds amazing? It is. A full breakfast was delicious and served in a beautiful dining room. The best part? Kathleen and Hugh are so welcoming and friendly. They were also wonderful with our 2 year old grandson that was traveling with us. She is a very talented fiber and watercolor artist and Hugh an expert on Irish history. Omagh itself is a wonderful Northern Ireland small town that is not to be missed. We can't wait to visit Tattykeel again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were beautifully furnished.
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sscottWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Tattykeel House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 46 of 46 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2010

Tattykeel House is set amidst lovely award winning gardens., not far from Omagh. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, and spotlessly clean, as are the bathrooms. The breakfast can be as simple as a roll and coffee or can be a full Ulster fry - cold dishes plus eggs, meat, tomatoes, mushrooms. Your choice!

We were pleasantly surprised by our hosts' other interests. Kathleen Ward is an accomplished fiber artist who creates one-of - kind hand painted silk scarves and handbags made with cloth from Avoca hand weavers. She also creates lovely water color landscapes. Hugh Ward recently completed a masters degree in emigration studies and so is a font of information for those of us interested in genealogy and the history of Northern Ireland and the Republic.

Five minutes away is the Ulster-American Folk Park.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tucker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We very much enjoyed the great hospitality provided by Kathleen and Hugh at Tattykeel who made us very welcome on our arrival.
The house, although near a main road was extremely quiet, and situated in a beautiful garden.
Our room was comfortable and spacious, and we had nice bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank zimbabwe31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent one night at the Tattykeel House while traveling in Northern Ireland. We were greeted by the adorable, friendly couple who own the house, and were quickly shown to our room and offered tea and snacks. The house was warm, clean, comfortable, and only a mile or so away from downtown Omagh, which has plenty to offer in the way of shops, restaurants and entertainment. We enjoyed an evening of fun downtown, and upon our return to the house, we enjoyed a restful time in the living room watching tv by the fire. In the morning we were served an incredible full Irish breakfast with all the trimmings. If you're looking for a true Irish experience a bit off the beaten path, this B&B is a wonderful choice. Also, if you have Irish roots and are curious about your ancestry, this would be a great place to stay because the owner of Tattykeel is also very knowledgable and passionate about Irish heritage and history.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lonelyrosey923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

Thanks to an astute waitress in Omagh who overheard our conversation about a B&B for the night ,we were guided to this wonderful home run by Kathleen and Hugh Ward.
Just a 3 minute drive onto A5 Dublin Road and you see this immacuate and well manicured home on your right after passing Omagh Meat Plant.
A striking 2 storied home surrounded by delightful gardens and plenty of secure parking.Being greeted so warmly by Kathleen on arrival was followed by good news of room availability and after a quick tour of downstairs we were led upstairs to Room 5 which we secured on other occassions when we returned.
A big spacious bedroom with a double and single bed, 2 large windows, one of which has magnificent views over rolling countryside.Super clean bathroom with shower and just off main bedroom ,a little single bedroom which allows bedroom to be used as a very neat twin bedroom choice.TV, hairdryer ,comfortable seating and good closet space finished off room.
Kathleen gave us excellent advice as to where to eat etc and a mineful of info in general. We skipped off and on returning later that evening we whiled away a few hours in the spacious and comfy guestlounge where Hugh kept up a genuine 'home from home ' experience by popping in every now and again to see to our comforts.
Breakfast next morning was a treat and a half.One large Dining Table in Dining room allowed us to have a wonderful chat with an American couple who were back for a second stay with Kathleen after a previous visit some years back.Kathleens cooking is superb with some good choices and her scrambled egg and bacon were as good as my own!
We have returned twice since our first visit and can highly recommend this wonderful home for the best of Tyrones famous hospitality.
As an added bonus Kathleen also has an Work Studio on grounds where her artistic skills from painting to silk drawings to her own unique Handbags are to be seen and purchased.Tattykeel House will always be our no. 1 choice in Omagh!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank pkpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
Thank ConnieKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathleenWard, Owner at Tattykeel House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omagh
2.7 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
466 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clanabogan House
Clanabogan House
#3 of 3 in Omagh
70 reviews
11.1 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mullaghmore House B&B
Mullaghmore House B&B
#4 of 15 in Omagh
46 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Laurels Bed & Breakfast Lodge
4.8 mi away
Golden Hill Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tattykeel House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tattykeel House B&B

Address: 115 Doogary Road, Omagh, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Omagh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Omagh
Price Range: $91 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tattykeel House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tattykeel House B&B Omagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing