We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage, delightful owner and perfect...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hawthorn Cottage

Kitchen with large range cooker
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen with large range cooker
A warm welcome awaits everyone who comes to Hawthorn Cotage Lights and Shadows on The Sperrins
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Kitchen with large range cooker
A warm welcome awaits everyone who comes to Hawthorn Cotage
Lights and Shadows on The Sperrins
Kitchen with large family dining table
Sitting Room with open turf fire and lots of books and games
Sitting Room with large window, open fire, rocking chair and TV/DVD
Bathroom, with heated towel rail, roll top bath and walk in power shower
Bathroom with roll top bath and separate power shower
Master Bedroom with King size bed and Washstand
Second Bedroom with two single beds and pull out bed to give 3 single beds or a single and a double
Entrance Hallway
Our friendly hens will provide fresh eggs for your breakfast - enjoy!
Tranquil garden for summer dining with fruit trees and garden furniture
Hawthorn Cottage - every season brings its own joys
Local landscape in winter
Mountain biking in the Gortin Glens
Hawthorn cottage lane in winter
The seanteach..a little house next to Hawthorn Cottage.You can play table tennis here or find a bike
Garden with outdoor furniture and fruit trees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Omagh, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RonMcCutc...
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage, delightful owner and perfect location”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at the Hawthorn cottage. It's an ideal location to explore Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway, The Dark Hedges, Rope Bridge - Carrick-a-Rede, Donegal and much more. The owner was just delightful and takes great care to provide everything you need at the cottage for a wonderful stay. We would highly recommended staying here. Best -

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed June 30, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Lovely place house nice and clean and plenty of room, easy access to omagh, nice shop few yards away as well

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect honeymoon get-away”
Reviewed May 15, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful cottage tucked away but linked to everything you could need - a friendly pub, a nice takeaway and a local shop! It made the ideal relaxing week away after our wedding to unwind and also explore a bit of NI and Ireland. We were made to feel so welcome by Catriona and her family and cannot thank them enough for our stay. I would 100% recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a very comfortable and homely place to unwind or a beautiful base from which to explore from. Made many happy memories here. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 6, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely review Mickey. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FMoulder
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this little cottage, it was clean and quiet and charming just like the owners! Our kids had fun visiting the chickens in the chicken coop and giving carrots to the bunny.

Only advice would be the entrance to the drive way is a bit hidden away and easy to pass, look out for the flowers and the little wall. Also the water pressure in the bathroom is a bit low but it was same all over Ireland! We would love to visit this Cottage again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chocolate Box Cottage”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband and our children have just stayed at this beautiful cottage, our three children are of varying ages, the youngest of which has complex special needs. Due to this we have had to holiday at home (the north of Ireland) in the last few years, staying at some fabulous 5* hotels and I can honestly say that this was the closest place to home that we've ever stayed in. It has everything you'll ever need and more, with picturesque surroundings. Not only is it quaint, cosy and traditional with a modern twist but the hospitality of Catroina and her wonderful family is second to none. We will definitely revisit, but we won't be telling everyone about this place, soley for the reason that it's better kept as a hidden gem, shhhh!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2017
We absolutely loved having you and your very special family in Hawthorn Cottage. So glad you enjoyed your stay...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahappytra...
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
“Most lovely cottage”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Hawthorne cottage is a delight, and the hosts, Catriona and Tim, along with their children, are brilliant! Clean and comfy, this large, light, accommodation is equipped with luxurious towels, a roll-top bath, a cozy sitting room where there is the opportunity for a peat fire on cold nights, and a large kitchen with views to a sweet back garden with stone bench, hens and rabbit hutch. These pleasant features, along with the warmth and generosity of the owners (the welcoming treats were amazing,) left us feeling this was among the best of the self-catering places we have stayed in during our thirty years of travel. In addition, Greencastle is a rural location filled with wild beauty, yet close to so many of the sights and monuments in this area of Ulster. We look forward to a return visit, and only hope that next time we can stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing