We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hawthorn Cottage

Kitchen with large range cooker
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen with large range cooker
A warm welcome awaits everyone who comes to Hawthorn Cotage Lights and Shadows on The Sperrins
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Kitchen with large range cooker
A warm welcome awaits everyone who comes to Hawthorn Cotage
Lights and Shadows on The Sperrins
Kitchen with large family dining table
Sitting Room with open turf fire and lots of books and games
Sitting Room with large window, open fire, rocking chair and TV/DVD
Bathroom, with heated towel rail, roll top bath and walk in power shower
Bathroom with roll top bath and separate power shower
Master Bedroom with King size bed and Washstand
Second Bedroom with two single beds and pull out bed to give 3 single beds or a single and a double
Entrance Hallway
Our friendly hens will provide fresh eggs for your breakfast - enjoy!
Tranquil garden for summer dining with fruit trees and garden furniture
Hawthorn Cottage - every season brings its own joys
Local landscape in winter
Mountain biking in the Gortin Glens
Hawthorn cottage lane in winter
The seanteach..a little house next to Hawthorn Cottage.You can play table tennis here or find a bike
Garden with outdoor furniture and fruit trees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Omagh, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FMoulder
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this little cottage, it was clean and quiet and charming just like the owners! Our kids had fun visiting the chickens in the chicken coop and giving carrots to the bunny.

Only advice would be the entrance to the drive way is a bit hidden away and easy to pass, look out for the flowers and the little wall. Also the water pressure in the bathroom is a bit low but it was same all over Ireland! We would love to visit this Cottage again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chocolate Box Cottage”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband and our children have just stayed at this beautiful cottage, our three children are of varying ages, the youngest of which has complex special needs. Due to this we have had to holiday at home (the north of Ireland) in the last few years, staying at some fabulous 5* hotels and I can honestly say that this was the closest place to home that we've ever stayed in. It has everything you'll ever need and more, with picturesque surroundings. Not only is it quaint, cosy and traditional with a modern twist but the hospitality of Catroina and her wonderful family is second to none. We will definitely revisit, but we won't be telling everyone about this place, soley for the reason that it's better kept as a hidden gem, shhhh!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2017
We absolutely loved having you and your very special family in Hawthorn Cottage. So glad you enjoyed your stay...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahappytra...
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
“Most lovely cottage”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Hawthorne cottage is a delight, and the hosts, Catriona and Tim, along with their children, are brilliant! Clean and comfy, this large, light, accommodation is equipped with luxurious towels, a roll-top bath, a cozy sitting room where there is the opportunity for a peat fire on cold nights, and a large kitchen with views to a sweet back garden with stone bench, hens and rabbit hutch. These pleasant features, along with the warmth and generosity of the owners (the welcoming treats were amazing,) left us feeling this was among the best of the self-catering places we have stayed in during our thirty years of travel. In addition, Greencastle is a rural location filled with wild beauty, yet close to so many of the sights and monuments in this area of Ulster. We look forward to a return visit, and only hope that next time we can stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dessie201...
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“warm, peaceful”
Reviewed February 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were looking to get away for a weekend to relax and play some music. Hawthorne turned out to be perfect for us. Catriona was a great host - communicated with us before arrival, was waiting for us when we got there (with wine, bread & chocolates!) and left us to our own devices after giving us the tour & info on the local restaurant. The cottage is spacious, warm and very cozy - the open fire was perfect for the cold, wet nights. Everything you could need for a comfortable stay was provided & the fresh eggs out back came in very handy for morning omelets as well!

The shop, pub and restaurant are a stone's throw away meaning we didn't have to get in the car once the whole weekend. Its a beautiful part of the country and a great place to stay. Would definitely recommend it. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andi18882...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint relaxtion quite magnificent ”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a stay with my partner and 3 year old. Had a lovely warm welcome from Catriona a bottle of red,fresh eggs (from the hens outside) and beautiful fresh flowers. The cottage itself is stunning so peaceful and relaxing a haven away from home. I strongly recommend you book here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JohnH910
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Country Charm but Thoroughly Modern”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The photos on Tripadvisor really understate the size and charm of this cottage. The bedrooms are large enough to move around in with plenty of space for all your stuff. The bathroom is really nice with a large shower area and lots of hot water for four adults. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare and eat all your meals. The sitting room is as warm and cozy as it looks with plenty of peat and coal for the fire place.

It is situated in a private and quiet area yet just a short walk to a grocery store and pub. We loved the location because it put all the major attractions in Northern Ireland within an easy days outing so we used this as a base for day trips to Belfast, Giants Causeway, Derry and Donegal. There is also lots to see and do in the immediate area.

Catriona is a lovely host. She provided lots of tips on what to see and do and where to eat out when we didn't feel like cooking. When we arrived there were fresh flowers on the kitchen table and fresh food to get us started: soda bread, butter, milk, eggs and fresh fruit. And a nice bottle of red wine. Run out of eggs....no problem, just go to the chicken coop and fetch some more!

I would highly recommend this cottage and would love to return some dat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bright and cozy. Felt right at home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing