We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Silverbirch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silverbirch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Omagh
Certificate of Excellence
Mayo
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here Sunday night 9th Feb 14 with my husband and paid Stg£79 for 1 night B & B. We were pleasantly surprised by how bright & airy the reception area was and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

The bedroom was spacious with all the facilities we needed, including free wi-fi that was available in the bedrooms, as well as the public area. I found the room to be too hot and despite there being a temperature gauge on the wall, which was set to a minus figure, I found that I had to open the window to cool the room - but that's just me! Also, our room faced onto the car parking area in front of reception and there is a very bright spotlight illuminating the façade of the hotel which also made our room very bright, despite the heavy curtains.

We ate in the bar on Sunday evening and paid almost Stg£28.00 for 2 main courses and 2 bottles of beer - the food was tasty, very well presented and served reasonably quickly considering that the bar was packed following the Tyrone -v- Mayo GAA match.

Breakfast was served in a raised area of the bar and was really tasty. The cooked breakfast is done to order with the choice being (a) The Full Irish (b) Eggs - however you like them cooked or (c) Vegetarian Breakfast. Good selection of fruit, yoghurt, juices, pastries and speciality teas to choose from.

I really enjoyed our short stay and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 224 faced onto Car Parking Area outside reception and was illuminated by spotlight on façade of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AchillIslandMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    128
    56
    21
    11
See reviews for
97
113
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Been to this hotel around a dozen times for a family meal/wedding, always up to standards, and they manage each course on a party of 50 like clockwork, the food is always tasty and cooked well, staff cannot to enough

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pabzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I meet up with a few of my best friends here to have something to eat before the Christmas rush..what a disaster.
The restaurant was not busy,the staff were tripping over each other but they still couldn't get it right!
The non alcoholic drinks arrived and they were flat,the bottles of beer came with no glasses nor no ice even though they were asked for.It took three bar men two separate attempts to sort it out.
The food, oh dear it was terrible,the steak I had was just about able to be chewed,it was supposed to come with mushrooms and onions on the side,four mushrooms(the tiny ones),and three small french fried onions.I could go on but I won't enough said it was the worst food and service that we have had in a long time.We did bring it to the attention of the waitress when we were paying but she was disinterested.We won't be back I can assure you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margretta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
236 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I spent a Friday night at the Silverbirch Hotel is Omagh a few weeks ago. It was a pleasant hotel/motel.

My room was a short walk from reception and had every mod con I could ask for. The wifi was free and fast. The bathroom had hot water and a great shower. The room, bathroom and public areas were spotless. The decor in the room was contemporary and pleasant. The television worked and all was fine.

Dinner was the experience that gave this entry it's name. I was on a business trip and dinner was a part of what my hosts had paid for with the hotel. Let's say it was an experience for which I had a front row seat. I was seated in a row of tables that looked onto the bar. The bar was busy to say the least and full of young people dressed to the nines performing what can only be described as mating rituals. I can't tell you much about what dinner tasted like as I was too busy watching the floor show.

Breakfast the next morning was average but pretty much what I would expect for a two star hotel. The coffee was the low point of the trip.

After I checked out I walked the ten minutes down hill to the bus station to catch a bus back to Belfast. Taxis for this run were also readily available.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachellejv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We (a family of four) stayed here for two nights for a wedding party. Our family room was a good size with two doubles plus a sofa bed and an en suite bath with a separate shower.

The hotel was very clean and comfortable.

The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and at home. They also made a real fuss of my son on his birthday and presented him with an impromptu box of cookies!




Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ClemFandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Always have had a good meal in the birches. even though it is very traditional and never nothing exciting on the menu but always been good with excellent service .
Good value for money and always seems to be quite busy which is a good sign that food is turning quite quick

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Got booked in here by work for a week.....apart from a few nightly "specials" menu doesn't alter so unless you like everything after day or two you've exhausted choices.

And don't even try to go off menu !!

Rooms OK but fuse box hums and you can hear it at night.

In short its OK but thats as good as it is - people rating it higher need to stay away more on hotels to have a better reference

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Samtom1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omagh
13.9 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
681 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Valley Hotel
The Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fivemiletown
464 reviews
3.7 mi away
Clanabogan House
Clanabogan House
#2 of 3 in Omagh
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
547 reviews
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,434 reviews
23.2 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverbirch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverbirch Hotel

Property: Silverbirch Hotel
Address: 5 Gortin Road, Omagh BT79 7DH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Omagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Omagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverbirch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silverbirch Hotel is a family-run 3* hotel in Omagh, offering you the finest tradition of Irish hospitality, superb cuisine and a warm welcome in lavish and modern surroundings, that will make your visit a memorable one. Provides an ideal base for discovering the sights and attractions in the local area. The hotel is located less than a mile out of the town heading on the B48 towards Gortin. Furthermore the hotel is located on the North West Passage and the Ulster Way leading to the Sperrins, Gortin Glens and close by the renowned Ulster American Folk Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Silverbirch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverbirch Hotel Omagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing