We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At best average and definitely no cigar !”
Review of Silverbirch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silverbirch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Omagh
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“At best average and definitely no cigar !”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ok, on arrival we where greeted with a smile and friendly reception. We did arrive before the 3 o'clock check in time, but was able to leave our luggage safely and was assigned a key, all very good. We arrived back at 5 o'clock and found our room and unpacked. Our room was second on the left (126) which was clean and roomy, our bathroom consisted of a bath and integrated shower again all was satisfactory. Now the down side, we stayed 2 nights (Friday and Saturday), during which the hotel entertained weddings on both days. This wasn't a problem during the day and on the first night the noise was just about acceptable however we had a constant noise from outside our room, which once registered become very irritating to say the least. However Saturday night was to much, Car horns hooting and people shouting until the early hours. After trying to call reception to no avail I was about to go round when it finally stopped. On check out and in response to "how was your stay" I explained about the noise and got "oh dear I am sorry". We had an early start on Sunday so we pr-booked a breakfast for our room. The process of pre-booking required filling out a form and leaving it outside the door before 11:30pm which we did, but apparently was lost in transit!! Thus we had to chase up, again receiving an Oh dear I am sorry and receiving a quickly put together breakfast, which we had to rush in order to get to the airport on time. The hotel charges £95.00 per night (double), is this value for money, in our experience definitely not, if you command this type of fee for staying I would at the very least expect a guaranteed good nights sleep. Unfortunately hotel options are very limited around Omagh so I would recommend checking with to hotel and if they have any weddings and/or late night functions on check into a good B&B. I look forward to reading the Hotel response, but please don't say "we will pass you comments to the appropriate area" or apologise again. I suggest a you improve your sound proofing, ensure people hiring the hotel are asked to respect your resident and change your early start breakfast process. We will be back in Omagh in the future but will not be staying at the Silverbirch!

Room Tip: Far away from the function areas as possible and take your early breakfast order to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickos59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    124
    55
    20
    11
See reviews for
95
106
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A very warm welcome by Reception staff at the hotel and very helpful with any requests.
All staff in bar and restaurant were very attentive and friendly, giving a very good level of service and a good standard of food.
Singers in the bar on Friday and Saturday night were very entertaining. The only criticism would be that the entertainers did not start until well after 10pm.
Room was well appointed with lots of space, a comfortable bed and a brilliant powerful shower.
The only downside to the room was that it was very warm at night.
A big plus was the fact that all of staff whom I came into contact with, were Irish !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddybear731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the silverbirch hotel, as part of the spa package with Lavendar day spa. Go to the spa it was bliss!!
I thought the deal was very good value (bed, breakfast, evening meal plus spa experience) for £110. We also were pleased to see a bottle of cava and canapés brought to our room on arrival.
The hotel room was large and airy and the bed comfortable. The evening meal offered traditional choices but service was efficient and courteous. Overall the hotel may have lacked warmth or character but it was clean and comfortable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We made the Silverbirch our base of operations on our trip to Northern Ireland. Omagh is a small town and probably making Belfast our base would have been a better choice in terms of road traveling convenience and hotel/restaurant options. The Silverbirch is probably the best hotel in Omagh. I don't think that it's used as a tourist hotel so much as it is for local weddings and business travelers. The room was very plain, much like a regular motel room in California. There was no storage for clothes, etc. and the beds and pillows were uncomfortable. The common areas were pleasant. The food was decent and it appeared that local families came here to dine. The staff, both in the hotel and in the restaurant, couldn't have been nicer. We think that the restaurant at the hotel was probably the best in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Good Morning. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you in enjoyed the food in the restaurant and appreciate all of the comments you have made. We have passed on your comments to the relevant departments within the hotel. Thank you for your valued opinion. We hope you had a safe onward journey and that you stay in the hotel in the future again. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked the hotel for my daughters holy communion meal, food was fantastic, staff were accomitating and very much on top of everything, very keenly priced, presentation was first class and they even printed my daughters name on the menu. A big ten out of ten!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophiesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel for your communion meal and for sharing these kind comments on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and were happy with the service provided. We hope to see you at the hotel in the future. Sincere Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Overall experience was ok, pleasent but nothing to get over excited about. It was sufficient for one night, but personally I felt the accommodation was over priced, having stayed in many hotels of similar, and indeed superior standard, which offered better value for money, both north and south of the Island. Having said that, this was our first experience of staying here, and we did book in last minute, so maybe that reflected the price. It served our purpose for staying -we wanted a few drinks in the town and a bed for the night, and it was the only place in town with last minute availability. Breakfast was sufficient, but nothing spectacular. Service was slow, with a lengthy wait on my food to arrive, even though the place was reasonably quiet, and not overly busy at the time. Guests at the table beside us ordered cooked breakfasts, and then had to request missing food items that didn't arrive as they had ordered, but staff responded politely to the situation. The 'front desk' ladies were very friendly at reception upon check in and check out. Other hotel guests in neighbouring rooms kept me awake 'till 4am -I fell asleep eventually from exhaustion, but I can't comment on how the hotel deals with other guest disturbances, as I didn't report the problem -had I been staying any longer than one night I would have informed hotel staff. Bedroom (on 3rd floor) faced the road, with no air conditioning in rooms. As a result, this left the room very warm and stuffy, especially in the bathroom which was stifling, and the situation worsened further upon using the shower. Having turned the room's radiators 'off' we had to shower with the bathroom door open and the room window open to decrease the uncomfortable heat build up. For one night, this hotel is was ok, but personally I wouldn't stay any longer than one night, and certainly not at the prices charged (£85 for standard twin room, £95 for standard double room), but there is little to no other hotel competition in the same locality, so expect to pay for this premium if you are wanting to avail of hotel accommodation located in close proximity to the town centre. Our taxi fare to local night life in the town centre was £8 return from the hotel, and it was roughly about a 5 minute car journey (approximately). Reception staff will call a local cab if you ask. The hotel is right next to a local shop and adjoining off licence, which was an added convenience and within a short walking distance. We returned to the hotel bar for a drink before going to bed, thinking we had an hour before it closed (as was the advertised time, stated in the bedroom 'hotel information' book), however upon arrival, the bar was deserted, with only a solo singer, singing along to a backing track, and two other people having a drink. As it turned out, bar staff actually closed early, and we had to return to our rooms with our drinks to finish them. Staff didn't actually request our departure verbally, instead they pulled the shutters down on the bar, putting the full lights on, on two separate occasions to signal closing time. It would have been nice to enjoy the drink without feeling pushed out of the bar earlier than the closing time stated in the bedroom's 'hotel information', especially since we had left the bars, music and buzz in town an hour before closing, just to 'sample' the hotel bar before it closed. As it turned out, we'd have been better staying in the town bars for the last hour, but we will know for again. Omagh caters for all social tastes and ages, with a mixed and varied crowd. dress code is smart casual and people do make an effort to look well unlike some town I've socialised in, which will remain nameless! Having now sampled the town's local accommodation, for future social nights out in Omagh, we will be sticking to designated drivers, or else using taxi's to/from the town, (we live about 32 miles from Omagh), as the taxi fare actually cost less (round trip) than an overnight stay in this particular hotel -but we stayed and now we know what to expect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtt991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good Afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to share this on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all the comments you have made and have passed them on to the relevent departments and we plan to use these to better the service we provide in the hotel. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked a table for two at the Silver Birches for a meal on Saturday (last night) for 7PM. We went in and were seated at a table and given menus. We waited for almost 20Mins before anyone came to take our order. I ordered a steak cooked to "medium". After waiting a further 20Mins our food came out. My steak was VERY rare, and our garlic bread must have been frozen. It was impossible to eat. We finished our food and waited for 15Mins for staff to clear our table. There were plenty of free staff but they didn't come near us. Eventually a waitress cleared the table and gave us a desert menu, and we waited 15 Mins for her to return but she didn't, so we just got up and paid and left, The till area was busy with only one staff member so we didn't get to complain. It was a very poor experience. We were seated 1Hour and a half and only ate one course. We have been here often and never had such a bad experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASmith622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverbirch05, Manager at Silverbirch Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good Evening. Can we take this opportunity to apologise for the negative experience you had in our restaurant, it is unfortunate that you were unable to complain at the time so staff could rectify the problem or to privide a reasoning behind the delays. We have passed the comments on to the restaurant to help ensure these issues do not arise again. Thank you for your valued opinion and we hope you will return to the Silverbirch Hotel so we can work to provide an improved dining experience. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omagh
13.9 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Valley Hotel
The Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fivemiletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clanabogan House
Clanabogan House
#2 of 3 in Omagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
23.2 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
22.6 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverbirch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverbirch Hotel

Property: Silverbirch Hotel
Address: 5 Gortin Road, Omagh BT79 7DH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Omagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Omagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverbirch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silverbirch Hotel is a family-run 3* hotel in Omagh, offering you the finest tradition of Irish hospitality, superb cuisine and a warm welcome in lavish and modern surroundings, that will make your visit a memorable one. Provides an ideal base for discovering the sights and attractions in the local area. The hotel is located less than a mile out of the town heading on the B48 towards Gortin. Furthermore the hotel is located on the North West Passage and the Ulster Way leading to the Sperrins, Gortin Glens and close by the renowned Ulster American Folk Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Silverbirch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverbirch Hotel Omagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing